Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Redden or Stringer at 9

• 21-01-2008 2:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20

What do ye think ,redden is well able to mix it but string has the experience for big internationals. Who would you have at number 9 for the six nations .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

I think we should start with Redden v Italy. When it comes to playing the French, experience has exactly worked against them in recent years so I would be in favour of Redden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Redden did well against France in the WC considering he was just thrown in at the deep end...I'd say give him a shot again!

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭death1234567

Redden by 4.765 miles. MR wrong decision shouldn't start for the 6 nations. Eddie will probably keep him in the side though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭roverjoyce

What sort of a stupid question is that to ask. We have wasted 5 years with Reddan on the bench or not in the squad lets not waste any more time with the one trick pony Stringer.
    Reddan is the future the best scrum half in the Guiness Premiership and if he doesnt start against Italy. It doesnt begger beleive.
    Why is Stringer even in the squad should be the main question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Id have stringer in way quicker than Boss.
    I hope Reddan starts the 6nations and really gets a chance
    to show what he can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭chicoben

Reddan by a fair whack. Stringer should be one of Eddies 'impact' subs.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

While it is brilliant that Stringer is in good form again it is not been so spectacular as to have displaced Reddan from the Irish team. Still it is good to know that there will be an solid option on the bench (instead of Boss) in case of an injury to Reddan.
    roverjoyce wrote: »
    What sort of a stupid question is that to ask. We have wasted 5 years with Reddan on the bench or not in the squad lets not waste any more time with the one trick pony Stringer.
    Reddan is the future the best scrum half in the Guiness Premiership and if he doesnt start against Italy. It doesnt begger beleive.

Reddan was introduced at most a year later than he should have been, as that is when he really established himself in the Wasps side, a couple of seasons ago he was at third choice SH at Munster at best.

Stringer has been playing very well lately at one of the top sides in European rugby and is the second best scrum half available to Ireland at present, that is why he is in the squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Ulstermell0

lol at the comment above. although i do agree. but i think stringer was the best choice up until this time last year. i think now reddan and boss are above him in my book. this weekend just gone shows it. people were saying he played well after wasps game but i noticed a few times ROG picking balls up around his knees or jumping to grab them above his head.

He didn't have a wonderful performance against Wasps - we were luckly that O'Gara wasn't caught for stepping over the line and quite a few misplaced passes...Passing has been a little iffy for a while now.

🤪

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 PiP 101

roverjoyce i dont think the arguement was as strong five years ago .Reddan came into his own this and last year , surely eddie can see that , granted string played well against wasps but again the munster pack stopped wasps getting any clean ball for reddan . I am definetly in favour of reddan though he is quick , strong and so far as i see good at mixing it up....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

I'd definitely pick Reddan ahead of Stringer, I think he just brings more to the game than Stringer does and I'd like to see him get more game time. I think Boss is a lost cause at this stage.

Was disgusted at RTE radio on Saturday, the pundits really, really struggled to try and compliment Reddan. Maybe they were afraid of seeming anti Munster or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Reddan > Stringer > Boss

i think the O Gara , Stringer combination was the norm for so that eddie must have thought O Gara is incapable of functioning without Stringer . It will be great to see reddan prove them wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

Well considering a mild breeze has been capable of putting ROG off his game in the past, Eddie might be almost right for once...

karmabass wrote: »
    Well considering a mild breeze has been capable of putting ROG off his game in the past, Eddie might be almost right for once...

Bit harsh on O'Gara - see the Llanelli and Wasps game for reference...Think O'Gara can work perfectly well without Stringer; Reddan & himself could be a good combination...

🤪

i agree i think they could work very well at the gaps around the breakdown should be no bother with clean ball too ... Just hope we are not building ourselves up for a let down again but the signs are good ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

stringer has been a good servent to Irish rugby of many years, but now its Redden's turn for a run in the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,440 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I'd start Stringer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,174 ✭✭✭✭phog

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    He didn't have a wonderful performance against Wasps - we were luckly that O'Gara wasn't caught for stepping over the line and quite a few misplaced passes...Passing has been a little iffy for a while now.

What difference would that have made? They could have fouled up the scrum like they did in the scrum they got a few minutes later. Watch the pass and follow up again - ROG cleared the ball to the touch, from the lineout Wasps got a scrum in front of the goal posts about 10 mtrs out and they then knocked the ball on in play.

