Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alcoholic Housemate

• 27-01-2008 1:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Not sure if this is a PI as such, but really wanted to go unreg for this.

I have this housemate. I refer to him as a "weekend alcoholic" because he drinks all weekend, every weekend i.e. he's finished work at 1 on a friday, straight on the drink til Sunday night. He'd even get up early on Saturday and Sunday to drink. And he doesn't know when to stop either.

One morning my girlfriend came by my place at midday, and he was hammered. I've been living in this house since June and it's been the same thing weekend-in, weekend-out. Before anyone says, "why don't you move?" This house is ideal, I've a huge bedroom for relatively cheap and its in a fantastic location. It wouldn't be too bad if he was quiet, but every Friday and Saturday, he brings people back, plays the same crap LOUD music LOUDLY and keeps me (and our new house mate) awake. I work weekday mornings, so I need my sleep.

I've tried telling him politely in person, over txts, even putting notes up asking him not to play loud music, even explaining in a long winded letter that it was unfair to me as I don't do it to him.

Also, I don't know about getting in contact with the landlord because.. the landlord also is this lads parents. I've actually contemplated phoning them, because I am not his friend. I am their tennant. And as such, I must be subject to some rights with regards this, right?

Like I've said, I've tried being polite, I've tried notes, I've tried txts, I've tried banging.. I've tried them all and he keeps doing it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Landlords not an option here. People do not take well to the smallest critiscisms of their children. Telling them their son is an alcoholic is pretty much sending them a formal letter requesting they kick you out & keep your deposit.

I'm sure he feels like he owns the place. So I reckon you should way up the pros & cons & decide whether you wanna stay there or not.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

OP, i'd be very cautious about approaching the landlord. It could go one of two ways: A: They tell their son to cop the fcuk on and sort himself out, or B: you're out on your ear.

Do you know if the son pays rent? If it's a case that his rents own the house and he's living there for free, then it's as good as his house and he'll pretty much do whatever he wants in it, knowing he's 'above the law'.

Maybe talk to your other housemate, if both of you go to his parents together, they may take it better. It would also depend on whether or not they 'need' the rental income from the house. If it's a sort of casual thing, they'd probably be quick to boot ye out, but if it's a needed source of income, they'd be more likely to try and sort things out rather than potentially lose two tennants. Like I said, talk to the other housemate, and see what he/she thinks. If you go to the parents, be prepared for the fact that they may kick you out, so it would be a good idea to have another few places looked at in case you have to move out fast.

I know you said you don't want to move out, but realistically how much longer can you put up with this behaviour? Sooner or later it's gonna start affecting your work, your moods, etc and I'm sure your gf isn't thrilled about having this clown in the house when she comes over to see you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭CamillaRhodes

Sorry to be pessimistic, but I think you should consider moving too, for the sake of your sanity.

I had a similar situation once, great house, cheap, good location - nightmare housemates who just never tired of weekend-long parties (which I didn't find particularly compelled to join). Ended up driving me really mental and suddenly the pros of the house didn't seem quite as good in comparison. Moved out to a great place where I had to pay more rent but got to sleep at weekends etc. A nice bedroom is no use if you can't enjoy sleeping in it!

Alternatively, if you really really really don't want to move, and you've exhausted all means to try to convince this guy to be more considerate, maybe you could spend more weekends at your girlfriend's place?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

sorry dude, but in reality (in my experience) it comes down to making this choice: Is the nice room worth the hassle? It's not a case of having both. That's life I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

Would revenge be an option?

Just book a week off work, go on the session, and show him what he's putting you through - play your music as loud as you can while he's asleep

or

Try ringing the guardai when he has the music blaring - as an annoyed neighbour

If you're gonna move out anyway, you might as well give this tosspot what he deserves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I really have considered revenge; he'd usually be up 7-ish weekdays, but I honestly don't think it's in me to do it.

One idea I've had is to play the same crap music (usually "Up The 'Ra" [yes, he's one of those] kind of music) on his own stereo up full blast. But like I said, I severely doubt that I can do this.
    I work weekday mornings, so I need my sleep.
    Just to correct myself on that, I work weekend mornings, and am in college weekdays, so I rarely get any sort of break, so my sleep is really important to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I think the key to this is to make a complaint in a way that the parents can't ignore,and can't be traced back to you. As stated above perhaps gettings the gardai involkved mightn't be a bad idea, ring them as a concerned neighbour etc etc, then give them the landlord's (parents) number. Get the gardai to contact the landlord and they will have to take action... call the gardai every time this guy acts the bollox, every time the music gets above a certain decibel level, repeat complaints get treated very seriously....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

its his house (his da's house) so just leave or stay
    don't mind the bhoys whith their begrudgery yer either staying or yer niot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Is he drinking for any particular reason? Maybe you'll get lucky enough to sort him out of depression. If not though he just likes to party and be a tit - in which case your screwed.

totally agree with gardai response: go to sleep, then make the call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

I really have considered revenge; he'd usually be up 7-ish weekdays, but I honestly don't think it's in me to do it.

One idea I've had is to play the same crap music (usually "Up The 'Ra" [yes, he's one of those] kind of music) on his own stereo up full blast. But like I said, I severely doubt that I can do this.

Just to correct myself on that, I work weekend mornings, and am in college weekdays, so I rarely get any sort of break, so my sleep is really important to me.

Spice Girls would probably be a lot more effective

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Call the gardai on him every weekend as a complaining neighbour. Eventually the parents will have to get involved.

Other than that you're probably going to have to move. Even if the parents are agreeable when you go to them with this problem, thy're hardly going to kick him out. So you'll probably just wind up with a pissed off housemate who got a rap on the knuckles off mammy and daddy and now has it in for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭CrazyNoob

The easiest way is to have a direct but friendy talk to him and see what he says or is thinking and how you guys get a solution.