Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

• 24-01-2008 7:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

OUTRAGE!

It's only a couple of swear words. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭kaji

I'm just saying. The only reason Keith Duffy would have said $hit is because he was trying to be cool. I know it's only swear words but damn it, if I can't even write $hit on boards.ie without it coming out as **** and I have to subsitute s for $, then why can some tosser say the word on childrens television! Hopefully it'll catch on though, when they're doing the weather tonight on the 9 o clock news, Evelyn Cusack will say- Friday- cloudy, Saturday- thundery and Sunday damp. Generally a $hit weekend. Good evening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

Keith Duffy was (and is) in Boyzone - he has never been and never will be cool for that alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Down with this sort of thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Careful now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Swear words? Wont somebody please think of the children.

I've heard both Gerry Ryan and one of the today fm dj's sya $hit in the last week on daytime radio, it didnt corrupt me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

**** can be heard on daytime tv all the time. Feck is a bad word now aswell? Go outside and stop being easily offended by nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Bros123

Unadulterated filth.I will be emailing the director general about this outrageous muck being shown on our screens and demanding the return of Dilin O Deamhas as the replacement for this gutter programming.

Disgusting filth.

Filth.

Jeez! All I talking about is standards- RTE is the national broadcaster, and while it mostly shows rubbish, it should have some standards. I know from experience that if a teacher used that kind of language in a classroom, there would be hell to pay from the parents. And since this is broadcast to children all over the country...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

The cafe is $hit, If you didn't know that, you've learned something.
    Keith Duffy is a bit of a twat, harmless overall, but never cool.
    RTE will make any ould ****e the idiots in this country will tolerate, and To be fair, If you look at the other twenty million channels full of ****e in the ether, you'll find RTE are not alone, In fact the vast majority of television is self promoting Cocksuckers tryin to convince you that they are entertaining while not having the dignity to quit when they have miserably failed. the rest of the tv is ads, at least some of them are informative....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

kaji wrote: »
    Jeez! All I talking about is standards- RTE is the national broadcaster, and while it mostly shows rubbish, it should have some standards. I know from experience that if a teacher used that kind of language in a classroom, there would be hell to pay from the parents. And since this is broadcast to children all over the country...

Difference is a teacher is paid to teach children the brodcastors arent. Besides 7pm is late enough for the word sh%t and the word Feck anyway. The fact you sat there and watched that sh%t and now are complaining about it to others means the broadcastors have got your attention :) You dont like it turn it off Who watches half the crap RTE show anyway. Sure the cant schedule anything to save their lives tell you one thing is on and then change it to another. Our money will never be well spent.

Yeah but tax payers are paying RTE. And i did switch over, because I was only channel surfing anyway. I'm sorry I ever mentioned it, but don't blame me when yer kids start saying ''You're only a piece of **** Mommy/Daddy''.

Yeah but tax payers are paying RTE. And i did switch over, because I was only channel surfing anyway. I'm sorry I ever mentioned it, but don't blame me when yer kids start saying ''You're only a piece if **** Mommy/Daddy''.

They already do and they get punished for it as my kids know its wrong to swear no matter where they hear it. :) And Im pretty sure that line wasnt used on The Cafe now in fairness :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Yeah but tax payers are paying RTE. And i did switch over, because I was only channel surfing anyway. I'm sorry I ever mentioned it, but don't blame me when yer kids start saying ''You're only a piece of **** Mommy/Daddy''.

If thats the worst thing they pick up off Keith Duffy they'll be alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Y2J_MUFC

but don't blame me when yer kids start saying ''You're only a piece of **** Mommy/Daddy''.

Oh no, they've heard a "bad word". They are screwed up for life. I mean, no where in their life would they have ever heard these words, because nobody ever curses in this country, ever! [ / sarcasm ]

Fair enough, shouldn't be cursing on tv, but they apologized for it, and tbh, its not exactly a life changing experience. I mean this is just an excuse for people to jump on the bandwagon. In fairness, get over it. What are people gonna do, keep their kids off the street in case they overhear a conversation where someone curses? Our bus driver constantly used to shout "****ing bollox" at any other road user.... I still don't think anyone who has taken that bus is now a knife wielding maniac / drug user / murderer or the world is a worse place because of it!

Y2J_MUFC wrote: »
    Oh no, they've heard a "bad word". They are screwed up for life.

Our bus driver constantly used to shout "****ing bollox" at any other road user.... I still don't think anyone who has taken that bus is now a knife wielding maniac / drug user / murderer or the world is a worse place because of it!

Did I say they would be screwed up for life? No
    Did I say that using bad language would turn you into a knife wielding maniac / drug user / murderer? No

All I was doing was noting bad language being used before the watershed on a young people's television programme, which I consider a slip in basic standards in RTE. Some of you who have replied to me have accused me of over reacting. Just take a read of the posts that ye have made!! Hypocrites

but don't blame me when yer kids start saying ''You're only a piece of **** Mommy/Daddy''.

No, no, no, you completely missed the point of the posts. The point we are making is, does it actually matter in the overall scheme of things? No, it doesn't. Shouldn't have happened, but at the end of the day, it doesn't make a difference. You used the extreme example above, and I used the other end of the extreme. No child is going to go call their mother or father a piece of sh!te because of the Cafe. If you've never cursed yourself, then go ahead and cast the first stone.

