Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bruce Betting - prices

• 24-01-2008 10:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭

Folks,

Would anyone know where Bruce get their horse racing prices from please? I dont think they 'odds compile' as such and that the prices they use are supplied by a seperate firm. Jameson Racing up until today got their prices from the same source.

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭chancer_007

think prices are supplied by byrne bookmakers just off leeson st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Independent Bookmakers are supplied by either Terry Rodgers or David Byrne and most of the chain shops - Powers, Boyles, Ladbrokes do their own prices themselves. I'd imagine that with the number of shops Bruce's have that they do them themselves. Having said that, iirc Bruces can be had as a franchise too, similar to McDonalds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

AFAIK, Bruce do price up their own, but they also provide to independants, I do know (for fact) Pat Toolan gets his prices off Bruce other than that i cant comment. The nature of the business is to copy everyone else.
    Lets say Ladbrkes are first up with prices (stop laughing at the back) most books are more likely to price up similar maybe adding/taking away a point here and there. Once one firm go out on a limb the rest follow; put it down to laziness if you want!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭AdamantApproach

Bruce compile their own odds and supply a number of other independents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭punchestown

Bruce compile their own odds and supply a number of other independents.

Thanks lads, so would anybody know who prices up their match bets (horse racing specials - one horse to finish ahead of another) and who takes the feed off them? I know Jameson did but they have switched to Terry Rogers who doesnt.

Thanks again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 slowlyin2stride

U must be joking if u think that Brruce compile their own.

Take a look at Leopardstown tomorrow and then compare the differences with PP who are up now on a number of races.

Same goes for all other firms in morning time - who is always first up across odds comparison sites at 10am??

PP again.

Lads are never there, Boyles are never there, Hills are never there, Bet 365 are never there. Bruces aren't on the net but I can assure u there are no prices available from 10am. Why? Because they all need to have a good look at PP and go a point above or below their price, or a lot of the time just plaigarise them.

This is not to say that PP are always right - far from it. But to suggest otherwise is pure fiction.

Of course you yourself have compiled a large dossier of evidence to back up this claim and pronounce it as fact?

Prove me wrong Cson - supply some prices from any of the afore mentioned others that differ markedly to PP. I'd like to be proved wrong but I don't think I will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭wb

As far as I can see (anecdotally), the exchanges are driving nearly all of the prices nowadays.

Prove me wrong Cson - supply some prices from any of the afore mentioned others that differ markedly to PP. I'd like to be proved wrong but I don't think I will be.

Hey, the burden of proof is on you. Don't make claims and state them as facts without proof. And its up to you to provide the proof, not me, believe it or not.

Did u have too much to drink last nite or are u naturally touched?

I provided the proof in my initial post that PP are first up on every race, and that the others just take their lead. I said I was happy to be proved wrong.

How can I prove that Bruce, Boyles etc are up before them if there are no prices up on their site? I would gladly put them up if they were there.

As I said prove me wrong - how can I prove that the others compile if there's no prices available. If you're so sure that they compile, put up what prices they have available at 10am u simpleton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

As I said prove me wrong - how can I prove that the others compile if there's no prices available. If you're so sure that they compile, put up what prices they have available at 10am u simpleton.

Relax, it's a discussion site, people discuss things and tend to have different opinions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Did u have too much to drink last nite or are u naturally touched?

I provided the proof in my initial post that PP are first up on every race, and that the others just take their lead. I said I was happy to be proved wrong.

How can I prove that Bruce, Boyles etc are up before them if there are no prices up on their site? I would gladly put them up if they were there.

Take a break for a while. Have a kit-kat, whatever......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭knighted

.Same goes for all other firms in morning time - who is always first up across odds comparison sites at 10am??

odds comparison sites yes -but that doesnt mean that the other firms dont price up till they see paddy power it just means that paddy power might have a deal to appear first on the likes of oddschecker -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

Bruces supply Mulhollands with Prices also, and these come from Terry Rogers, I was lead to believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 bruceinfo

Hi - I am a member of the Bruce Family, and am active in running the business. We have several lads working in our head office that work very hard every morning in pricing up the horses. Up until recently Bruce Betting were the only bookmakers pricing almost every race every day.... Others have now followed!! We supply our prices to many Independent bookmakers in Ireland. I can also state as FACT that many of our prices are compiled prior to 10am in the mornings. We concentrate on our shops, and getting prices on our screens in our shops as early as possible. Many races are priced and on the screens before our shops open at 10am. The amount of races priced that early depend on several factors including the amount of meetings on that day, information available regarding non-runners, and of course the form our 'odds-compilers' are in!!!!! We do of course monitor the markets very closely too!!! But we pride ourselves in having the best prices available in the Irish Market. I would suggest - for those of you that monitor the prices between bookmakers - watch whose prices are following whose a little more closely!!!! I hope this answers your questions. Your specific question relating to our 'match bets' has caught my attention a little - so I will give our compilers a call in the morning!! :rolleyes:

bruceinfo wrote: »
    Hi - I am a member of the Bruce Family, and am active in running the business. We have several lads working in our head office that work very hard every morning in pricing up the horses. Up until recently Bruce Betting were the only bookmakers pricing almost every race every day.... Others have now followed!! We supply our prices to many Independent bookmakers in Ireland. I can also state as FACT that many of our prices are compiled prior to 10am in the mornings. We concentrate on our shops, and getting prices on our screens in our shops as early as possible. Many races are priced and on the screens before our shops open at 10am. The amount of races priced that early depend on several factors including the amount of meetings on that day, information available regarding non-runners, and of course the form our 'odds-compilers' are in!!!!! We do of course monitor the markets very closely too!!! But we pride ourselves in having the best prices available in the Irish Market. I would suggest - for those of you that monitor the prices between bookmakers - watch whose prices are following whose a little more closely!!!! I hope this answers your questions. Your specific question relating to our 'match bets' has caught my attention a little - so I will give our compilers a call in the morning!! :rolleyes:

