Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Old-ish Mercs...Mental or not?

• 01-02-2008 11:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭

I was looking at hot hatches (upto a new Astra VXR), but it's been called into question how much I will be in the car during the week, so is it worth having an '08 car hemorrhaging cash on my drive while I'm on the train into work?

Subsequently, I've been casting my eye over what can be got for €30k and I suddenly realised my favourite recent Merc is available, or even an older CLK55 AMG from the UK.

Barring tax/fuel costs (I could galvanize myself for these ;)), and the fact they are based on the old S class, anyone know of any horror stories with the CL's particulary...the CL forum I found wasn't very helpful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

I'm not up on reliability of the CL, but I drive an E55 AMG in the US last summer. Same AMG engine as in the CLk 55 AMG. All I can say is the power was outstanding. Go for it if you can. Having a monster car a few years old is far better then a new 08 with a poverty spec engine under the bonnet! Plus buying a car like this second hand means you don't take the depreciation hit the original owner did. Make sure the car was well looked after, most of these would be bought by car nut's I'd assume so you can afford to be picky.

One horror story I heard was to do with the diagnostics, the guy needed his car towed to his dealership in Dublin to get it sorted. This was second hand info though. Think the car was a CLK, but all the AMG 55's have the same engine. Also, you might want to import before June to ensure you are not paying 2000E a year road tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭shanel23

I'd check here for any stories on the CL - very useful Merc club

http://www.mbclub.co.uk/forums/index.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭StillBallygowan

maybe have a review of this site:

http://consumerguideauto.howstuffworks.com/2006-mercedes-benz-cl-class.htm

I used it, along with many other sites, before buying my Mercedes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Easy to be seduced but be prepared to start crying at the parts counter when they stick your chassis number into the system.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel

A base new CL500 lists at €160k, so in 6 years later someone else has taken a €135k depreciation hit :eek:

At about €25k, it's a lot of car for about the price of a low end new Golf!

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

When MrsA decided she wanted a 4*4 there was an AMG ML55 for sale in our local dealership that fell within budget and I tried to talk her into it but she wouldn't even take it for a test drive!

Have a long think about running costs on this, the road tax, fuel bills, parts and service and insurance will be astronomical (you have already priced insurance before even looking haven't you?) and will probably not be far of the total cost of ownership figure of a newer hot hatch, particularly if a major item goes.

The other thing is that you will really, really struggle to sell this car. If you hold it for 2 - 3 years petrol will cost a lot more than it does now and taxes on high CO2 cars aren't coming down anytime soon. You should probably assume that you keep it forever or that it'll be next to worthless when you go to move on.

Something like that shouldn't just be about the money though, if you can afford it then go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Gatster

Yeah, the actual thing that got me giving serious consideration to this (apart from the fact I still have the original CL launch press pack!!!) was that there is no change in the insurance from the Impreza.
    The other thing is that you will really, really struggle to sell this car. If you hold it for 2 - 3 years petrol will cost a lot more than it does now and taxes on high CO2 cars aren't coming down anytime soon. You should probably assume that you keep it forever or that it'll be next to worthless when you go to move on.

Something like that shouldn't just be about the money though, if you can afford it then go for it!
    :D:D:D Off to look at one now.

Gatster wrote: »
    that there is no change in the insurance from the Impreza.

I'm not surprised by that at all. The risk profile for a CL owner would be the complete opposite of that of an Impreza owner. In fact I'd have expected it to be lower on the CL. I'd hazard a guess you're not 30 yet? If so, I'd expect the insurance on the CL to drop further once you get a few years older

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

A friend of mine has a '99 S320. Lovely car. Lots go wrong with it tho and nothing seems to cost under a grand to get fixed at a local independent. Air suspension, cats, airbags. Ok a new mechanism for the passenger electric window only cost €270.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

How about a W124 500E? Should be depreciation-proof as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

Thats an awful lot of car for the money. Still years ahead of what 30k would buy you new now.
    Unfortunately from a dark period in Merc's history but none the less a super car.(literally)

