Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Single greatest moment in an MMO

• 29-01-2008 6:19am
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,560 Mod ✭✭✭✭

This is mainly just to spark discussion about the new MMO Pirates of the Burning Seas (PotBS) but aside from that, its about your favourite moment in any MMO.

Yesterday, I and 12 Society (i.e. guild) members, along with some 34 other members of 4 other Societies staged a well organised and orchestrated effort to put the port of Turtling Bay into contention (attack mode) in the space of 3 hours. Traditionally, this action would take many hours if not days, but due to great organisation this was not necessary in this case :)

Today, 24 hours after we put the port into contention, a port battle took place. Todays port battle was the first 24vs24 player port battle on our server, since launch and I can say it was definitely one to remember.

4 port battle members, myself included, took command of the revitalised Spanish Armada and led the other 20 players to an undisputed victory. Spliting our forces into two lines, we sailed straight at the hardened british battle line, at their weakest point. Piercing their line with only one casualty, the heroic 'Calmdown Cortez', who gladly sacrificed himself to lead his society members and kindred faction members alike, through the british line and ultimately bringing the Spanish nation one step closer to victory.

After piercing the line, we engaged the British with the wind behind us, giving us a definite advantage. Ultimately though, our greatest advantage was when the British line crumbled, leaving many easy targets. Defeating some 8 British captains, while losing 6 of our own, the Spanish line remained solid, focusing damage for maximum affect while somehow maintaining a smooth battle line.

The British valiantly tried to regroup and reform their line but repeated maneuvers through their line left any serious mounting of resistance, difficult at best. Ultimately though, the Brits scattered, with a few stragglers being finished off with no quarter given. A few cowardly devils, however managed to dock at the port. With a numerical advantage due to the great organisation and effective use of their inferior firepower, we brave few launched a co-ordinated assault on the port.

Strategic maneuvering and maintaining a consistant front line, allowing medics and ranged specialists to do their work, allowed us to inch ever closer to victory. With 4 British mercilessly dispatched by overwhelming numbers within the first few minutes, giving rise to cries for medics and mercy blows alike, the brave Spanish forces pressed on, eager to consolidate on their growing numerical advantage and greater usage of strategy.

Ultimately, the brutal Spanish onslaught led to a complete and total victory for the Spanish nation. On this day, the Spanish nation wrestled the port of Turtling Bay back from the British invaders and a great time was had by all :)

Unfortunately, I only have a screenshot of the initial maneuvers by the Spanish forces as in the midst of combat I was much too busy calling targets, covering allies and ensuring killing blows on enemies where possible.

Truly this is a gem, in an ever-growing sea of deplorable MMO's.

Screenshot:
    107et9.th.png

If you are tired of all of the laughable implementations of pvp since Dark Age of Camelot, annoyed by retarded economic systems, frustrated by Development teams that just dont seem to care, irritated by lack of an engrossing PvP system and the resulting rewards that should lie within; then look no further. Pirates of the Burning sea is the game for you!

If you pick it up, come join me and a growing population of Irish players on the Roberts server on the Spanish Faction. I dont say this often folks, and I promise I will jam forks in my eyes again if I ever say it again, but this here is the daddy of MMO pvp games. Imagine forcing Dark Age of Camelot, Pure Awesomeness and Sliced Bread into some kind of nasty PvP related, sex orgy; and you might have some idea of the nasty, engrossing, fun and yet oddly satisfying PvP that awaits you :D

[edit]
    Oh and there is PvE to be had, some of the most complicated, diverse and involving PvE/economic systems ever to be created in the same game as an epic PvP system ;)
    Its actually possible to help the PvP desires of your Society/Faction, through economic/PvE means. Surely this is the King of MMO's.
    [/edit]

Seriously, look it up, I doubt you'll be disappointed ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭AL][EN

Beileve it or not i havent herd of this game until now,

but rest assured the I have the google machine open right now and I'm frantically typing "Pirates of the Burning Seas" into it. I'll have a google at it and see what its like.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

Think I will buy it .. Sounds good! Ive been after a pvp based mmo to fill the void that DAoC left and nothing has come close. So if you are comparing it to the daddy of all PvP MMO's then it has to be worth a shot while I wait for Warhammer. Will come looking for you soon :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I played the Beta, and it was good, but i didnt get to play it for very long, so i didnt really experience alot of it. The combat (boarding, hand to hand) seemed a bit slow at times, but the Ship-to-Ship combat seemed good (even if i sucked at it). Might try it again soon.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,560 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

I was completely put off the game when I first played it. The ship-to-ship combat showed definite promise but the Avatar combat seemed lazy and tacked on.