Thanks for coming on here to clarify a few issues raised. I hope no offence was taken from the suggestion that Bruce Betting take their prices from outside sources (particularly Byrne Bookmakers, a 2 shop operation supplying Bruce a 54 shop outfit)
    I would greatly appreciate a response in relation to the question of Match Bets.
    On a further issue, what was the outcome of the dodgy 50k plus snooker bet from a few years back?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

Thanks for coming on here to clarify a few issues raised. I hope no offence was taken from the suggestion that Bruce Betting take their prices from outside sources (particularly Byrne Bookmakers, a 2 shop operation supplying Bruce a 54 shop outfit)
    I would greatly appreciate a response in relation to the question of Match Bets.
    On a further issue, what was the outcome of the dodgy 50k plus snooker bet from a few years back?

thanks

The dodgy snooker bet was not honoured by certain bookmakers, Celtic and Bruce I believe, but was allowed run by Powers.
    Happily for Powers, the bets were doubled up with BJK for the World Hurdle and Teofilo for the Derby.
    Bet Kaput.

Fair play to the Bruce guy for posting. Like I said, Bruce compile their own stuff. It is they, and not Terry Rogers, who supply Mulhollands. A quick glance at the 'price changes' screen will tell you this. Although Muls do sometimes cut one just because Powers have done so.

Also, this forum seems to be full of very clueless people and those with some modicum of knowledge on affairs of the turf would be better served over on the Betfair Irish Sports forum.

[QUOTE=

Also, this forum seems to be full of very clueless people and those with some modicum of knowledge on affairs of the turf would be better served over on the Betfair Irish Sports forum.[/QUOTE]

And you would find me there if I wasnt banned for questioning the size of bet taken by a certain lady bookmaker from the south of Ireland!

Did you not post recently? I seem to recall the bet involving tears, Moscow Flyer, and a solicitor's letter?

My username on Betfair differs to my username on here!

Its a nuisance not having posting rights.

Are u going to the chlet preview in Helix this year? Barney Curley is on panel but your mate Graham Bradley is not, Im afraid!

Also, this forum seems to be full of very clueless people and those with some modicum of knowledge on affairs of the turf would be better served over on the Betfair Irish Sports forum.

And you'd be better served to stop pimping another forum whilst trolling this one.

I assure you Sir I am no troll, merely someone with an opinion. Cyber backslapping and a tolerance of imceciles seems to be the currency around here, so I will not be showing my face too often. 2000 posts? Get alife.

No I will not. Gearoid Moynihan is down there with Brad in my book.

I assure you Sir I am no troll, merely someone with an opinion. Cyber backslapping and a tolerance of imceciles seems to be the currency around here, so I will not be showing my face too often. 2000 posts? Get alife.

See the italicised bit my lady? That would be referred to as trolling.

Now I could put together a detailed post of why you and your kind are, how shall I say, leeches. But fook that, all that needs saying is that I hope you get diarrheoa and shite all over yourself.

Folks, there is a report function beside every post. While I'm loath to encourage trolling and ridiculous underhand attempts to promote other fora and their chat boards, I'd also encourage people to resist from "back seat" modding.

cson you have a very valid point. AdamantApproach it never ceases to gall me the number of times people use their time and effort to find a forum, log into it, find the relevant board, click on a thread, reply to that thread, and say how crap the board is. If you think it is sh1te, f**k off then. Unless one of the admins is sitting behind you with a gun to your head forcing you to post, which is unlikely, we don't really need your comments here.

There are plenty of other racing boards out there which I'm sure will be up to your intelectual capacity, best of luck in your search.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 bruceinfo

meriwether wrote: »
    The dodgy snooker bet was not honoured by certain bookmakers, Celtic and Bruce I believe, but was allowed run by Powers.
    Happily for Powers, the bets were doubled up with BJK for the World Hurdle and Teofilo for the Derby.
    Bet Kaput.

Firstly this Bruce Guy is a Girl!!! Secondly.....Our odds compilers make up the match bets daily... selections and price!! If you let me know where you are I can direct you to nearest shop taking our service. Lastly....With regard to the snooker bet... thats whole different story...(2 sides to every story remember!!!!)... and something I cannot get into specifics of... but I can tell you.... Celtic had no bet up (fact) and we did pay (FACT).... but as much as I would like to (and could) defend our position on those bets... I better refrain!

I have pm'd you Miss Bruce!

Thanks for the above post. I cant believe Bruces paid out on that bet. I presume that this was at the direction of IBAS as the last I had read on the matter was that all bets had been voided by Bruce and the cheats had failed in their coup.

Ok..I think this thread has run it's course. If there are any more questions, queries arising out of this thread, please start a new thread or PM the relevant people.