Going back on topic - I'd start Reddan again for the first match and Stringer for the second and then make both of them fight for their place - competition for places can only make the team stronger. I was well impressed with Stringer and less impressed with Reddan on Saturday but l thought Reddan had a good end to the WC. I'm afraid Boss is 3rd on the list now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

I think Reddan will start against Italy but Stringer is probably back to no.1 as far as EOS is concerned based on the Wasps/Munster match.

Stringer like ROG seems to have come back to form. As long as they perform as well in green as they have in red Stringer shouldn't have any problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

GDM wrote: »
    I think Reddan will start against Italy but Stringer is probably back to no.1 as far as EOS is concerned based on the Wasps/Munster match.

Did we watch the same match? Reddan, nothwithstanding the result, played stringer off the park. Stringer was,unlike his teammates, poor. His blushes were saved by the efforts of the pack and the fact that ROG covered up for alot of his wayward decision making (kicking game gone to pot) and substandard service, with the excellence of his performance.

Reddan will start at no.9 for Ireland, its a total no brainer. Stringer will be relegated to cameos unless injury intervenes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    I'd start Stringer.
    Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

Personally I'm happy that we have a little depth at scrum half. I'd go with Reddan to start but Stringer still certainly has a lot to offer the team. To be honest I'm less concerned about scrum half and more concerned about the back line that EOS chooses to compliment them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

Reddan is the future the best scrum half in the Guiness Premiership

soon to be best scrum half in the magners league:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Shan75

Stringer is in decline and Reddan's time has come.The only things Stringer could do really well was pass accurately and quickly and the famous ankle-tap tackles.Now he is passing very very very slowly and not to anywhere in particular.If he starts the Six Nations or comes on for any reason other than injury to Reddan it will be the biggest joke of all from the comedy act that is EOS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

Reddan > Stringer > Boss

That about sums it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Shan75 wrote: »
    Stringer is in decline and Reddan's time has come.The only things Stringer could do really well was pass accurately and quickly and the famous ankle-tap tackles.Now he is passing very very very slowly and not to anywhere in particular.If he starts the Six Nations or comes on for any reason other than injury to Reddan it will be the biggest joke of all from the comedy act that is EOS.

Probably happen so, Strings is a great replacement to take off the bench. But no. 9 is now Reddens to lose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 daveyboyo

impact subs? last 5/10mins dont cound as impact subs, but desperation!
    eddie really should use subs more often, but stringer isnt the only one trick pony...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

GreenHell wrote: »
    Probably happen so, Strings is a great replacement to take off the bench.

How do you figure that. Whatever his overall merits I would have though Stringer would have minimal benefit as a late off the bench replacement. Fine as a backup to injury of Reddan. But being a good off the bench sub usually suits physically aggressive or fast elusive runners (and Stringer despite his merits is neither) who can exploit tiring defenses to good effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

At the last outing of the Ireland team Stringer didn't even make the bench, what has changed to suggest he will regain his place?

Or will it be another EOS moment? Sigh... :confused:

Sorry guys, but I've given up trying to guess this one. (and several others...)

Can't imagine how the squad are feeling, methinks it could be a misery camp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭figs86

Eoin Reddan

has a lot of experience (e.g. heineken cup winner's medal) - which is the main argument for stringer

I've never seen him have a bad match

He seems much more dangerous with ball in hand and better at directing his pack - maybe he just has a better pack at wasps

Much as I love Stringer's heart in fighting men twice his size (fabien pelous et al) and his last gasp handtrips, eoin reddan is a better player imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Sandwich wrote: »
    How do you figure that. Whatever his overall merits I would have though Stringer would have minimal benefit as a late off the bench replacement. Fine as a backup to injury of Reddan. But being a good off the bench sub usually suits physically aggressive or fast elusive runners (and Stringer despite his merits is neither) who can exploit tiring defenses to good effect.

Stringers wealth of experience makes him a good choice to spring from the bench if a game is going badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Teg Veece

Just think of all the years that we wasted playing Keith Wood when we could have been playing Jackman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

GreenHell wrote: »
    Stringers wealth of experience makes him a good choice to spring from the bench if a game is going badly.

Wealth of experience passing the ball wont win you many games off the bench.... Why cant O Riordan be in this squad =(