Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Life's a bitch, and then you get the bill.

• 04-02-2008 6:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭

Meh, so I've been running a little off my game for the last few weeks, eh, or more. But really in the last couple: not attending classes, missing course critical assessments, projects, etc.

Even now, I have an extension on one of my projects and thus far I have done everything but work on it :-/ [PS - Boards really needs a melancholy smiley [melancholy smiley is an oxymoron...]]

I dunno. **** has happened. Moved places the other week. Still kinda settling in. And I was still getting my head around my old room mate there for a while. That situation ended terribly, just to follow up on that. So its been kinda hard to keep up appearances. So of course I've started to fall behind and I guess the snowball effect is kicking in.

6:48 on monday morning. And I have none of my revised project work attempted. I blame that as much on my new surroundings as my mindset - which is starting to turn to dread. What can you do when you've fallen behind so much, you're going broke, you have no job, and you're only source of income (parent) wants you to fly back to the states and give it up? Its hard to know what to think about first. Giving priority to one thing seems like it will only invite failure for another: If I get a job I fall back on coursework. If I catch up on the course I go broke in 6 weeks. Possibly less. Then every once in a while life's smaller problems like to piss on you as well.

Really could have used a smoke today but my pipe has gone missing after 9 months of non-use and 3 moves.. the cheeky metal bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Overheal wrote: »
    Meh, so I've been running a little off my game for the last few weeks, eh, or more. But really in the last couple: not attending classes, missing course critical assessments, projects, etc..................
    So of course I've started to fall behind and I guess the snowball effect is kicking in.......

6:48 on monday morning. And I have none of my revised project work attempted. I blame that as much on my new surroundings as my mindset - which is starting to turn to dread. What can you do when you've fallen behind so much, you're going broke, you have no job, and you're only source of income (parent) wants you to fly back to the states and give it up? Its hard to know what to think about first. Giving priority to one thing seems like it will only invite failure for another: If I get a job I fall back on coursework. If I catch up on the course I go broke in 6 weeks.

We've all been there. There's only one thing to do - get the finger out. Stop brooding & obsessing and start on one thing. Doesn't matter what it is. Get ONE project done then come up for air and look around.
    Why does your parent want you to give it up? Do you like what you're doing? Will the parent bail you out if you go broke - even with a loan? (Not that long till holidays and you can earn then).
    Getting one thing done usually helps with the motivation to do more. Take the focus off your internal state, and get moving! (Even if it's going for a run/swim first - it'll halp clear your mind and give you more energy & determination.)
    Good luck. The doldrums are an awful place to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Give up the weed too. If there's one thing guarenteed to make you lose all motivation. That's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Havent even started back on the weed yet.

Well the way the dollar is going its just getting ridiculous. Parents sent me $1000 last week - it cleared for 650 euros. Its not looking good for me.

They also don't like hearing that I havent been able to find a job. I don't enjoy not having one but they also haven't been available. I've been looking for months.

So I have my family urging me to move back to the states. Same old story. The problem is I may have to; I can't afford to live out here or go to college. So yes, its become a serious fiscal issue.

Obviously this is an awful situation for me. They want me to give up the last 3 (2 years college plus 6th year) years I've spent in further education. You don't get any certification in this course unless you complete all 4 years and I'm on my 2nd.

Let aside the fact that besides family, there's nothing for me back in the states. I know they're just looking out for me but I can't just go.

What are my options?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

aww Overheal :(

(edited,didnt see years in college,im a ditz)
    i was terrible with attendance and the like lasst year and was so lucky to pass.
    this year (my 2nd) just is piling up alot.
    have you tried writing out a budget?sounds silly but it might work to see everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Writing on boards at 7am probably won't help matters. Be proactive, go and get extensions on assignments (due to worry over financial issues), apply to the bursary for some financial aid and I am sure applying for a part-time job might make things easier too.

Yeah - you're talking overall expenses in the ballpark of 10,000 euro per year - so I will need to pull 20 grand out of a hat if I want to finish the degree. At least: thats living in a slum and eating noodles right there.

And Im american - I dont qualify for any financial aid. No Dole, no grant, hell I think even the Student Assistance Fund is a no go.

edit: all I've been doing is applying for part time. Nobody wants to hire students - they're all looking for part-timers during the day for the most part. The few jobs that have come around looking for weekend jobs (there were a few - I got my hopes up) all never worked out. I can only assume its those diligent polish out-classing me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

How often do you folks send you $1000?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

In fairness, did you not budget for all this before you came over?

