Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weak Sterling and Dollar - Nice prices

• 30-01-2008 1:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭

I just bought 2 guitars in the space of 2 days this week (Monday & Tuesday)

There are far too many good deals on ebay. I am spending a fricken fortune on guitars lately.

About 2 months ago i bought a brand new Gibson Flying V (not faded model) from a UK seller for £500 (Sterling)...about €700. These yokes cost about €1300 in my local shop in Dundalk.

This week i bought an Ibanez JS1200 in red (Satriani model) brand new in the original box and case for €1121 including postage from the UK. It retails for €1699 on thoman.de....god know how much it would be in a music store in this country. It play fricken amazing and sounds even better....the whammy bar is so easy to use and sounds great.

I also bought a 2005 Gibson Les Paul Standard in ebony (Black) in original hardcase for €1000.....that's right.....a grand. It is in perfect condition...the seller was Irish and even delivered it to my door. I don't need this bad boy, as i have one already in Lightburst colour.

I am also considering buying a Gibson Les Paul Goldtop brand new off ebay for about £1195 (Sterling) including postage. That's about €1600 for a new one. I have always wanted one off these for a while know and now i can get one for that price......can't resist.....too hard.

These prices are just too good to turn down......when does all this stop?
    Is there a moment when enough is enough. I will post up a pic of them soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Oh how I hate people like you :p spending money willy nilly :p

Anywho, no one here believes ya, no photographic evidence[would really like to see the V] ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,993 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

Yeah! Talk is cheap, show the pix!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Tell me, where do you live? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

*catches train to Drogheda*

Anyone want to buy a few Gibsons when I get back to Dublin? They're going cheap! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Macht schnell mit die piks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Demeyes

I love how much cheaper it is to get guitars abroad, especially the US. If only I had more money...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭darrenw5094

DSCF0347b.jpg

i will post the family up maybe tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

pretty ****ing sweet man

DeadSkin wrote: »
    Oh how I hate people like you :p spending money willy nilly :p

Anywho, no one here believes ya, no photographic evidence[would really like to see the V] ;)

DSCF0349b.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Always liked the finish on the JS1200....shiny :D

She is a beaut
    Plays much better than the Vai Jem
    The neck is much thicker than it too.....Satch must have big hands to get around it when the legato is in full flow....and it sounds a fair bit better too.
    Whammy is so easy to use on it.

Very nice. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

The flying V and the les paul are savage...
    Not a big fan of the rest...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

call me a spoiler, but why would anyone want 5 guitars?

nice collection btw

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

DSCF0347b.jpg

i will post the family up maybe tomorrow.

*cries*

What a sweet collection.

:o

BarryCreed wrote: »

I think you're in the wrong forum ;)

nice collection btw

Get outta that garden! :mad: :D

Its for the different...umm...sounds....yeah thats right....sounds! ;)

I've got 4 basses :D, I know others here have mulitple guitars and basses too. It's nice to have a choice of which one to use. Although I have my favourite too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Vim Fuego

There is no why, there just is a hunger for as many guitars as possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

if i was a righty id consider a js greatly, those things are amazin

Joe Robot wrote: »
    Get outta that garden! :mad: :D

Its for the different...umm...sounds....yeah thats right....sounds! ;)

I've got 4 basses :D, I know others here have mulitple guitars and basses too. It's nice to have a choice of which one to use. Although I have my favourite too. :)

Don't forget the different colours, too ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

nice collection btw

Nobody here wants 5 guitar. That's wanting on a very small time level. THIS is what people around these parts aspire to! :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

THIS is what people around these parts aspire to! :D

.......:eek:

Nice collection there dude, the aul' V there is ticklin me GAS gland :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

I like when someone wants something they get it. None of this stupid gas'in for it for ages and talking about it....

Well done to you....

Of course. :) If I had more space I'd have more of the same basses in different colours. I get offered the bloody things for sale so often. :(

Check out these bad boys on Ebay!! Tempting!! :)

Go for it.....you only live once.

I like when someone wants something they get it. None of this stupid gas'in for it for ages and talking about it....

Well done to you....

