Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BOI atm's

• 03-02-2008 4:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭

is it just me or are all BOI atm machines always fcuking down?

I live in the sticks an thought this was an isolated problem due to our prehistoric infrastructure and inability to fill up hole in the wall machines on a regular basis.

but no, other day in citywest centre realised i would need more cash for my food so went to said atm and lo and behold, out of order, i mean wtf.....

i have never seen AIB atm's out of order.

stupid fcuknits!

right, thats it off my chest, thanks and good bye.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭Barlow07

I have a different argument about TSB Atm's, everytime i go and say withdraw €200.00, it throws out 20 x €10 notes, even once got 40.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭legs11

well at least you get money!

boi cnuts dont even put money into the machines, fat bastards are too lazy to go about thier job imo..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭Barlow07

Yes, but if your on a night out, the last thing i want is a wad full of ten euro notes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

They mostly go out of order when they run out of cash.

...and yes it happens to AIB ATMs in Firhouse all the time.
    The shopping centre is the only one close to me after 10pm and it's a nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Barlow07 wrote: »
    Yes, but if your on a night out, the last thing i want is a wad full of ten euro notes.
    and then when you want to take out a tenner, they never ****ing have them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Has anyone ever hear of a Laser card?
    There's only so much cash they can stuff in those machines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Carry Laser peeps.

It seemed that every time I went into town, all ATMs within a 2 mile radius of wherever I was would automatically break down. Laser is the way to go ;)

Edit - damn joo Jimbo!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

AIB ones seem rock solid - the old school OS/2 screens are really cute too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

legs11 wrote: »
    well at least you get money!

boi cnuts dont even put money into the machines, fat bastards are too lazy to go about thier job imo..
    It's Securicor who put the money in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

AIB atm in NUIM is always fecking out of money. As people have said, Laser and cash-back is the way to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

AIB ones do go out of order aswell, but usually at the end of a weekend, or long weekend. For example, the one on Capel Street seems to be down every Sunday evening.

But yes, the BOI ones are notorious for being empty/out of order. Especially in Spars etc.. very annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

i hate using laser in shops, maybe it's because i always get the ditzy cashier that sighs when i hand them the card and then proceed to take ages to do the transaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

JCBs are quite useful if you've left your Laser card at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

I agree my local one is more times out of order then working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

One atm robbed me of a 20 note.

Opened hatch, beeped for ages.
    No money in hatch.
    Put my fingers to hatch to see if a 20 was stuck.
    Hatch nearly bit my finger off

Machine then pops up message "out of service"

Got my 20e back 2 weeks later

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Dudess wrote: »
    It's Securicor who put the money in.

Tis indeedy, the only ones that the staff fill up are the ones outside branches, and only the smaller branches fill their own atms, the other ones are done by Brinks. Brinks ones are usually only done once a week, whereas in the BOI branch I work we just fill it up whenever it needs money. And we'd fill it on friday regardless so there's money for the weekend. Dunno what the deal is with the ones in shops though, any time I go to one of those they're always empty!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

laser people. I laugh at people in the massive queues at atms. I buy pretty much everything with it so i can keep track of what i'm spending and i usually get a bit of cash back when i buy something so i won't have to stand like a plonker for 20 minutes while i wait for some granny to remember her pin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

ATMs go out of order when they have no cash to give. Saves you the time of putting your card in, punching your PIN, and trying to withdraw your arbitrary amount, and then 20, and then 10, before you realise "...theres no money in this!"

Its a time saver. Quit whining. The only thing that pisses me off about BOI ATMs is that they won't let you pick your own value of how much to withdraw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

The machines are probably all empty as Roma's have stolen all the cash through a needlessly complicated scheme... ;)

But yes... The Bank Links are just as bad. My card only works in the AIB machines and on Friday I had to pass 3 machines before I found one which would dispense cash and then it only had fifties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

jimbo78 wrote: »
    Has anyone ever hear of a Laser card?
    There's only so much cash they can stuff in those machines

Lol, silly Jimbo. What about paying off that Kilo of heroin you bought? You can't exactly pay off your drug dealer in laser now can you?

On the other hand a lot of pubs don't take laser though :(
    Visa sometimes but not always laser. If they all did it would be fab.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Baudelaire

I only use Laser or Credit cards, I got sick of being lumbered with loads of change that you never spend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

AIB recently issued laser cards to all their customers.
    I don't see any reason for BOI not to do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Cash is faster than laser or credit card. There are also plenty of smaller shops that don't take either.