After taking part in a few Port battles and quite a bit of open sea combat, I can safely say I am in love with this game. Thats not at all including the amount of time I've spent getting my teeth into the economy side of it all.

And definitely, if anyone decides to get it, let me know and come on the Spanish faction on Roberts (its the EU-English server) and I'll hook ye up with our guild. The game improves a helluva lot with a good organised guild :)

[edit]
    Oh and from another Spanish players perspective, a better screenshot...
    I'm the guy in the blue (though it looks green) sails, to the right of the last red sailed guy on the very left hand side of the double line. In the background are the brits, waiting to be ass-raped ;)
    Every ship onscreen is a human controlled ship, vying for blood and glory.
    http://www.burningsea.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=1976&d=1201563946
    [/edit]

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I only got to play the Beta and it was fun, but I wont' be rushing off to join it for a fee.

As for my greatest moment, I'm not sure. I've never really done anything of note. The most memorable moment would of been when I first started Starwars Galaxies. It was the first MMORPG that I'd ever tried (I think :D ) and being a Starwars fan, when I first laid eyes on Mos Eisley and saw all the other players running around, I was stunned. I didn't even bother with the missions fot about 2 days, I just ran around the map giggling. Then I realised that it wasn't very goods and quit, but up to that point it was amazing.

Other than that, there's only a couple of "Wow, look at that" moments, like when I first saw Weathertop in the distance during LOTRO, or when I first realised how f*cking big the map was in Vanguard. I either need to get out more, or play PvP more often :(

And now just mentioning it makes me want to re-install Vanguard even though nobody plays it. Damn, I wish I wasn't so easily swayed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Tr1PoD

I have to agree with Ivan here, I am currently playing Pirates and have not had this much fun in pvp since my old DAOC days.

And again to any who may be initially put off when playing the game for the first time, I tried playing it a few days in a row for a couple of hours in beta and didn't really feel any hook to the game. However at some point I came across the economy tutorial and from that point on I didn't look back.

Ship combat is fantastic and while the Avatar Combat still needs work I have slowely grown to like it.

My favourite MMO moment would be...hmm..lots of Warcraft 'Cooool' moments (Deadmines, seeing Khadgar alive, Uthers quest in WPL, Ironforge, finally getting a flying mount at the weekend etc...). A few in Eve (mostly 'Ohhhh' and 'Ahhhh' moments of graphical bliss). But nothing major stands out, unfortunatly.
    humanji wrote: »
    And now just mentioning it makes me want to re-install Vanguard even though nobody plays it. Damn, I wish I wasn't so easily swayed!
    Vanguard had, imo, so much potential. It had an insanely big map, with loads of content. Good classes (from what i experienced) and a nice looking engine. There was never anyone on the servers though. They recently merged the servers into 3 (2 pve and 1 pvp) so it would probably be alot more filled up now.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

Some good endorsements here - I'm really tempted. I've been looking for a good MMO since quitting WoW. Grinding is not a game at all, hence LOTRO didn't do it for me.

I decided to give EVE a bash and signed up for a trial. Unfortunately I could not play it even once due to NTL and their traffic shaping rubbish.

So my question is, anyone try this game using NTL?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Yeah, and I think they're giving away a month free for returning people, too. It's a pity it didn't take off I did really enjoy it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Greedy

Maximilian wrote: »
    Some good endorsements here - I'm really tempted. I've been looking for a good MMO since quitting WoW. Grinding is not a game at all, hence LOTRO didn't do it for me.

I decided to give EVE a bash and signed up for a trial. Unfortunately I could not play it even once due to NTL and their traffic shaping rubbish.

So my question is, anyone try this game using NTL?

Not working for NTL users....same like Tabula Rasa...

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

I think its time to switch to Smart. Thanks for letting me know Greedy.

You're welcome. I'm sitting here with both games and can't play. The problem is, that we can't change to smart till June. There is no phoneline in this apartment...

Whats the problem with NTL? Do they not work at all, or is it just really slow? And what do NTL have to say? Seems ridiculous in this day and age the a service provider doesnt support online games.

Its traffic shapping/throttling or whatever. I know lots of people have complained to NTL about it but nothing seems to have changed. Its possibly the fault of NTL's partners abroad. Either way its extremely frustrating and I don't think I can wait for them to sort their **** out.