Also mate, look up the definition of the word hypocrite. Don't get frustrated because we don't find it a big deal. There's been much worse examples to far bigger audiences. There'd never be any live tv if RTE lived in fear of people cursing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

All I was doing was noting bad language being used before the watershed on a young people's television programme, which I consider a slip in basic standards in RTE. Some of you who have replied to me have accused me of over reacting.
    Do you think calling it a disgrace is simply "noting" it, or is it an overreaction on your behalf?

I agree with that Dogde. Calling it a "disgrace" and warning us kids are gonna be call their parents pieces of sh!te is more than "noting it".

I think the OP didn't get the reaction they were expecting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Crazy Christ

My kids watched an episode of Fair City the other night and now it's motherfu*ker this, c*ntflaps that. I would be outraged, but I don't even have kids!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

I was glancing at 'the cafe' on rte2 today. I wouldn't normally watch it because it's rubbish. Anyway the 3 judges from You're a Star were on (which I don't watch either...cos it's rubbish too). Anyway the interview was all over the place- there was also some story about sending a girl 'around the ringer', obviously being a bit of a dirty joke and one of the presenters wouldn't let it go and asked what this meant which I thought was a bit much. Keith Duffy was also saying feck this and that and said something else was '$hit'. I thought that this was all a bit much, especially since it was on at 7pm. I cant believe taxpayers are paying for this sort of (as Keith Duffy said himself) $hit.

not ringer, Wringer. It means that someone went through a hard time. Nothing dirty about it.
    http://www.wringerhand.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

big swinging mikey !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

it's not a kids show though

it's meant to be for teenagers
    they show the Simpsons uncut and Home and Away is all about affairs and sex and pregnancies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

1850 715 815

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Can't believe people are defending evil words. Shame on you all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

I was glancing at 'the cafe' on rte2 today. I wouldn't normally watch it because it's rubbish. Anyway the 3 judges from You're a Star were on (which I don't watch either...cos it's rubbish too). Anyway the interview was all over the place- there was also some story about sending a girl 'around the ringer', obviously being a bit of a dirty joke and one of the presenters wouldn't let it go and asked what this meant which I thought was a bit much. Keith Duffy was also saying feck this and that and said something else was '$hit'. I thought that this was all a bit much, especially since it was on at 7pm. I cant believe taxpayers are paying for this sort of (as Keith Duffy said himself) $hit.

Why are you fighting bored boards posters?
    Contact RTE or the broadcasting complaints if you have a problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

egan007 wrote: »
    Why are you fighting bored boards posters?
    Contact RTE or the broadcasting complaints if you have a problem

He is right. You are always going to get the reaction on boards like "so what" or "switch over" or its not for children or whatever allows anyone do whatever they want on tv.
    The really worst response posters are the one who try and be smart because they think they are preying on an easy subject.

The word standards is seen as old fashioned by people who cant see the value in them.

dodgyme wrote: »

The word standards is seen as old fashioned by people who cant see the value in them.

But we are living in a world were standards and morales have changed. My parents swore in front of me as a child and it never affected me. Its how you bring up your children yourself which is going to reflect on how they will respect others. One of my good friends her and her husband are the worst swearers of all but yet their children dont swear ever and are not scum or criminals. If you worry about tv influencing your children well then you need to make a point to them that what they see on tv is not real. Sure as people have mentioned on here the language outside your front door is far worse. I see the value of standards but I think the OP needs to relax a little on the whole again you dont like something dont do it or watch it or follow it. That is the power of choice.

The original post has been edited? How sad and pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Haha, everyone's quoted him/her so it wont make a difference, except make em look foolish :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Bros123

* to you all!* and *.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

eamon234 wrote: »
    Keith Duffy was (and is) in Boyzone - he has never been and never will be cool for that alone.

Glad someone had the courage to say this. He gets a lot of slagging, but yes, he is cool for a lot of things and not just Boyzone; eg. his good looks, his Corrie stint, his unique personality, his Gift Grub persona. The list goes on. To limit his coolness to the Boyzone aspect seriously underrates him.

Well said Eamon234.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Bob in Belfast

Sandwich wrote: »
    Glad someone had the courage to say this. He gets a lot of slagging, but yes, he is cool for a lot of things and not just Boyzone; eg. his good looks, his Corrie stint, his unique personality, his Gift Grub persona. The list goes on. To limit his coolness to the Boyzone aspect seriously underrates him.

Well said Eamon234.

You are either on drugs or joking, good looks? unique personality? Keith 'fish eyes' Duffy!!.
    'Sandwich' you must be one short of a picnic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Editing the OP doesn't change anything :rolleyes:, it's easy to surmise what the OP was. PRUDE!
    Should be flogged for editing it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,226 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I couldn't agree more.

The reason I edited the original post was because people seemed to be going on and on, disagreeing with what I had said. While this is fine, it is annoying when people keep the discussion up when it's clearly over, and arguing with what I said. A lot of posters seemed to be 'jumping on the bandwagon'. Classic group mentality. I made a statement, people didn't really agree with me, I accept this and have moved on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Bob in Belfast

You sold out. haha

You should have stuck to your gun's.

The reason I edited the original post was because people seemed to be going on and on, disagreeing with what I had said. While this is fine, it is annoying when people keep the discussion up when it's clearly over, and arguing with what I said.

Welcome to the world of message boards. If you don't like it when people disagree with you then maybe you shouldn't be making threads.