Why do people think that it's possible to get by? Nobody just gets by, you have to work really hard at it. You can't be expecting mum and da to be sending over the dollars everytime the going gets tough.

well.... our place was a slum before we moved in. and noodles... hmmm how many do you live with?

I've been living in Ireland for 8 years - it wasn't a matter of 'coming over here' - I was here.

Then last year my dad moved back to the states for a new job, then my irish stepmom died out of the blue. So only in the last year have I lived here alone, at which point I was already in the course.

The folks have sent money when I've needed it but when I flew back from the summer it was understood I was to go get another job - had one in first year. Would not work there again. Quit back in march because their code of moral ethics really sucked.

But when I came back in september there wasnt much going around and hence why im in the situation im in.

I live with 4 other people. Week costs 80. Food costs about 40 I figure. I did move out of a place that was more expensive recently - something I was stuck with until rooms became available in january. Its been a terrible year for good luck.

do ye take it in turns to cook?we do that in my house this year.
    last year we all put money into a fund for food. 10 euro a week did me fine.

Yeah we spend between 10-20 on our mealturn. Spent 10 on my last. Came out glorious... but thats beside the issue.

Even considering deferring a year (or more?), going back to the states and earning cash...

However, the minimum wage is $5.85.... which equates to a staggering richman total of 3.95 Euro. And falling.

Fuxxored

At 3.50 (lets assume in a years time, the exchange keeps dropping) I'd need to work full time for 12 months to afford a 1 year return. And even then I'd be scrimping my expenses (assuming inflation also continues as it has been).

$hiza....that sux.
    im trying to think of stuff but right now it isnt working, especially when i know i've christology in the mornin and i'll be awake all night...
    are the other american students having a hard time? im friends with one, and the little fecker is out all the time, dunno where he gets the money/energy/time :)

I dont talk to other american students. I dont seem to run into them ever.

I assume they must have worse financial worries actually - I qualify under a scheme where I pay the same fees as an EU student because I've lived here so long.... *

* just dawns on me if I defer, I may fail to qualify under that scheme in my 4th year.. Add another 10 grand to the bill.

:( argh that sucks.
    *hands u imaginary beer
    theres gotta be some monetary loophole.
    i was looking for jobs the whole summer,must have handed in hundreds of CVs and got nothing.
    goddam.

I think I've been enjoying the monetary loophole to be honest. Right now its a matter of having to get off the loophole without disrupting my life as much as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

nerin wrote: »
    :( argh that sucks.
    *hands u imaginary beer
    theres gotta be some monetary loophole.
    i was looking for jobs the whole summer,must have handed in hundreds of CVs and got nothing.
    goddam.

A lot of time getting a job can depend on the presentation of a CV or interview skills. Maybe that's part of the OP's problem. I find it very hard to believe that someone who is in a college course cannot get any employment. McDonald's are always looking and if they hire 15 year olds they'll hire him.

i see, well i went into Fas, and the helpful lady there went over my CV and helped me sort it out to no avail.
    as for,they hire 15 year olds etc etc in fairness,could that not be the problem.

i see, well i went into Fas, and the helpful lady there went over my CV and helped me sort it out to no avail.
    as for,they hire 15 year olds etc etc in fairness,could that not be the problem.

That's true but how come they have some many Asian students there also? Clearly they hire foreign nationals in similar situations to the OP.

true, maybe it because he's american they dont think they can take advantage ;) i know french and asian students working there,but i dont know any irish... hmmm

Theres one Irish lad working in McD and I live with him :p if He could get me in there he would. He's been at it actually but only since I moved in here, so just the last 2 weeks. No joy as they just hired a pack of nuggets in the last month

So that's one McDonald's out of how many? What about Burger King, KFC, Subway etc?

woah,wait, overheal, try subway and quiznos. quiznos has some fine ladies in it plus u can give me xtra portions. yes yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Jesus if you spent less time on boards and try being proactive it might help. Look im a firm believer if you really want something you will make it happen. Just get up of your arse. Stop brooding and complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Meh, so I've been running a little off my game for the last few weeks, eh, or more. But really in the last couple: not attending classes, missing course critical assessments, projects, etc.

Even now, I have an extension on one of my projects and thus far I have done everything but work on it :-/ [PS - Boards really needs a melancholy smiley [melancholy smiley is an oxymoron...]]

