Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fire in the Hamilton

• 31-01-2008 1:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭

There are 2 fire birgades outside the hamilton...the building has been evacuated. Does anyone know where/what the actual fire is??

I heard rumours that it was in a bathroom...but not too sure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 moyne

Yeah, heard about it. Anyone know the story if labs/lectures will be cancelled for the rest of the afternoon?
    I have computer programming later..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Danger Bob

Anyone get hurt? Anyone got photos?

(Oh my god, I've become an ambulance chaser.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cunnins4

I've an exam tomorrow and all of my notes are in the library!

Hope this is sorted asap!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

We've got an assignment due tomorrow - the CS labs got evacuated too (which means its not a false alarm, cus otherwise they don't care ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

I have about 10kg of books to return to the library, and I can't get in, or access my locker.

Grr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭hugoline

Genetics and Pharmacy are open since 3pm, don't know about the hamilton.

Fire was set in the mens bathroom in the hamilton (according to security similar to an incident in the arts block 2 weeks ago)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Does anyone know the size of the fire?

Bah. Because the CS labs are pretty much right beside those toilets, they are remaining closed for the rest of the day. We have an assignment due tomorrow, which was going to involve most of my class staying in there overnight. Since we were never informed we had a SS lab reserved for us in oriel house, it was decided that that lab should close, and we only found out about it two days ago, leaving nowhere in college to work on this assignment.

crap. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭luapenak

cunnins4 wrote: »
    I've an exam tomorrow and all of my notes are in the library!

Hope this is sorted asap!:(

I don't think you willbe getting into the library today. According to one of the security men it could be a day or two before the library is open.
    Hopefully the security man is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Unshelved

The Hamilton Building will be closed for the rest of the evening.

Students can access the Hamilton Library now if they want to collect any belongings left there.

Edited to add -
    Virtually everything has been collected now so there's no-one in the Library. If you need something that you left behind, then ring the Duty Librarian's desk in the Berkeley - 896 1127 - and we'll sort something out for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 561 ✭✭✭paperclip

Does anyone know what the extent of the damage is? I heard that it was arson and that they're having investigators in from some company to sort this out.
    I was in the pharmacy school computer labs when the gardai came in and shooed us all out. Once outside, I saw smoke rising from the roof over the library/student union shop area. Fire trucks arrived quickly and everyone was assembled outside shivering in the cold, until they told us no one would be allowed inside for another 2 hours. Our lab was cancelled. :)
    Wonder who did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Unshelved

According to my sources, someone set fire to a toilet roll in one of the toilets. No major damage done afaik.

Unshelved: I hope your source isn't through someone who knows me ;) I made a rough guess that that was probably what happened, as the smell of burning plastic was so intense. And i've seen someone try and do that before, years and years ago.

I did see the guards walking away with garda tape so presume its all taped up.

Just home from the Usher now.

Let me just say: Some of the security guards in college are absolute fvcking asseholes. Captain Tackleberry and His sidekick up in the Hamilton giving me the hard line earlier when I tried to get back in to get my bag. fcuking wánk bag.

<Bald Cvnt Screaming at me from inside the Hamilton as I approached>
    "THE BUILDING AND LIBRARY ARE CLOSED UNTIL TOMORROW"
    <me> "is there any way I can get my bag back from the libray?"
    <Baldy Pr1ck, still screaming, doesn't know how to open the door>
    "NO"

So down I go to the panoz. Que yet another ego-maniac tackleberry wannabe pr1ck. Same dialogue, except this time i said "I've an exam tomorrow, is there no way I can get my bag?" gimp: "nope" me:"All my notes are up there, I need to get them" assehole:"not my problem pal"

It's a UNIVERSITY, at exam time for many. Only exams these idiots know about are the many times they've failed the Garda exams. Idiots on a power trip.

I walked back around by the Ham Cafe and one of the library security guard lads was letting people upstairs to retrieve bags. Nice enough, "up ya go, be quick as ya can" No problemo.

This is not the first time Captain Tackleberry (the guy who loves his job and walks around holding his belt, you all know who he is) has been an absolute díck to me.

/end of rant. Sorry, exam stress getting to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

çrash_000 wrote: »
    Bah. Because the CS labs are pretty much right beside those toilets, they are remaining closed for the rest of the day. We have an assignment due tomorrow, which was going to involve most of my class staying in there overnight. Since we were never informed we had a SS lab reserved for us in oriel house, it was decided that that lab should close, and we only found out about it two days ago, leaving nowhere in college to work on this assignment.

crap. :P

The SS lab reserved for SS Cs and SS Comp eng is occupied by school kids. The computer labs on the second flour are no longer controlled by the CS department. So while some may thing theres a lab over there, I can't think were it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭ZWEI_VIER_ZWEI

Let me just say: Some of the security guards in college are absolute fvcking asseholes. Captain Tackleberry and His sidekick up in the Hamilton giving me the hard line earlier when I tried to get back in to get my bag. fcuking wánk bag.