I don't think year, mileage, or treatment will make the parts of this break - its the type of car that the bits that were made badly will break and the rest will hang on for ever (if that makes any sense)

I think deerpark motors have a nice 600 v12 - not sure of the specs or year - but its an option.

unkel wrote: »
    I'm not surprised by that at all. The risk profile for a CL owner would be the complete opposite of that of an Impreza owner. In fact I'd have expected it to be lower on the CL. I'd hazard a guess you're not 30 yet? If so, I'd expect the insurance on the CL to drop further once you get a few years older
    33 in fact :eek:, but only 4 years NCB.

Just looked a couple this afternoon, the 02 I linked to earlier is in great nick, FSH (former UK car), just needed a good clean, drove beautifully and pulled like a train despite being high-ish on the miles. The other I saw, an 01, was f@cked, mechanically seemed Ok but the interior was like a bomb had gone off, not good vibes from the skanger-esque lads selling it either.

Going to wait and ponder, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

that it'll be next to worthless when you go to move on.

I think it will never be worthless - as the flagship model it might go through a rough patch but it will be worth a whole lot again some day ( you might also be collecting your pension that day too )

33 in fact :eek:, but only 4 years NCB.

Ah! I was presuming full NCB
    Going to wait and ponder

Time for some serious interweb research, methinks. PM MercMad. He will show you where best to look and he might have a lot of info for you himself

Good luck!

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭nialler

Did the CL's suffer from the same problems as the E or S class during those years (99-2003).

To be honest when I bought my S 3 years ago I was told to put about 5 grand away as a, b & c would go wrong on it, which they eventually did and it all cost about 3.5k to have done (basic maintenance, airmatic pump, passenger seat sensor) but by jayziz it's one helluva car. I'd love a CL though and remember if you do get a v12 that's 24 long life sparks @ €18 each changed every 75k (that's €440 for the sparks, then you got labour on top of it).

Mine just had an oil & filter change (€150 + labour) and she's as smooth as silk again and there I was happily driving down Dawson St today didn't notice taxi guy in front of me slam on until the last moment (far enough away to have braked fairly easily) but I hit the brakes to quickly and the car took em away from me (brake assist) and frightened the sh1te outta me, you gotta love that type of technology in a car that old (8 years).

I couldn't afford one but I'd love a CL55/65, although the CL500 that I drove a few times is an absolute beast and the noise of that V8 is a thing to behold. CL doesn't have airmatic though, think it's hydraulic so a tad more expensive than the S when they fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Mr.Boots

When MrsA decided she wanted a 4*4

Is your wifes name realy M.R.S.A.???
    How unfortunate
    :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭promethius

A base new CL500 lists at €160k

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

JHMEG wrote: »
    Ok a new mechanism for the passenger electric window only cost €270.
    that's the same as it cost me for one on my Nissan. at least I have something in common with merc owners. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I've been lucky with my merc, the replacement parts have been quite small and only reach between the price of 40cent and 2euro. (Piece for the accelerator cable and a new yoke which connects the pedal to the metal part) I'm not a mechanic. :( It's only a C180 though. Thats like a 1/3 the size of the 500 :)

Jeebus, web research over the past couple of days has, to be frank, scared the sh!te out of me.

Most of the MB forums recommend a cast iron, preferably MB warranty, on CL's owing to the complexity. I can't see any CL's I can afford (to buy) having such a warranty. I suppose I could take the chance on a car, but I do get the impression that if you are unlucky it's just a vast money pit, and as this will be my only car, it has to work 100% when I need it.

In reality, if I had the space I'd buy a 928S4 and something to hack around in, but don't, so back to the drawing board. Big engined CLK's seem better for maintenance & reliability though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭gavquinn

I was looking at hot hatches (upto a new Astra VXR), but it's been called into question how much I will be in the car during the week, so is it worth having an '08 car hemorrhaging cash on my drive while I'm on the train into work?

