Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone gotten a licence recently.

• 26-01-2008 7:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭

Hi

My application left the garda station over two months ago and still no word. Have any licences been issued lately or am I just stuck in a big logjam.

I know it's over Christmas but even Civil Servants don't get that many Christmas parties. (Especially since we have to pay for our own!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭thehair

dresden8 wrote: »
    Hi

My application left the garda station over two months ago and still no word. Have any licences been issued lately or am I just stuck in a big logjam.

I know it's over Christmas but even Civil Servants don't get that many Christmas parties. (Especially since we have to pay for our own!)

I HAVE GO AND TALK TO THE GARDE IN CHARGE OF FIREARMS
    I WILL HAVE MINE IN MY HAND BEFORD 16 /2/2008:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭newby.204

why are you shouting??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

thehair wrote: »
    I HAVE GO AND TALK TO THE GARDE IN CHARGE OF FIREARMS
    I WILL HAVE MINE IN MY HAND BEFORD 16 /2/2008:D
    thehair

I know you are new here, so maybe in your rush to make new friends, you forgot to read the charter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭macnas

I got a new shotgun license yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

got mine in a week or so for the rifle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

Must be just me so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

dresden8 wrote: »
    Must be just me so.

dont be panickin just yet- a mate of mine waited 10 weeks on a 243 licence recently......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

Yeah, it's only a .22. Not panicking, just have a pain in me proverbials

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭pestshooter7

dont be panickin just yet- a mate of mine waited 10 weeks on a 243 licence recently......

Waited three months for my CZ .22 licence!!
    and only 5 weeks for a .223!!
    So IMO its just luck off the draw!!:):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭thehair

rrpc wrote: »
    thehair

I know you are new here, so maybe in your rush to make new friends, you forgot to read the charter?

sorry everbody i had caps lock on my keyboard
    i am not shouting at anybody
    i have read the charter
    thank you steve:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭peter-pantslez

i got my pistol licence the week before christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

Hi lads, I applied for a cert for a Sig Sauer p226 half way through June and I'm still waiting.:mad:

I called into the station after around six or seven weeks and my local FAO was on leave.

I met another Sergeant who was relieving him, he told me that the cert had been through his office in the Angle sea St Station and was after being sent to Dublin.:confused:

Anyone in the Cork area apply for a pistol cert lately?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭harly1516

YE HAAA

harly1516 wrote: »
    YE HAAA

how did you get on?

what was the cert for?

How much ammo did you get on it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Scoogles

I know, from an indepth conversation with a firearms officer who is a friend, that any rifle application must also go to the local detective branch who have to state if there are any dissident links to the applicant, this is also the case with pistols etc, but shotguns don't have to take that action, this is said to add a week or so to the length of the wait,

there can also be a delay if the crime prevention officer has to visit the home. Also if you are getting a pistol the local station of the range has to be written to as well to make the range is authorised and that you are a member. that could be another week or so.

If you are applying for either a pistol/revolver/rifle that nearly 2-3weeks added to the application time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Put in for a CZ .223 though the Kilkenny City station.
    The local FO, in Kilkenny (in my case) will first send a letter to the local Garda at Urlingford, Co. Kilkenny (in my case) , where the dealer is to confirm the guns details. So there's a hold up right off.
    I'm waiting 5 weeks now and the FO told me last week she had not got the info back from the dealers local Garda yet.
    It's all just a pain in the butt all this waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

It's nice to know there's a bit of genuine homework being done about the applicants and that the paperwork is not just thrown aside after a standard little sniff through PULSE. I think most of us expected and kind of knew this but it's nice to get it from the horses' mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭christyler

just got my licence for my Sig 226 last week, fermoy area

christyler wrote: »
    just got my licence for my Sig 226 last week, fermoy area

hi Chris, when did you apply for the cert?

I applied for a cert for a p226 9mm in the middle of july, I was told its after being granted, but I still have'nt recieved it yet:mad:

What club are you with, if you don't mind me asking?

hi murp226,

i am with the fermoy club, i would think you should get your cert soon, it seems to take a little longer with pistols.

christyler wrote: »
    hi murp226,

i am with the fermoy club, i would think you should get your cert soon, it seems to take a little longer with pistols.

Yeah tell me about it, do you remember what date you applied at all?

I thought the Fermoy club was only smallbore?

Where did you buy the Sig, is it a 226r with the rail?

Sorry about all the questions:o, I can't wait to get mine:(

Oh yeah, congratulations and happy shooting!

Murph226,

dont remember the exact date, had to do an interview with the local superintendant, then a visit from the CPO. It all happened very quickly then.

fermoy is up to 9mm

i think all sig 226's come with the rail now ?

even if you could remember the month, it would be a great help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

Just got my licence for beretta 9mm. Took 16 months despite having three firearms already, including .308

sfakiaman wrote: »
    Just got my licence for beretta 9mm. Took 16 months despite having three firearms already, including .308

congratulations Sfakiaman, happy shooting!

16 months is a disgrace though:eek:

i'm waiting 4 months now:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Scoogles wrote: »
    I know, from an indepth conversation with a firearms officer who is a friend, that any rifle application must also go to the local detective branch who have to state if there are any dissident links to the applicant, this is also the case with pistols etc, but shotguns don't have to take that action, this is said to add a week or so to the length of the wait,

Are they still pulling this illegal,contary to all firearms legislation pre condition of not granting a cert nonsense???
    Somone please tell the Gardai that the North trouble more or less finished up a decade ago!:rolleyes: And while they are about it inform them that terrorists/criminals are generally not in the habit of applying for firearms certificates!!:(:rolleyes::rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

clivej wrote: »
    Put in for a CZ .223 though the Kilkenny City station.
    The local FO, in Kilkenny (in my case) will first send a letter to the local Garda at Urlingford, Co. Kilkenny (in my case) , where the dealer is to confirm the guns details. So there's a hold up right off.
    I'm waiting 5 weeks now and the FO told me last week she had not got the info back from the dealers local Garda yet.
    It's all just a pain in the butt all this waiting.

I was talking to the FO last week and she told me that my application was STILL up in the Supers office. It's not like they have to check me over as I already have license's for a shotgun and 22 rl rifle.

Must be nearly 12 weeks now.

What's a man to do??????????????