Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Butterfly Effect

• 28-01-2008 12:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23

just after watching this on film4 now.. but wat the **** has happened? i remember renting it on dvd. im almost certain i remember the movie ended with evan treborn strangling himself in the womb of his mother.. but in the movie tonight he survives by just telling yer wan to move away.. have i lost my mind? i had a quick look through imdb.com and they say that the only alternate ending was where they turn around and talk at the end..:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭wba88

Film is quality. I noticed the same, so you are not on your own.

Wikipedia Link
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Butterfly_Effect
    The ending of the film differs at the fifth timeline. In this version, Evan finds a film of his mother giving birth. He goes "into" the video, and kills himself in the womb by strangling himself with his umbilical cord, so that he will not interfere in anyone else's life again. This results in a stillbirth, and implies that the other stillbirths his mother experienced were similar children with the same curse and ability who grew up and created alternate timelines as well, and eventually came to the same conclusion that Evan did. Writer/directors Eric Bress and J. Mackye Gruber state in the film commentary that this was their original intention for the finale, as it emphasized Evan's choice of self-sacrifice for those he loves more than the original theatrical version. After Evan kills himself, the other people whose lives were originally mutilated by grief are briefly shown to be living their lives a bit happier (Evan's mother had told him that she was pregnant twice before him and that they were both stillbirths). In the last scene, a voiceover of his mother says that she was pregnant three times before. This is because Evan's mother is shown having a new child - a girl. She is saying to her new child, "before you I was pregnant three times", meaning that Evan is the third stillbirth. Kayleigh and Tommy go to live with their mother and lead a good life. They both graduate from college. Kayleigh gets married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

It's a good thing you saw the proper ending first time OP. Afaik, the version that was in cinemas had the cop-out ending.

Really decent film imo, very under-rated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭wba88

It's a good thing you saw the proper ending first time OP. Afaik, the version that was in cinemas had the cop-out ending.

Really decent film imo, very under-rated.

I agree very under-rated

here is the original ending for anyone wondering what we are talking about
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MW7DQ1bSjFM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 commercegrad07

ya you're dead right.. that ending tonight was absolute bull.. we were watchin it here, a few people hadnt seen it and as i was preparing them for the bleak ending, bam, its disney movie time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Thought the director's cut ending was fecking stupid... prefered the theatrical ending but I reckon I was the only one!

The movie is distinctly average. I'd be in the opinion that it's over-rated - it's got quite a cult following who claim it's an amazing film. It's not - it's a decent watch but plenty of hammy acting, occasionally script and un-intentionally hilarious scenes (the scene waking up with his loss of limbs... oh, how I laughed!) does not a good film make!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

I remember reading reviews for this when it came out and it seemed that all the reviews written by women said it was good because it had Kutcher in it, while the ones written by men said it was good despite having Kutcher in it. :D

Has any seen the sequel? Is it any use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

everyone i know who saw that film loved it,

i watched it about 7 times, saw all the endings,
    thought the
    "i'll kill your parents ending" made more sense then a baby atempting suicide ending

I remember reading reviews for this when it came out and it seemed that all the reviews written by women said it was good because it had Kutcher in it, while the ones written by men said it was good despite having Kutcher in it. :D

Has any seen the sequel? Is it any use?

dont watch the sequel, original film took about 10 years to make, and they put a lot of thought into it, sequal has the same name and is a quick, make us more money attempt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I agree with basquille. I thought it was an enjoyable movie, not an amazing one. But some people are movie snobs and won't allow themselves enjoy a movie if it's not amazing.