Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hotpress Drugs Ad

• 30-01-2008 6:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭

Sorry if there's already a thread or if this is not the place to post...

Has anybody seen the new hotpress ad thats due to be aired on RTE and TV3 tonight? Heres the original, thats apparently more explicit. Its called "Cocaine- Do You Know Where Its Been?" :eek:(Probably not for the young 'uns but Im not sure)

http://www.hotpress.com/4381644.html
    Any opinions? Do you think this will put anybody off? Id like to think so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

It just looks like an argument for legalisation IMO.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

Ads take all the fun out everything.

Video piracy was fun until it became a crime - do not accept it - telephone the federation against copyright theft, F.A.C.T...., Smoking, speeding, drink-driving, drink-speeding, abducting children, headbutting the driver of a car mid-crash in slow motion, getting impaled with your girlfriend against a wall by car, other car stuff, abducting drunk speeding children, slow-motion video piracy, abortion and now this?! Killjoys. Suppose there's still heroin and murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    It just looks like an argument for legalisation IMO.

I hadnt really thought of that! I thought it was trying to remove the "glamour" that went along with the drug. The Columbians (not sure if its the Government or who) are also going to show an ad about what drug taking is funding, lavish lifestyle etc. Will have to find a link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I would be far more worried about what it is cut with TBH. It is not like he is picking unwrapped coke out of his crap.

I eat sausages fully aware it is full of rectums and genitals. I buy chocolate bars in wrappers that might have been touched with crap covered hands of filthy employees.

I never understood this "glamour" business. If hash was €60-100 per gram would it suddenly be glamourous? or what is the reason. It costs more to go boozing these days anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

If hash ever costs that you're taking the blame for suggesting it Rubadub!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

But everyone knows that's how it's done it's hardly any kind of exclusive. In fact if it's still anus shaped when you get it that's a good thing cause you know it hasn't been cut down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

rubadub wrote: »
    I buy chocolate bars in wrappers that might have been touched with crap covered hands of filthy employees.

What chocolate factory has their employees hand wrap each bar? Willy Wonkas? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Jrad

Kernel wrote: »
    What chocolate factory has their employees hand wrap each bar? Willy Wonkas? :p

I am sick of the amount of people who are unable to understand the basic posts on this website. These are the type of people who ask you a question and then start talking when you are giving them the answer.

He never said anything about hand wrapping chocolate bars! What the hell are you on about ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,090 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Jrad wrote: »
    I am sick of the amount of people who are unable to understand the basic posts on this website. These are the type of people who ask you a question and then start talking when you are giving them the answer.

He never said anything about hand wrapping chocolate bars! What the hell are you on about ?
    I too am sick etc. Who said Kernel is a he? What the hell are you on about ?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

It's a ripoff of an ad from years ago.
    I am having trouble though finding the original video..
    I think the original may have been in Spanish or French.

TK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Sugar Drunk

nice try hot press but no the add wont work. most people know where coke comes from and they know its cut with all sorts. and they dont care and will do it anyway. why? cos the one fact that all these people and politicians fail to realise is that drugs make people feel good. thats the problem. If they didnt people would not use them. It doesnt matter that they were once stuffed up someones @rseif it helps people get their rocks off they will stuff anything up their nose.

So how do you tackle it? well to me there needs to be more publication of deaths from drugs and also of the potential situation people can get into - debt to drug dealers, losing their jobs, getting beaten up and threatened thats the sort of stuff that will scare these people. and its the sort of stuff that does really happen when people get out of control on coke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

i like the ad...i think its effective.

though to be honest, i dont think anything is going to discourage the use of drugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

If only they had sold coke themselves, maybe then they could fund a better looking ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

whatever about the message but the ad is fairly ****ly produced more of a comedy than anything serious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Well Duh...