There's about half a dozen games that won't work online now. The irony of course is that my P2P downloads are completely unaffected.

like Maximilian already mentioned its a problem with their p2p throttling. They think Tabula Rasa and EVE packets have something to do with it. Still no news about a solution or about a change for this issue.

You can patch the games and you also see the game servers, but when you connect to them it's not working. This problem is known by NCSoft and they say its a problem by NTL. NTL claim its a problem with the servers of NCSoft....

You can get more information in this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055194346

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 21,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭entropi

Although i probably wont play another MMO for many years as they destroyed my life, i'll add in my favourite moments, all from DAoC:

1. Seeing up close, the single biggest ass raping in the old skool frontiers about 4 years ago by Dem Hibbies while playing my bard. Them taking out around 50 of a 100 person zerg of mids opened my eyes to their skill.

2. Myself leading around 6-8 groups through the frontiers in albion, proceeding to take every keep they had and defending them for many hours was a laugh, and watching the posts on the barrysworld forums flaming us was hilarious.

3. More recently leading 80-120 man battlegroups through the new look Dartmoor as my heretic, killing the baby dragons and the main one, Golestandt about 5 times in one night was an achievement, and winning a coveted rare sword and shield in the lotto at the end made me smile.

Oo an Excal Hibbie :p What was ur char/guild? I played alb but I knew a lot of Irish Hibbies from Galway

• Registered Users Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

this pirates thing sounds interesting...have to say played wow to the death..and got boring

but paying for games a month...meh not as appealing anymore with the 360 taking up so much time.

might have a look

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 21,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭entropi

Playboy wrote: »
    Oo an Excal Hibbie :p What was ur char/guild? I played alb but I knew a lot of Irish Hibbies from Galway

I WAS Speedr,a bard in Ilfirin Arda and some various others i liked to have fun on, i also met some of the lads in galway like Statix and Jimmy who played from clan, good times...:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OSiriS

Hard to pick a singular moment, but it would probably be among these from DAOC:

2 days after the release of New Frontiers, Hibs had Nottmoor, and I was there on my own with my ranger when a mid zerg of about 70-80 attacked it. I managed to single handedly hold them off for 2 1/2 hours before another 2 hibs showed up for the final 1/2 hour of the siege. After the 3 hours siege I got away alive, having made 75,000 RPs, and made god knows how many hundred kills, then the following day I did the same thing against similar sized Alb zerg on Dun da Behn, making another 70,000 RPs and dying once.

Then there were a number of occasions of wiping 100-150 man relic zergs while in my 8man groups while playing my ranger, savage, and eldritch, but I think one of those on my ranger stands out as we got blind sided by the then top mid group on our server while we were killing an Alb zerg, and still managed to kill everyone.

More challenging than the zerg fight's though were beating Insurrection, LARFO, and Free RPs, which was always satisfying.

OSiriS wrote: »
    Hard to pick a singular moment, but it would probably be among these from DAOC:

2 days after the release of New Frontiers, Hibs had Nottmoor, and I was there on my own with my ranger when a mid zerg of about 70-80 attacked it. I managed to single handedly held them off for 2 1/2 hours before another 2 hibs showed up for the final 1/2 hour of the siege. After the 3 hours siege I got away alive, having made 75,000 RPs, and made god knows how many hundred kills, then the following day I did the same thing against similar sized Alb zerg on Dun da Behn, making another 70,000 RPs and dying once.

Then there were a number of occasions of wiping 100-150 man relic zergs while in my 8man groups while playing my ranger, savage, and eldritch, but I think one of those on my ranger stands out as we got blind sided by the then top mid group on our server while we were killing an Alb zerg, and still managed to kill everyone.

More challenging than the zerg fight's though were beaing Insurrection, LARFO, and Free RPs, which was always satisfying.

US Servers?

I WAS Speedr,a bard in Ilfirin Arda and some various others i liked to have fun on, i also met some of the lads in galway like Statix and Jimmy who played from clan, good times...:)

Ah Ifrin Arda .. All the Galway lads were in that guild at one stage or another. I know them all really well! Used to play a Merc called Taen among other alts .. Was in Guardians of Light for years but finished out my playing time in Black Falcons when all the older guys quit after we unsuccessfully migrated to WoW.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OSiriS

The US servers, yes.

I downloaded the 5 gigs from Direct2download and they wont give me the activation code :( Aparrently this is an ongoing issue with them, i have to make a claim with my credit card company :(