Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Places to eat in Vegas

• 28-01-2008 8:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭

Hey all,

I'm going to vegas with a couple of the lads for 5 nights in march and i was just wondering for decent places to eat.

we're staying in the mgm and for obvious enough reasons we dont wanna spend a packet on food but not crappy quality either,

any suggestions would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

ok lunch buffets (11.30am-4pm) at orleans and gold coast cost approx $7.50-$8.50

Of the buffets i have gone to imo other very reasonable priced good quality buffets in las vegas are at the rio hotel (biggest selection in vegas), harrahs, ballys (excellent setting), flamingo and the golden nugget (which is downtown about 3-4 miles from the Strip). There are $5 off per person coupons on all the buffets i mentioned in this paragraph, some are given on the street (so keep an eye out, others are available in magazines in your room)

Nearly every hotel has a buffet but the price increases per quality of hotel so Wynn and Bellagio buffet will offer the best quality food at the highest prices

here is a ranking of vegas buffets, paris and planet hollywood get the highest ranking but are two of the most expensive http://www.ratelasvegas.com/buffets/buffetrank.html

as for other dining options, there is a $4.95 steak dinner available at Ellis Island (located BEHIND the Paris hotel just off strip), you have to ask for it personally because the special is not on any menu http://www.ellisislandcasino.com/

The california hotel downtown has a $6.99 prime rib dinner (3-4 course) at its market street cafe (imo best value in vegas, the prime rib is better quality than some i have paid $20+ dollars for) http://www.thecal.com/display.cfm?id=1039

Sister hotels The Orleans and Gold Coast offer top dining at very low prices in their 24 hour restaurants, both also offer $1.25 hotdogs at their sportbooks.

BTW beer is $1 a bottle at the bars in both O'Sheas casino and Casino Royale (both are located across the road from Caesars Palace in centre strip)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

thats the finest,

thanks a million.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Many of the larger casinos offer subsidised meals, free prawn cocktails, and drinks just as a sweetner to get you in the door :) I was there in 1992 and I dont think iot has changed much since then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,837 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

The sahara ha a 'Nascar' cafe that does great food in great portions at great prices. We got full meals for 5 for $90. It is waaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyy down the opposite end of the strip though, down towards the stratosphere so will probably be too far out of your way. On the plus side though, the Sahara has a pretty cool (if over way too quickly) roller-coaster that might intice you down once on your trip. There is an IHOP just across the road from it too, so if you like pancakes is a nice stop off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

There's a buffet in the MGM! It's class. For $38, it all you can eat, Alaskan king crab, mongolian beef, load of different dishes from around the world. Top quality food. I was there in last June and over the New Year and ate there most nights!

Many of the larger casinos offer subsidised meals, free prawn cocktails, and drinks just as a sweetner to get you in the door :) I was there in 1992 and I dont think iot has changed much since then!

since 1992 the las vegas strip has changed beyond all recognition. Gone are the subsidised meals to be replaced by the best gourmet restaurants in america, Tao at the venetian makes more money than any other restaurant in the states. The big hotels on the strip e.g. bellagio, wynn, venetian, mandalay bay focus on the rich 20 something from asia, LA etc, you won't find free prawn cocktails anymore

there is a 99 cent prawn cocktail available at one of the slightly run-down hotels located downtown far away from the strip

las vegas especially the strip has become an expensive place to visit over the last 10 years or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭lost_for_words

Bally's have a better quality buffet than most hotels there I found and the staff are really nice rather than herding you round.

There is a reasonable chain style steakhouse called 'Outback Steakhouse' opposite Treasure Island which I find great when you are stuck. I've eaten in a few of those around the States and they are always reliable and definitely a nice break from the buffet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Ms Inquisitive

Opposite the MGM is New York New York and we found a gorgeous Irish bar there where the food was terrific! I know it's such a stereotype to hit the Irish bar but the food was brilliant, can't recommend the cod and chips enough!