TSB atms irriate me because they're so slow, you'd swear they were running on ZX spectrums. You press a button and it literally takes about 3 seconds for it to acknowledge that you've pressed anything. In this day and age there's no excuse for an ATM to not react as soon as you press the button.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

As yis have already said..... Laser FTW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Lizzykins

The National Irish ATM in Superquinn Knocklyon is the slowest there is. Pointless questions like "Your bank may charge a fee for this withdrawal-do you want to continue? YES!!! I'm standing here in the rain freezing my butt off! I want money!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

The people who programmed these yokes should have their fingers removed. Seriously, the logic applied to the simplest of transactions is attrocious!...
    [FONT=Arial Black][COLOR=SeaGreen]   TALK TO AN AIB ADVISOR
       ABOUT OUR GREAT NEW
           BANK CHARGES.

PLEASE INSERT
             YOUR CARD[/COLOR][/FONT]

* Inserts card
    [COLOR=PaleGreen][COLOR=SeaGreen]Please select the service
    you require

Mini statement     ->
                             Balance enquiry    ->
    <- Change pin      Cash without rec  ->
    <- Other services  Cash with receipt ->[/COLOR]
    [/COLOR]

/me wants cash, and a receipt just in case there's gonna be a tribunal
    *Cash with receipt
    [COLOR=SeaGreen]Please select the amount
    you wish to withdraw.

20 <-          -> 100
    40 <-          -> 150
    50 <-          -> 180
    80 <-          -> 200[/COLOR]

/me would like 80, please
    [COLOR=PaleGreen][COLOR=SeaGreen]Sorry, cannot dispense 
    the requested amount.

Please select an 
    alternative denomination,
    for example 100[/COLOR]
    [/COLOR]

/whatever, I'll easily spend 100 anyway.
    *1 0 0 ENTER

[COLOR=PaleGreen][COLOR=SeaGreen]AIB believes in a better
    environment. If you would 
    still like a receipt, press YES
    [/COLOR] 

[COLOR=SeaGreen]<- NO            YES ->[/COLOR]
    [/COLOR]

/I need it so stop trying to make me feel guilty
    *YES

[COLOR=PaleGreen][COLOR=SeaGreen]AIB, helping to protect 
    the environment.[/COLOR]

[COLOR=SeaGreen]            CONTINUE ->[/COLOR]
    [/COLOR]

Well done, aren't yez great.
    *CONTINUE

[COLOR=SeaGreen]Sorry, receipts are not available

[/COLOR][COLOR=PaleGreen][COLOR=SeaGreen]            CONTINUE ->[/COLOR][/COLOR]

Twats
    *CONTINUE

[COLOR=SeaGreen]Transaction complete[/COLOR]

[COLOR=SeaGreen]Please take your card and
    your cash[/COLOR][COLOR=PaleGreen][/COLOR]

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Lizzykins wrote: »
    The National Irish ATM in Superquinn Knocklyon is the slowest there is. Pointless questions like "Your bank may charge a fee for this withdrawal-do you want to continue? YES!!! I'm standing here in the rain freezing my butt off! I want money!!!!
    Sorry, you're right. NIB are slower again than Ulster bank. That particular one in Knocklyon I will actually go out of my way to avoid using if I possibly can.
    The people who programmed these yokes should have their fingers removed. Seriously, the logic applied to the simplest of transactions is attrocious!...
    I wouldn't necessarily blame the programmers. ATM software is one of those software that would have a painfully strict change management process that needs all sorts of signatures and weeks and weeks of UAT. Any system dealing with actual, factual monetary values undergoes testing on a scale far exceeding overkill.

It's easier to add a non-decisive step in the process (e.g. "Sorry, can't issue a receipt"), rather than alter an existing decisive step. If you alter an existing step, you need to go through a full test of all of the functionality in that step as well as all of the subsequent steps which stem from that one.
    If you add a new non-decisive step, you just need to make sure that the step can be reached from the previous step and that pressing the button will get you to the next step.

I'm sure the software programmers have a ream of stuff that they'd like to fix but they either can't get the sign-off (With the logic that management are happier with an inefficient working system rather than a possibly buggy efficient system) or the testing process isn't worth the hassle.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

oneweb wrote: »
    <SNIP>
    Haha great post:D

But yeah, I always try and make sure I have enough money at the start of the weekend to do me. By the end the machines are all OFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

layke wrote: »
    Lol, silly Jimbo. What about paying off that Kilo of heroin you bought? You can't exactly pay off your drug dealer in laser now can you?

What kind of low-life are you buying from?
    My dealer carries a laser reader in his Escalade, hooks up to his mobile via bluetooth, very laa dee daa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

I was gonna defend BOI's atms earlier since the one near me is rarely out of cash. Of course when i went down earlier ot was outta action :p

oneweb wrote: »
    [COLOR=SeaGreen]Please select the amount
    you wish to withdraw.

