Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wild Boar

• 27-01-2008 10:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭

Is there such a thing as wild boar in the free state? Have heard loads of rumours but has anybody ever seen one for real or any recorded shootings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

the free state
    Where is this "free state" you speak of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭fathersymes

I haven't heard of Wild Boar here but have heard rumours of Roe Deer down around Cork, apparently someone has released a few breeding pairs, only hearsay though. Wild Boar are however rapidly colonising parts of Southern England, escapees from farms gone feral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

the_syco wrote: »
    Where is this "free state" you speak of?

I was wondering the same thing...

Be no harm to have a few of them over here, tasty they are :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 manbearpig

I heard some lad from coillte was on today fm talking about reports of a large black beast roaming the tipperary area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

a friend from south Armagh calls us "free state puppets" sure God love em.
    i doubt there are any roe deer in Cork,never heard of any hound pack coming across any.
    i don't think wild boar would last ten minutes in Ireland,we love bacon too much:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

manbearpig wrote: »
    I heard some lad from coillte was on today fm talking about reports of a large black beast roaming the tipperary area

was it a dog?

or a native?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭John Griffin

Muntjac deer and wild boar confirmed living wild in Wicklow in the last year. There was also a release of wild boar in Leitrim a while back, not sure how they're doing.
    Anybody with any info on any unusal animal sightings please PM me. Very interested in hearing about Roe deer, Muntjac, chinese water deer, Wild Boar and Big cats!

Muntjac deer and wild boar confirmed living wild in Wicklow in the last year. There was also a release of wild boar in Leitrim a while back, not sure how they're doing.

Just wondering where this information is coming from? Have you seen them yourself?

I have photographed a Muntjac shot by a gamekeeper and i have video footage of the wild boar from a trusted source. I am a also a Ranger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

Any chance you could throw the image up on photobucket or similar and maybe put the video on youtube, I imagine a lot of people here would be interested in seeing them myself included.

This is the photo of the Muntjac, have the video on my phone, can't get it on my computer. Shot near Avoca, Co Wicklow.
    Link to here, if pic doesn't show on this post.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/8711210@N03/2232599617/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Mac Tire

pretty crabbit looking wee yoke!!!
    We will have time how long it takes them to get up here to donegal :)

The muntjac was presumably brought in from the UK by someone attempting to introduce them or would he maybe be an escapee from someone keeping them for ornamental reasons.

Personally if I were out stalking and stumbled across a Roe/Muntjac or boar I'd leave them alone to colonise a little bit although on second thoughts they maybe better culled to prevent messing up the ecosystem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Wild boar might be extinct in Ireland but habitat and climate wise it definitly wouldn't be out of place. Tillage farmers and vegetable producers won't love them though. Very destructive eating machine... . From a hunters point of view it'd be fantastic though, magnificent animal and a delight on the table. Needs a hard hitting round to go down as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 manbearpig

maglite wrote: »
    was it a dog?

or a native?
    I'm not sure what is was but I have heard there has been a release of boar in the killkenny area which wouldn't be too far from the reported sightings of a big black animal with a long tail!!! sounds like boar to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

What sort of round do they take? .308 win or upwards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭Kramer

What sort of round do they take? .308 win or upwards?

Generally, 30-06 or shotgun slugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,901 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

do the beretta express rifles take 30-06?
    Seam to remember them being for boar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Kramer wrote: »
    Generally, 30-06 or shotgun slugs.

I dunno if I'd want to be in shotgun range of the feckers. :p

I've shot alot of Boar in Germany, I've used various different calibers, 30-06, 8x68s, .338, 7mm, .416 rigby! Basically the law in Germany is anything from 6.5mm is fine. I'll be using my .25-06 next time i go. So most of our normal Deer hunting rifles will be fine. It'll be a while before people will be hunting boar here, it'll take a while for them to become established. There's going to be alot of very pissed off farmers when they do become established, they can do savage damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Paddy Diver

have heard rumours of Roe Deer down around Cork

Yes I have also heard about deer in Cork, not too far form the city either. But this is from a third party so the info might not be accurate. As reguard to what type of deer I do not know. Apparently a elder women walked into her kicthen to see two deer in her back garden.

Ian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

The old lad used a Browning BAR, battue version, in .300Win Mag on driven boar. Before that an A5 with Brenneke slugs. That BAR was some fine rifle. I only fired it a couple of times since he sold it when I was only 13 or 14.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

"Free State" - cop on !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭sixpointfive

?????? what you talking about?

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

?????? what you talking about?

I think he was referring to the reference to the "free state" in the original post. Some people get tetchy when others use that phrase as it was the form this country took as a dominion of the UK between 1922 and 1937.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭sixpointfive

"some people" need to get over themselves:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

"some people" need to get over themselves:confused:

get over what?You made a mistake on the name!Its the Republic.Whether intentional or not build a bridge....