"Cocaine comes from Fairy's tears"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

that is pretty awful imo, fair enough its toned, but the original probably just had poo dripping out of ye mans crack and on the bags, ooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

Giruilla wrote: »
    that is pretty awful imo, fair enough its toned, but the original probably just had poo dripping out of ye mans crack and on the bags, ooo

the one at the link is the unedited version

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭blah

Not bad, but didn't quite seem as realistic as it could have. Maybe they should have* shown him fishing around in the jacks, picking the packages out with his bare hands.

*That's right people, it's "should have", not "should of".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Plan to fight drugs use in general? Lock up traffickers for life and lower level dealers for hefty prison sentences while gong easier on people caught in possession of smaller amounts.

So how do you tackle it? well to me there needs to be more publication of deaths from drugs and also of the potential situation people can get into - debt to drug dealers, losing their jobs, getting beaten up and threatened thats the sort of stuff that will scare these people. and its the sort of stuff that does really happen when people get out of control on coke
    It's not really, sure it does happen but it's not the norm, we don't have a country full of snoop dogs and 50 cents. It's still basically undoing the trust between citizen and government because in most peoples experience these things don't happen to them.

The fact is illegal drugs put power and money in the hands of bad people, do you fight the bad people or take away their power.
    blah wrote: »
    Not bad, but didn't quite seem as realistic as it could have. Maybe they should have* shown him fishing around in the jacks, picking the packages out with his bare hands.
    That's what I was expecting when they showed him swallowing the babaloons. I expected it to show he's **** covered hands pawing the coke out of the bags. Instead they just show his builders arse. They chickened out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Seize as much as possible,cut it with strycnine,release it back onto the market and hey-presto..the assholes of society are gone..well most of em!

The link I posted was the original version. I saw the new version last night too though. There's no "plopping(!)" sound or builders bum in the toilet scene and the guy doesnt do a line from the girls chest. Same except for those few things.

Degsy wrote: »
    Seize as much as possible,cut it with strycnine,release it back onto the market and hey-presto..the assholes of society are gone..well most of em!

Not really a solution though is it? I hate drugs but I wouldnt call somebody as "asshole" for a lifestyle choice, might call them stupid and money wasters, but that's my opinion!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Maximilian wrote: »
    Ads take all the fun out everything.

Video piracy was fun until it became a crime - do not accept it - telephone the federation against copyright theft, F.A.C.T...., Smoking, speeding, drink-driving, drink-speeding, abducting children, headbutting the driver of a car mid-crash in slow motion, getting impaled with your girlfriend against a wall by car, other car stuff, abducting drunk speeding children, slow-motion video piracy, abortion and now this?! Killjoys. Suppose there's still heroin and murder.

Hot Press are bloody hypocrites.Loads of thier journalists used to brag about the amount of drugs they consumed or allude to drugs constantly in t hier articles.Olaf Tyrrensson(sic) wrote a crappy bio in which he did absolutely nothing but take drugs.I suppose NME will be next after spending the last three years lionising Pete Doherty and Amy Winohouse.

Did a quick search...the word hypocrite does spring to mind alright...
    http://www.rte.ie/arts/2001/0308/storyofo.html
    So i think now im seeing JC 2K3's side.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

The ad is pretty rubbish. As people have already said, it's common knowledge that smugglers use all kinds of nasty ways to get the stuff in....but it hasn't stopped people in the past and it won't stop people in the future. What they need to do is document how lives have been ruined by the drugs, show actual case studies and real life people who have been through the worst end of it. And also show how the people working in the factories are treated too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

meh, seen worse...

actually, doin that line of yer ones chest looked pretty interesting...

Wossack wrote: »
    meh, seen worse...

actually, doin that line of yer ones chest looked pretty interesting...

I thought they made it and yer one look boring.I've seen it done from far more interesting places..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

I thought they made it and yer one look boring.I've seen it done from far more interesting places..

yea, yer one in that scene from robocop was way better

tbh, I was hoping for more graphic detail in how the stuff was cut, and maybe have em smuggle the stuff in by stitching it into some kids legs or something - yea, even have him fishing in the toilet bowl

way to soft...