20 <-          -> 100
    40 <-          -> 150
    50 <-          -> 180
    80 <-          -> 200[/COLOR]

/me would like 80, please

[code]
    Sorry, cannot dispense
    the requested amount.
    i was at an atm a while ago and when it brought me to the above screen it actually had written there what notes it had an what it didn't. i wanted to kiss it because for years i've been protesting atms that offer you amounts that they can't dispense.

then i didn't kiss it because i didn't want to catch plague
    Mr.S wrote: »
    bank machines have tenners? i thought it was just 20's, 50's.

generally just 50's tbh

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Terry wrote: »
    AIB recently issued laser cards to all their customers.
    I don't see any reason for BOI not to do the same.

I think it's cos the Gov duty is higher on a Laser card than a simple cash card, so if you don't use the Laser function, you're paying more than you need. Also there's a higher potential for loss through fraud by stolen Laser cards than with ATM cards, as there's more ways to use the Laser.

At least that's what they told us anyhoo.

Toots85 wrote: »
    I think it's cos the Gov duty is higher on a Laser card than a simple cash card, so if you don't use the Laser function, you're paying more than you need.

in fairness its only €5 a year more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I think it's cos the Gov duty is higher on a Laser card than a simple cash card, so if you don't use the Laser function, you're paying more than you need. Also there's a higher potential for loss through fraud by stolen Laser cards than with ATM cards, as there's more ways to use the Laser.

It's because AIB have better IT systems. Simple as.

in fairness its only €5 a year more

Exactly, it's not like it's a fortune or anything! Still tho, I'd say there'd be loads of people marching up to their local branch to complain about the bank trying to con them into paying more money.
    stepbar wrote: »
    It's because AIB have better IT systems. Simple as.

Definitley not!!! I've worked for both and BOI systems are far better, that said they're still pretty slow, but nothing compared to the ones in the AIB branch I was in :rolleyes:

It must have been a while ago when you worked there because if anything BOI's have gone backward whilst AIB's have moved forward with the times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

The small atms in shops are filled by the shops.

The banks credit the accounts so means shops don't need to drop money and gets it off the premises.

stepbar wrote: »
    It must have been a while ago when you worked there because if anything BOI's have gone backward whilst AIB's have moved forward with the times.

It was only two years ago, I'm still in touch with some friends from when I worked there and they say it's still the same:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Laser cards should not be issued to all customers.

Laser can be used to 'force credit' - i.e. make an account go overdrawn as certain retailers have floor limits where transactions are automatically authorised even if the funds are not in the account. They also take a number of days to be debited from the account. This means that transactions like direct debits and standing orders can be debited to the account in the interim causing the balance to exceed its limit (if any) by the time the laser transaction is processed.

Laser cards are also cheque guarantee cards which means an unscrupulous individual could cash multiple cheques in a variety of retailer outlets up to a value of €130 (per cheque) without having a cent in his / her account. The bank would be obliged to honour them and be faced with an overdrawn balance with little or no prospect of recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Overheal wrote: »
    Its a time saver. Quit whining. The only thing that pisses me off about BOI ATMs is that they won't let you pick your own value of how much to withdraw.

They do... but I'm a BOI cardholder, might be why

nlgbbbblth wrote: »

Laser can be used to 'force credit' - i.e. make an account go overdrawn as certain retailers have floor limits where transactions are automatically authorised even if the funds are not in the account. They also take a number of days to be debited from the account. This means that transactions like direct debits and standing orders can be debited to the account in the interim causing the balance to exceed its limit (if any) by the time the laser transaction is processed.

Laser cards are also cheque guarantee cards which means an unscrupulous individual could cash multiple cheques in a variety of retailer outlets up to a value of €130 (per cheque) without having a cent in his / her account. The bank would be obliged to honour them and be faced with an overdrawn balance with little or no prospect of recovery.

And a lot of customers don't realise that this is the case, particularly younger ones, you get a lot of students phoning up asking why their account is overdrawn and they don't have an overdraft, when what happened was they went out shopping and overspent without realising, and they're getting stiffed now with overlimit charges and high interest for being overdrawn without permission. I think Laser cards are a good thing, but shouldn't be issued to every customer. The customer should be made aware of the pros and cons for them before they're given one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Barlow07 wrote: »
    I have a different argument about TSB Atm's, everytime i go and say withdraw €200.00, it throws out 20 x €10 notes, even once got 40.

exact ****ing opposite for me. i havent got anything less than the bare minimum in small note out of my BOI machine. fcuking 50s EVERY time and i cant remember the last time i got a fiver out of the machines.

but the OP is right. BOI machines are fecking always out of comission. thats why i genreally use the ones in branch to cover myself just incase.

nlgbbbblth wrote: »

That's where AIB's superior systems come into play. Accounts are not let go overdrawn because the debit is taken from your cleared balance. It can take 2/3 days for transactions to appear on accounts from other banks which may not be cleared.

I suppose that's a risk every bank faces unfortunately.