"NO"

So down I go to the panoz. Que yet another ego-maniac tackleberry wannabe pr1ck. Same dialogue, except this time i said "I've an exam tomorrow, is there no way I can get my bag?" gimp: "nope" me:"All my notes are up there, I need to get them" assehole:"not my problem pal"

It's a UNIVERSITY, at exam time for many. Only exams these idiots know about are the many times they've failed the Garda exams. Idiots on a power trip.

I walked back around by the Ham Cafe and one of the library security guard lads was letting people upstairs to retrieve bags. Nice enough, "up ya go, be quick as ya can" No problemo.

This is not the first time Captain Tackleberry (the guy who loves his job and walks around holding his belt, you all know who he is) has been an absolute díck to me.

What a ****...if you fail exams on his account, no-one would think any worse of you if you ****ing deck him one...

"NO"

Contact your tutor after your exam tomorrow and ask him/her to get in contact with your lecturer explaining your situation. Plus you could talk to your lecturer yourself.

Best of luck with the exam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Jonnykitedude

My source told me that there is a lot of damage done and that it was arson, Cops are investigating.

More rif raf coming in wrecking the place:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I don't know about a lot of damage, the Hamilton is open now with only the ladies' and gents' toilets in the SU shop end of the Ham cordoned off. Everything looks grand otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Jonnykitedude

Sorry i ment the toilets:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 iodine

Does anyone else think it's odd that there has been no mention at all in the media of the fire? Do they not know or just not care?

I found this link from RTÉ in 2006 about a previous fire;

http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0728/fire.html

but I can't find any info on this one.

The most I heard was from one of the security guards saying that they think it was an external device brought in, not just people setting fire to the toilet paper.

The girls bathrooms are open now but the guys are still locked with "Crime Scene" plastered on the door. They cleaned out the Salmon and the Synge this morning before our nine o'clock because of "Smoke damage". They looked grand to me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭sternn

it seemed a bit small to be reported in the media, dont you think? i know you could see smoke and all...but it wasn't exactly huge...

Well by the sounds of it the fire in 2006 was pretty tiny too, that got mention. Maybe that was just a slow news day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭hugoline

iodine wrote: »
    Well by the sounds of it the fire in 2006 was pretty tiny too, that got mention. Maybe that was just a slow news day.

The 2006 fire in Pharmacy destroyed at least one big lab, smoke damaged some other rooms and caused damage of a coupple million Euro, we'll see how much damage was caused by the recent fire.
    (at least the cause will be known this time ;) )

My bad... that was just the impression I got from rte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭barnesd

3 million Euro's worth of damage to the Smurfit building was done in '06. Bigger news than a mens jacks anyway.

Whoever started the fire is a prick anyway, hope they are caught. The stupid thing is though that it didn't seem to set the alarms off in the whole building. I was in Java City and the woman who works there had to come kick us out. Didn't have a clue until I looked down the building and saw all the smoke.

Also agree with whoever said the security guards are knobs, except the fella standing at the door to the stairs beside the Ham Caf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Well why not complain about the security guard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

barnesd wrote: »
    3 million Euro's worth of damage to the Smurfit building was done in '06. Bigger news than a mens jacks anyway.

I remember that fire, sitting in the Pav on last day of exams drunkenly watching fire engines come in and smoke pouring out of the building.

Agree that it was just vandalism and hope that whoever did it gets their comeuppance.

barnesd wrote: »
    Also agree with whoever said the security guards are knobs, except the fella standing at the door to the stairs beside the Ham Caf.

That was the chap I was talking about - sound, the rest of them: Asseholes!
    Boston wrote: »
    Well why not complain about the security guard?

Boston, I was going to, but tbh I just don't think anyone would take any notice. I was HIGHLY píssed off when I posted that rant, and rightly so as it was the end of my exams and they were being dicks but at the end of the day, they'll always be dicks. I got my exams done and the majority of them went well, so I'm happy enough to leave it at that. I'll finish in TCD and they'll still be there, being bolloxes to everyone and going home to Mrs. Tackleberry and telling her of how he laid down the law to a bunch of junior freshman who got a bit drunk or something! I don't think a complaint would really change their ways: knobs will always be knobs!:p

I haven't been to the Hamilton since Thursday, was there much damage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Toilets are still off-limits [with the lamest "Crime Scene" tape EVAR emblazoned on the doors], so nobody really knows.

Question is, why bother setting fire to the toilets? Pssh.