Cianos wrote: »
    The ad is pretty rubbish. As people have already said, it's common knowledge that smugglers use all kinds of nasty ways to get the stuff in....but it hasn't stopped people in the past and it won't stop people in the future. What they need to do is document how lives have been ruined by the drugs, show actual case studies and real life people who have been through the worst end of it. And also show how the people working in the factories are treated too.

They tried that with victims of road accidents, and i dont think it worked either. suppose all the ad will do is give the anti-drug people more ammo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

ScumLord wrote: »
    But everyone knows that's how it's done it's hardly any kind of exclusive. In fact if it's still anus shaped when you get it that's a good thing cause you know it hasn't been cut down.

roffles and such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 NewBalance

While people buy it - people will smuggle it in.

As soon as you can't afford the stuff - you'll stop buying it and so they'll stop smuggling it in...

Either that or you perusade everyone its completely socially un-acceptable... but that's not going to happen... Coke has a 'cool' image and it makes people feel good, have loads of energy and be able to DRINK more.

The pubs and clubs would see a dip in their takings if coke maigicly disapeared over-night...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Jeapy wrote: »
    Sorry if there's already a thread or if this is not the place to post...

Has anybody seen the new hotpress ad thats due to be aired on RTE and TV3 tonight? Heres the original, thats apparently more explicit. Its called "Cocaine- Do You Know Where Its Been?" :eek:(Probably not for the young 'uns but Im not sure)

http://www.hotpress.com/4381644.html
    Any opinions? Do you think this will put anybody off? Id like to think so!

I think that ad is funny.

And believe. It wont stop anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

dsmythy wrote: »
    Plan to fight drugs use in general? Lock up traffickers for life and lower level dealers for hefty prison sentences while gong easier on people caught in possession of smaller amounts.

Not really going to work now is it? You can already do 20 years or so for trafficking large amounts of drugs, think someones going to think to themselves "ahh well I was willing to do 20 years if I got caught, but life? That heroins staying in Afghanistan." People who import large amounts of drugs either don't think they will get caught and therefore don't fear the punishment regardless of wether its a few years inside or being slowly tortured to death, they do think they will get caught eventually but hope their luck holds out untill they have made a satisfactory amount of money and can retire before it happens or they think it's more than likely they are going to get caught and suffer the consequences but they simply don't care in the slightest. Longer sentences would only deter the lowest level part time dealers out there, that sell to look cool infront of thier mates, not the people that have made it their proffesion.

I read about the add in the paper and how it was so graphic and explicit it had to be censored for tellivision, I was expecting some kind of 60 second horror show. It's fairly tame and unoriginal. to the OP's question, no I don't think for a second it's going to put anyone off, like others have pointed out people know that the coke they do might have been brought into the country that way, the more knowlegable ones knows only a small fraction of coke is brought in that way (see all the massive seazures on docks and at airports worldwide) and most don't care one way or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

That ad is just going to generate laughs whenever it comes on. That blonde girl looked so proud that she let someone snort off her chest, and I ain't ever seen anyone crack a winning smile like that after a sniff. Tame & unbelievable is right.

Even if only a fraction is brought up someone's arse it's not like when people are buying they are going to want a slip from someone detailing the route it took to get to him.

Anywho, coke is a load of arse. If you're stupid enough to take it then your smart enough to deal with the consequences. (Reminds me of that whole shìte with the papers calling a Katy French an "angel" and the dealer who got HER addicted an evil, evil man......hmmm)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Jrad wrote: »
    I am sick of the amount of people who are unable to understand the basic posts on this website.