I dunno. **** has happened. Moved places the other week. Still kinda settling in. And I was still getting my head around my old room mate there for a while. That situation ended terribly, just to follow up on that. So its been kinda hard to keep up appearances. So of course I've started to fall behind and I guess the snowball effect is kicking in.

6:48 on monday morning. And I have none of my revised project work attempted. I blame that as much on my new surroundings as my mindset - which is starting to turn to dread. What can you do when you've fallen behind so much, you're going broke, you have no job, and you're only source of income (parent) wants you to fly back to the states and give it up? Its hard to know what to think about first. Giving priority to one thing seems like it will only invite failure for another: If I get a job I fall back on coursework. If I catch up on the course I go broke in 6 weeks. Possibly less. Then every once in a while life's smaller problems like to piss on you as well.

Really could have used a smoke today but my pipe has gone missing after 9 months of non-use and 3 moves.. the cheeky metal bastard.

i think i may know what the problem is.

its the last sentence.

moving house is a **** excuse for not doing your work. in fact, thats what it is. an excuse.

sort out the priorities in your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Pianist2891

as someone who came to ireland with nothing and from a FAR WEAKER economy than america (think 3rd world country), n worked loads of crappy jobs, I can safely say, that a message board isn't going to give u any headway when it comes to actually getting a wage, or getting your course work done.

I know so many people far worse off, combining full time study with 2 part time jobs, menial ones at that, and still managing to not whinge about it.

Sorry if this sounds harsh, it probably is, but I never even had mummy or daddy to send me 1000 dollars on demand. And going back to family was never an option.

Its amazing what you can achieve when you put your mind to it and stop looking at the cr*p, just get on with it. Life *happens* for most people when they're busy doing things, and making plans, not when they sit around moping.

I know all about moping, I can be a right misery guts, but then I think about people even worse off, or where I was 5 years ago (i'm 25) n then stop whining.

Good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭Mazeire

OP, X travision are doing a big recruitment drive at the moment and are having walk in interviews.
    Talk to your college as well, there are emergency grants that are available to get you through the hard times. As these are through the college and not through the Government your nationality isn't a problem.

mcDonalds in Stillorgan are hiring too.

I've actually seen a good few mcD's and i saw one of the laser video shops looking for staff also

I've been living in Ireland for 8 years - it wasn't a matter of 'coming over here' - I was here.

op if you have been here that long, have considered looking into applying for citizenship or residency if you haven't already got it? you'd have a lot less to worry about financially with grants and free fees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Where're you in college Overheal?

This may not be very practical depending on where you're living, but would you consider giving grinds as a way to make money?

When I was writing up my thesis I spent about 6 months giving leaving cert. students grinds for 3/4 days a week, the money I was making was unreal!

You'd only have to do a few hours a night (like maybe 2 or 3 depending on what kind of money you needed), and since you'd be working for yourself you get to pick when you do the hours, so it's totally flexible and could easily accomodate your college work!

Just something to think about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

The reason it's difficult for you to get part time/ casual unskilled work is because the potential employers obviously don't think you need the money that much. A huge overhead for them is training new people in, and productivity lost through new people on the job. So they want people who they think will work for them for quite a while.

As most Americans/ Irish people don't need the money as much as the average Pole or Asian person, they are alot more likely to jack it in if they don't like it or suddenly don't need the money. You need to let your potential employer know that you are a hard worker and really need the job/ money, not just a richkid student looking for an few quid to go on the lock with. In your next interview stress this point, and keep on stressing this point in subsequent interviews. It will help alot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

overheal, would I be right in assuming you've surrounded yourself in college with enablers, people who make you feel its not so bad to miss that test or skip off that lecture. You need to change your peer group as you will end up at the bottom with them. It took a summer between 5th and 6th year in secondary school to realise that my circle of friends was bringing me down. Starting the first day in 6th year I started associating with the people my group viewed as nerds or teachers pets. I was able to pull myself out of the mire and get honours in the subjects I needed for the college course I wanted.

Then in college I did the same thing. Pretty much on the first day you can work out who the slackers are going to be so I steered clear of them. I swear I only got through the 5 years of college because of the healthy feeling of competition to excel amongst my peer group.

If you are with people who don't applaud you for getting an A on a test, but are quick to offer you a smoke or beer when you fail then you are surrounded by enablers who are keeping you down. Its your choice whether these people are more important than all the reasons you applied for this course in Ireland.

