Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good places for part-time (student) jobs?

• 01-02-2008 11:25pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭

It seems nigh-on IMPOSSIBLE to get a job in a pub/bar, seeing as everywhere wants experience (where the hell are you supposed to get experience if you can't get the job?!). I have experience but not much on paper, so basically anyone who has worked in a pub for over a year will get the job ahead of me.

Supermarkets seem a bit degrading, but I can get past that, however I've heard the hours are crap?

Basically I'm after a job for Fri-Sun and maybe weekday evenings, although I'd like to have one evening off per week.

Any suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You are in no position to call a job degrading.
    You are a student looking for a part-time job but there are people working the tills in supermarkets and that is their job/career. Would they be better off on the dole?

To get your first job in the bar industry you have two options
    1. Lie about your experience and don't feck up your trial night
    2. Work hard as lounge staff and in a few months you'll be put behind the bar

What you want is a job as a night porter. You can get hours every weekend and the odd week night. It's not such a bad job and it's better than a barman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

U cud try any of the supermarkets,xtravision,game...where u based?print up a cv and get walking..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Hotels. They take people with no experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

'Good places' is such a subjective term.

What I need for a job is a place which closes around 7pm, and I wish to only work weekends. Try partimejobs.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

I do not get why students with no experience feel they are above jobs like working in a supermarket. My first job was in Tesco when I was 16. Since then I was lucky to get work in videogame shops but I've worked damn hard and walked away with glowing references even in less "desirable" jobs. I would never have gotten the jobs I wanted without having some experience which is where Tesco and such came in handy. A CV with little to no experience in anything will just get chucked in the bin. You're not going to find a job that will work around what hours you want. Students are easily replacable. Have you any idea how many CVs get handed in to a shop on a daily basis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Dude I worked in Burger King in Tallaght part time for six bloody years to put myself through school and college. You might call it degrading, but it put me through college to get my degree.

You want part time work, stop being so self-righteous and considering the jobs that most other students have to do beneath you, and take what you can get. If you can find something that puts you on track to the industry you want to work in full time, fair play to you. Any work experience at all is better than none though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Some of the best jobs I've ever had have been the degrading ones, I've always found the work colleagues much more fun and 'human' than the stuffy ones I worked with in offices. My sister said the same (she 'degraded' herself for years in Dunnes and now she no longer degrades herself and has an office based job she misses the craic, like myself!) :eek:

Usually hotel bars are not as rigid about the bartending experience so maybe try there. Also hotel receptionists work shifts so it can be easy to get hours to fit around your college work. Off-licences, video shops, hairdressers/beauty salons (answering the phones etc.) would all have hours conducive to students.