An old man turned ninety-eight
    He won the lottery and died the next day
    It's a black fly in your Chardonnay
    It's a death row pardon two minutes too late
    And isn't it ironic... don't you think

It's like rain on your wedding day
    It's a free ride when you've already paid
    It's the good advice that you just didn't take
    Who would've thought... it figures

Mr. Play It Safe was afraid to fly
    He packed his suitcase and kissed his kids goodbye
    He waited his whole damn life to take that flight
    And as the plane crashed down he thought
    "Well isn't this nice..."
    And isn't it ironic... don't you think

Well life has a funny way of sneaking up on you
    When you think everything's okay and everything's going right
    And life has a funny way of helping you out when
    You think everything's gone wrong and everything blows up
    In your face

A traffic jam when you're already late
    A no-smoking sign on your cigarette break
    It's like ten thousand spoons when all you need is a knife
    It's meeting the man of my dreams
    And then meeting his beautiful wife
    And isn't it ironic...don't you think
    A little too ironic...and, yeah, I really do think...

Life has a funny way of sneaking up on you
    Life has a funny, funny way of helping you out
    Helping you out

OT: I see what they're attempting to do, but the fact that it shows it's wrapped in a rubber balloon completely takes away from it, I mean, it's not as though the coke is in his arse mixing with the feces and then he uses a sieve to get it out.

EDIT: ffs that song is stuck in my head now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Ninja_scrotum

coke is a load of arse

At least Irish coke is.. Had some the other night and it made my teeth numb. Pretty cool. Then I couldn't sleep because it was most definitely laced with speed.

Coke in colombia would be a different story altogether. I'd say it's yummy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

slipss wrote: »
    Not really going to work now is it? You can already do 20 years or so for trafficking large amounts of drugs, think someones going to think to themselves "ahh well I was willing to do 20 years if I got caught, but life? That heroins staying in Afghanistan." People who import large amounts of drugs either don't think they will get caught and therefore don't fear the punishment regardless of wether its a few years inside or being slowly tortured to death, they do think they will get caught eventually but hope their luck holds out untill they have made a satisfactory amount of money and can retire before it happens or they think it's more than likely they are going to get caught and suffer the consequences but they simply don't care in the slightest. Longer sentences would only deter the lowest level part time dealers out there, that sell to look cool infront of thier mates, not the people that have made it their proffesion.

Well you can be sent to jail for 20 years whether you do or not is another question. Guaranteed life might take even one guy's mind of the idea of bringing it into Ireland and look to pastures anew. Hopefully more. That's worth it for me. I know people will still try. But catch them once with enough of the stuff and they're gone for the rest of their life.

Same goes for the guy thinking he's great dealing with his mates. One bit of bad luck and any one of them could be dead. If some run in fear of harsh sentences again i think it's worth it.

Those in the middle of the road the "professional dealers", as that is what they are basically, would be hard to dislodge but if 20 years in jail is the price some begin to pay then i don't know, maybe some of them too might stop.

All ifs and buts though. Anything bar the current situation as it stands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

would anyone bang the girl in the add? Being off her t!ts on coke would surely only make her easier....

dsmythy wrote: »
    Well you can be sent to jail for 20 years whether you do or not is another question. Guaranteed life might take even one guy's mind of the idea of bringing it into Ireland and look to pastures anew.
    Isn't life in this country 25 years. In for a penny in for a pound. Most these criminals are willing to put there life's on the line to make a quick buck, jail isn't the worst outcome for these people it's a guaranteed out in allot of ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Sugar Drunk

ScumLord wrote: »
    It's not really, sure it does happen but it's not the norm, .

I have seen it happen. But as you say it does not happen to everyone. many people can take it or leave it but some people just cant stop and dont realise that it can get to that extent until its too late.

They did chicken out the coloured baloons look ridiculous. I was expecting to see real condoms used and to see the guy fishing about in his sh!te to get the stuff. Its a load of hype over a fairly useless add.

I think its funny that they has some illusion that people who take coke have no idea how its transported or where ot comes from and that this will somehow be an eye opener. how stupid do they think people are??