Also as a side, this might sound clichéd but a good night sleep is 100 times better than a night spent awake drinking coffee. Its a myth that coffee makes you work better, it doesn't, it just makes you work faster but the quality of your work will suffer. Most of the reports I ever wrote during an all nighter I had to rewrite the next day because they looked like the work of a 10 year old. But its hard to convince people of this as they are usually so stressed out about leaving work to the last minute that they won't sleep anyway.

i think i may know what the problem is.

its the last sentence.

moving house is a **** excuse for not doing your work. in fact, thats what it is. an excuse.

sort out the priorities in your life.

Just somewhat been tempted to self medicate. Havent gone through with it. Probably won't at this stage.

Moving house is not an excuse - the circumstances of the move and my other personal issues however, are. Though I can understand where you got the impression as I haven't listed any of those: have since seen a counselor about those particular issues so I won't get into it here.

You're right though I'm a headless chicken at the minute.
    as someone who came to ireland with nothing and from a FAR WEAKER economy than america (think 3rd world country), n worked loads of crappy jobs, I can safely say, that a message board isn't going to give u any headway when it comes to actually getting a wage, or getting your course work done.

I know so many people far worse off, combining full time study with 2 part time jobs, menial ones at that, and still managing to not whinge about it.

Sorry if this sounds harsh, it probably is, but I never even had mummy or daddy to send me 1000 dollars on demand. And going back to family was never an option.

Its amazing what you can achieve when you put your mind to it and stop looking at the cr*p, just get on with it. Life *happens* for most people when they're busy doing things, and making plans, not when they sit around moping.

I know all about moping, I can be a right misery guts, but then I think about people even worse off, or where I was 5 years ago (i'm 25) n then stop whining.

Good luck!

Thanks for a reality check. Not harsh: helpful.
    4 eyes wrote: »
    op if you have been here that long, have considered looking into applying for citizenship or residency if you haven't already got it? you'd have a lot less to worry about financially with grants and free fees.

Its been looked into - Time spent on Student Visas is not applicable for citizenship. So thats 8 years of usefulness.
    Where're you in college Overheal?

This may not be very practical depending on where you're living, but would you consider giving grinds as a way to make money?

When I was writing up my thesis I spent about 6 months giving leaving cert. students grinds for 3/4 days a week, the money I was making was unreal!

You'd only have to do a few hours a night (like maybe 2 or 3 depending on what kind of money you needed), and since you'd be working for yourself you get to pick when you do the hours, so it's totally flexible and could easily accomodate your college work!

Just something to think about.

IT Carlow, living in town. That sounds like the start of a plan.. where would I advertise? And wouldn't I need some kind of reference?
    Daithio wrote: »
    The reason it's difficult for you to get part time/ casual unskilled work is because the potential employers obviously don't think you need the money that much. A huge overhead for them is training new people in, and productivity lost through new people on the job. So they want people who they think will work for them for quite a while.

As most Americans/ Irish people don't need the money as much as the average Pole or Asian person, they are alot more likely to jack it in if they don't like it or suddenly don't need the money. You need to let your potential employer know that you are a hard worker and really need the job/ money, not just a richkid student looking for an few quid to go on the lock with. In your next interview stress this point, and keep on stressing this point in subsequent interviews. It will help alot.

Never thought of it that way; but in the end its still discriminatory to look at someone's nationality as a basis for their work ethic...so yeah, I guess I have to start mentioning that more - for me its always been implied.
    L31mr0d wrote: »
    overheal, would I be right in assuming you've surrounded yourself in college with enablers, people who make you feel its not so bad to miss that test or skip off that lecture. You need to change your peer group as you will end up at the bottom with them. It took a summer between 5th and 6th year in secondary school to realise that my circle of friends was bringing me down. Starting the first day in 6th year I started associating with the people my group viewed as nerds or teachers pets. I was able to pull myself out of the mire and get honours in the subjects I needed for the college course I wanted.

Then in college I did the same thing. Pretty much on the first day you can work out who the slackers are going to be so I steered clear of them. I swear I only got through the 5 years of college because of the healthy feeling of competition to excel amongst my peer group.

If you are with people who don't applaud you for getting an A on a test, but are quick to offer you a smoke or beer when you fail then you are surrounded by enablers who are keeping you down. Its your choice whether these people are more important than all the reasons you applied for this course in Ireland.