Another restaurant which I loved was the Steakhouse at Hotel Paris. You may have to wait 30 minutes to get an outdoor table but definitely do as it's across from the Bellagio Fountains, no better way to eat your dessert than watching that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

Opposite the MGM is New York New York and we found a gorgeous Irish bar there where the food was terrific!

Ah yes, Gallaghers steakhouse! Some great food can be found in there if you're hungry, in particular, the obviuos choice of steak! If you're not so hungry, there's the Italian beside it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Chet T16

Strip Steak betwen the luxor and mandalay bay is very very nice if a bit on the pricey side.

Theres a lovely restaurant in the venetian but i can't for the life of me think what its name is, i'll google it now
    EDIT: Hmm, none of the ones on the venetian site are ringing any bells

Quite hard to find bad food tbh, just bad prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Opposite the MGM is New York New York and we found a gorgeous Irish bar there where the food was terrific! I know it's such a stereotype to hit the Irish bar but the food was brilliant, can't recommend the cod and chips enough!
    flanzer wrote: »
    Ah yes, Gallaghers steakhouse! Some great food can be found in there if you're hungry, in particular, the obviuos choice of steak! If you're not so hungry, there's the Italian beside it!

I thought the Irish bar in New York, New York was called Nine Fine Irishmen? That's where I drank and ate there anyway.

Get the buffet in Excalibor. Cost me 18 bucks for all you can eat and I couldn't move for two hours after.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I thought the Irish bar in New York, New York was called Nine Fine Irishmen? That's where I drank and ate there anyway.

Get the buffet in Excalibor. Cost me 18 bucks for all you can eat and I couldn't move for two hours after.

yeah nine fine irishmen is the irish bar located on the strip frontage, Gallagher's Steakhouse is a restaurant inside the hotel, both are on the expensive side with Gallaghers more so, if you want to go to a steakhouse the one at circus circus has been voted the best for many years and is also the cheapest (still expensive but you can pay $100+ for steak in some vegas steakhouses)

on the subject of excalibur buffet i would avoid at all costs along with tropicana buffet, imperial palace buffet, circus circus buffet, riveria buffet and sahara buffet; they are all awful and i have tried them all except imperial palace and consistently those six are ranked the worst buffets on the strip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

The Breakfast buffet in the MGM Grand is the best ive ever eaten.

Dont go elsewhere :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭sharkDawg

Would have to recommend the buffet in the Bellagio myself, it was around $35 each, as much as you can eat, food was ridiculously good, I'm drooling thinking about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭BaRcOe

Buffets are deffo the way to go!

Stayed in Treasure island. You cant beat breakfast buffet. All you can eat for around 12-15$. MMMmmmm infinite egg

Mc Donalds over there is pretty good. They do mcdonalds chips, burgers chicken nuggets. No but seriously you get refills on your drinks for free, a million nuggets for the same price as 6 wud be over here and by jaysus are the meals big!

Vegas is uncomfortably hot most of the time. Stay indoors!!
    and gamble everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

The breakfast buffet in the Bellagio is amazing. $15 + tax and it's worth every cent! Also there is a great restaurant called Fix in Bellagio and I can honestly say I have not had a nicer steak anywhere else (and I eat a LOT of fillet steak). It is a bit expensive though but it's not too expensive (like the prices are like normal Irish prices for fillet steak, I guess that's dear though when it's in the US).

Prime steakhouse is also meant to be very good in Bellagio but it was fully booked when we were over there. It's meant to be amazing though n was really disappointed when I couldn't get a reservation!

if you really want to splash out in vegas you can try either one of these Mobil 5 star rated restaurants; there are only 17 Mobil 5 star restaurants in the whole of the United States

Alex (Wynn Las Vegas)

Joel Robuchon at the Mansion (MGM Grand)

Restaurants in vegas with a four star Mobil ranking, there are only 140 restaurants in USA and Canada with a Mobil four star ranking and 6 are in vegas.

Aureole (Mandalay Bay)

Bradley Ogden (Caesars Palace)

Michael Mina (Bellagio)

Mix Restaurant (Mandalay Bay)

Picasso (Bellagio)

Restaurant Guy Savoy (Caesars Palace)