C'mon now, there's nothin' stupid about gasin' for somethin' for a while.
    Of course, fair play to the dude for his fine collection, but I know I wouldn't be able to afford his collection :p
    I've been gasin' over an Edwards Explorer for the best part of the last 6 months or so, I will get it.............some day.
    There is no shame from suffering from a bit of GAS every now & then :D

Getting more than one of the same thing makes no sense, but getting one of everything does :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

Nobody here wants 5 guitar. That's wanting on a very small time level. THIS is what people around these parts aspire to! :D

Karl - that page just scared the crap out of me.....lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

5 guitars. That's what I have, although for the most part of significantly lower quality!! :D

I nearly play all of them. :rolleyes:

Worst is the fact that I have a 30 year old bass and I never play it at all. :eek: Spose I should sell it, but it looks nice! :D

Bottom line men like having wood! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

Doctor J wrote: »
    Getting more than one of the same thing makes no sense, but getting one of everything does :D

id be more along those lines. i have 2 humbucking guitars, and dont play one of em, at all, (charvel) but i aint gonna sell it, sentimental value, and i prob wouldnt get anything for it anyways, if the price was right i would...
    i eventually need to get a good single coil electric, and thats me done.
    i have a decent enuff Ltd viper 800 with passive humbucker and P90 in it, and i dont gig a lot, so it'll do me till i start gigging regularly again.
    good single coil,good humbuckin axe , and ur set...!!:D

Depends on the level of variation in the style of music you play I reckon.

Me:

Strat - rarely played, for chilis and Jimi
    G&L ASAT Deluxe, standard duncans - main guitar, play pretty much all rock stuff on it, and for drop-d
    Ibanez RGT-42, Duncan Screamin Demon and Jazz - all metal and loudness!
    Epi LP, Duncan JB4 and '59 - tuned down to G 'n R et al.
    Squire strat, Duncan Hotrails - tuned waaaay down for messin around

good single coil,good humbuckin axe , and ur set...!!:D

Why would you assume people would be happy with what you're happy with?

Because lots of people are happy with that.

Lots of people listen to Britney Spears. :)

I don't think it could be possible to get all the sounds you want from two guitars (one single one humbucker) unless you have a very specific sound you use all the time. I think I could be so bold as to speak for the majority of electric guitarists and say you need more than one of each to do it right, or at least to feel satisfied when you're doing it.
    Also depends on experience to a degree, as in when you start out a strat sounds grand playing everything but then you realise that Pantera doesn't come across so good on one........

Lots of people listen to Britney Spears. :)
    Is she a guitar?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

I use three guitars and I get every sound I want. 2 dual humbucker, 1 triple single coil. EMG's are nice like that :)

Don1 wrote: »
    I think I could be so bold as to speak for the majority of electric guitarists and say you need more than one of each to do it right, or at least to feel satisfied when you're doing it.
    I disagree.

Go to any fan sites - fender forums, Gibson forums, ESP forums etc, and you'll find rakes upon rakes of 'gear pics' from guys who have dozens of the same guitar.

Hell, even look at big-name players (not that their opinion matters more than average-joe). I could name more guys that stick to one type of guitar their whole career than I could name guys who alternate between different guitars for different songs. That's just a pain in the ass tbh, this notion that you 'need' a strat for one song and a LP for the next.

Is she a guitar?

I wouldn't like to think what kind of guitar she'd be if she was. :(

Probably a relic - isn't old but looks bet as fukc.

Voodoo it's obviously different for the gigging guitarist as you would no doubt have your own sound achieved by the one type of guitar.

What I was getting at was the bedroom/covers guitarist type..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Ancient1

Hell, yeah.

And don't forget the nuances and all the combinations either.

If you wanted to go into more detail, I'd give you a "Shrimp is the fruit of the sea"-speech which Bubba so masterfully delivered to Forrest Gump, except I'd substitute "shrimp" with "Strat". I'll spare you all the pain though. :p

Did anyone check out those item numbers on ebay????

Check out this Les Paul on ebay 140203544584
    Not even a year old....perfect cond......and nice price.