Also as a side, this might sound clichéd but a good night sleep is 100 times better than a night spent awake drinking coffee. Its a myth that coffee makes you work better, it doesn't, it just makes you work faster but the quality of your work will suffer. Most of the reports I ever wrote during an all nighter I had to rewrite the next day because they looked like the work of a 10 year old. But its hard to convince people of this as they are usually so stressed out about leaving work to the last minute that they won't sleep anyway.

All very good points, but I have been staying away from the enablers this year. I just moved in with some like minded people but to be honest I think they're in the same way as me: we all have the potential but it's about getting back into gear. If not for my room mate to drag my ass out of bed at 9 this morning I wouldn't have gone in at all today. Feel much better having done so: but I still have a lot to do here and still have the looming financial worry, even though sleeping on it has helped a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭buckieburd

Tbh i think you need to stop feeling sorry for yourself I would loved to of went to uni but never could of afforded it. just get a job, there no excuse for not having a job in ireland (even part time) and your time would be better spend studing than on Boards....
    ehhhhhh

ehhhhhh

So tell me this how does the rest of the student population (apart from the little rich kids) support themselves????

wow your nice.
    well then it must be people who were able to get jobs, poor little rich boys as you call them and me.
    i couldnt get a job no matter where i went during the summer,and was pretty screwed coming up to the start of the year so my mother had to use her money to pay for accommodation until my grant came in.
    waits for this guys rant on how people shouldnt be entitled to grants.
    if i dont get the grant next year, and still have problems getting a job when im at home, i wont be in college next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Òp.. could you not get a student loan? i got one in college because i was struggling with what i did and didn't want to work and have less time for study. I do regret getting the loan because I lived at home and got a small allowance from my father! But it sounds like you could really do with the help. You'r mum/dad other relative would have to be your guarantor but it could be worth it. I only had to pay off the interest of €40 a monh off my loan until I left college when I started making bigger repayments. It really could be worth it in your case. Maybe even just €2,000 to keep you going until you can get a summer job in the states.

wow your nice.
    well then it must be people who were able to get jobs, poor little rich boys as you call them and me.
    i couldnt get a job no matter where i went during the summer,and was pretty screwed coming up to the start of the year so my mother had to use her money to pay for accommodation until my grant came in.
    waits for this guys rant on how people shouldnt be entitled to grants.
    if i dont get the grant next year, and still have problems getting a job when im at home, i wont be in college next year.

Sorry if I dont feel sympathy for someone who gets money sent over every month and cant be arsed doing their course work, and theres something wrong if you cant get a job dishing washing or glass collecting, try nixers.ie....

buckieburd wrote: »
    Sorry if I dont feel sympathy for someone who gets money sent over every month and cant be arsed doing their course work, and theres something wrong if you cant get a job dishing washing or glass collecting, try nixers.ie....

Get off BOARDS!! First step! :-/

If a mod thinks it would be beneficial - sure, they can ban me for a while. Found it good to get the reality check though personally.
    watna wrote: »
    Òp.. could you not get a student loan? i got one in college because i was struggling with what i did and didn't want to work and have less time for study. I do regret getting the loan because I lived at home and got a small allowance from my father! But it sounds like you could really do with the help. You'r mum/dad other relative would have to be your guarantor but it could be worth it. I only had to pay off the interest of €40 a monh off my loan until I left college when I started making bigger repayments. It really could be worth it in your case. Maybe even just €2,000 to keep you going until you can get a summer job in the states.

Didnt realise I could defer the payments until after college like that. Cheers - I'll have a looksie later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

If a mod thinks it would be beneficial - sure, they can ban me for a while. Found it good to get the reality check though personally.

Didnt realise I could defer the payments until after college like that. Cheers - I'll have a looksie later.

Do, it could be a solution. I got mine in AIB.

I think you'll regret it if you don't finish your degree.

Now, as a fellow procrastinator my advice is to get off boards and do your course work. I'll be watching you! (online, not in real life.. that'd be weird!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Scramble your password and log off, you are doing yourself no favours logged in with all the distraction. An admin can help when you decide to return. Good luck with your coursework.

Curse you with impenetrable logic...

Now see, that worked well. I've started getting back into the work and everythin'... now, boards wont lemme back into my account.... how loverly..

Maybe its for the best :p but no seriously its the weekend and I felt like making a couple posts earlier today -_-