Subsequently, I've been casting my eye over what can be got for €30k and I suddenly realised my favourite recent Merc is available, or even an older CLK55 AMG from the UK.

Barring tax/fuel costs (I could galvanize myself for these ;)), and the fact they are based on the old S class, anyone know of any horror stories with the CL's particulary...the CL forum I found wasn't very helpful.
    The old non-supercharged CLK55 is fat, underpowered (for a 5.5l) and not fast enough.. You can honestly get a better car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭Ferris

Jeebus, web research over the past couple of days has, to be frank, scared the sh!te out of me.

Most of the MB forums recommend a cast iron, preferably MB warranty, on CL's owing to the complexity. I can't see any CL's I can afford (to buy) having such a warranty. I suppose I could take the chance on a car, but I do get the impression that if you are unlucky it's just a vast money pit, and as this will be my only car, it has to work 100% when I need it.

In reality, if I had the space I'd buy a 928S4 and something to hack around in, but don't, so back to the drawing board. Big engined CLK's seem better for maintenance & reliability though.

What about a late model R129 SL500, thats what i've my eye on. There's even a SL60 AMG for sale in the UK for 17k stg, thats a rare car but as its only a bored out 5L V8 it should be uber reliable.

In saying that I had a go of a recent SL55 AMG and life is just not been the same since:D, everythings slower basically!

SL60's:

http://search.autotrader.co.uk/es-uk/www/cars/MERCEDES-BENZ+SL+CLASS/Ne-2-4-5-6-7-8-27-44-49-53-61-64-67-103-133-146-236,N-4294967259-4294967262/advert.action?R=200819309724082&distance=320&postcode=bt9+5eb&channel=CARS&make=MERCEDES-BENZ&model=SL+CLASS&min_pr=&max_pr=&max_mileage=

http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C24864

Well the new "55's" are a different engine, the older ones are c.10 years old, and not very refined, yeah, they'll have grunt, but they're...... well.... fat!
    About 350bhp, you'll get the same from the OLD 4.2 audi unit - see what I mean? It's not very efficient. The new 5.5 Kompressor is reworked and supercharged to that 470bhp you'll see today, but even that engine is discontinued. Note also that the supercharger can fail, and will be VERY costly for a new one.
    The 500 engine? 20 years old, they just update it, and the car is very heavy..
    If you can afford it? The 2003-2008 SL55... 470bhp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭Ferris

If you're comfortable in your sexuality you could go for a SLK 32 AMG, thay're a standard 3.2 thats been supercharged. They're very quick but no-one will notice that its a special car.

What about a boxster S, a friend got one recently, paid 33k. Not my cup of tea but its quick and good to drive. Unstressed 3.2L engine.

Porsche are very expensive.. I never bought one, I drive an audi now, but I've heard a water pump is €600. Audi water pump €75

gavquinn wrote: »
    Porsche are very expensive.. I never bought one, I drive an audi now, but I've heard a water pump is €600. Audi water pump €75

A 10 second google effort came up with a €200 Porsche Boxster waterpump. Say you need one every 5 years. That's 7 cents more per day for a Porsche waterpump compared to an Audi waterpump.

Immaterial compared to the total costs of running a car as an accountant would call it ;)

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,604 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

astraboy wrote: »
    Also, you might want to import before June to ensure you are not paying 2000E a year road tax.
    I thought every regular poster on Motors forum would know that pre-2008 cars will continue to be road taxed on existing c.c.-based system.

Not your ornery onager

esel wrote: »
    I thought every regular poster on Motors forum would know that pre-2008 cars will continue to be road taxed on existing c.c.-based system.

Nope. Even fully qualified accountants who are experts in this field, get it wrong :D

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭jvc

esel wrote: »

I know that pre 2008 cars which are subsiquently registered in Ireland will be taxed on the engine cc based system but is there not an exception for cars which produce more than 225g of CO2?:confused:

I dont know the emissions for that particular car but id say they are quite high.
    Im open to correction though.