Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your thoughts - My first go at Macro

• 29-01-2008 3:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭

Good evening folks,
    I haven't had much spare time to be posting but I have been reading the posts. Some of the Dublin Castle shots look great! Could you give me a bit of feedback on this shot please?

legoman.jpg

Thanks!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

It's grand.
    Focus is spot on, though the change in background colour is a little distracting.
    What lens did you use? The DoF looks tighter than usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

Good coluor and sharp. Agree the background is a tad distracting but easily fixed. Is it just chance that this image is coinciding with Lego's 50th Anniversary this week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

I don't really get the dice though... nice image with nice colours :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

Thanks for the comments so far. I used a Sigma 150mm f/2.8 Macro lense. I got her about 3/4 weeks ago but haven't had a chance to try her out. The legoman was lying on my camera for the past 3/4weeks as that was the first thing I wanted to try shoot with the lense, pure coincidence it's the 50th.

There's no story behind the dice, just something I thought the wee lad could lean on. I wasn't sure if the background would be offputting or not.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,265 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Get yourself down to the botanic gardens with a hefty tripod with that lens. Nice shot what was the aperture?

Yea good idea Keith, will head down there soon.

Twas taken at F/2.8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,272 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Ah guys, do you not have a good EXIF reader?

Canon 30D
    Aperture f/2.8
    Shutter speed 1/60
    ISO 100
    Focal Length 150mm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭*Dallas

looks cool! i agree with the other posts.. maybe crop in a bit tighter :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Nice idea. I like these type of shots. Loads of stuff on flickr of little lego men, gummi bears etc up to various things :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭trishw78

It's good I think a tighter crop and a change of background might be better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭quilmore

I'm not the best to talk about cropping
    but I'm a nutter for colour cast
    this is my version of your very nice picture
    legoman.jpg

Thanks for all the comments!

I like what you did quilmore, think it would be good for product shots. I prefer the warmer colours in the original shot though, thanks for playing about :)

EDIT:.... or do I? Damnit man, I don't know which one I prefer now lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭trishw78

Damn it I can't decide which I like better now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

Quite a nice take Kyle. A couple of things to think about - not criticisms as such but just to clarify for yourself. I mean, fine if they were intended but if attempting similar again they may be worth thinking about further.

Firstly, the depth of field is oh rather shallow. Generally i like shallow depth of field but i just wonder would it have been better keeping the dice sharply in focus. It also could be my display (or feck it, maybe my eyes i'm beginning to think) but the figure also 'just' makes it in focus???? I think the overall image gets away with it and again perhaps this was intended?

Next, I agree with you in terms of the warm colours. They are nice. But from a different perspective I think you can do some very nice work with an all white setup / lighting tent (homemade if necessary). I am just left wondering a bit if it would have been better given the vibrant saturated colour of yer man - anyhow, can't answer that one at this stage i guess.

Lastly and again it may have been your intent - there are a number of soft shadows visible in your final image from the figure and the dice (at different angles too). It may be just me, but i really dislike the vast majority of shadows that become captured/visible in an image. I find (again just a personal opinion) that they are just so unflattering to whatever the subject is.

Anyhow, overall a very respectable effort and a nice image produced (in my very humble opinion ;o)

Best of luck.

Thanks very much for the lengthy reply Cat!

What I was hoping to capture was a warm shot of the man with the slightest amount of blur on the dice. The shadows were intentional as the subject was backlit by direct sunlight. I understand where your coming from regarding the shadows, if this was for a proper product I wouldn't have shadows AND would be going for the white look as opposed to the warm/yellow glow.

It also could be my display (or feck it, maybe my eyes i'm beginning to think) but the figure also 'just' makes it in focus???? I think the overall image gets away with it and again perhaps this was intended?
    You could be right about this! I think it's in focus fairly well but then again I'm new to the macro buzz.

Again Thanks for taking the time to comment :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,265 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Get down to the florists and pick some of the nicest flowers they have and shoot them with a piece of white paper in the background at f9 or thereabouts and post them up :)