Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yet another VRT disaster....

• 20-01-2008 5:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭

Hello all!

Brought my UK imported '04 Jag to the VRO to pay the bill. At first, all seemed grand. The young and somewhat clueless guy behind the counter shouted back to a colleague in the back office if he needed to look at the car and charge for extras. She said no.

Not long afterwards, an old guy walks into the office. Young guy asks him a question about how to put the car details into their system and then the old guy starts asking him whether he has looked at the car. Then says they need to check for extras.

A couple of minutes later, both of them and myself and walking around my car, checking the mileage readout, VIN, and of course they are delighted when they discover the part leather interior and power folding mirrors. I try to tell them that part-leather is standard for that model (which it actually is) but they are having none of it. So, my VIN has been sent to Rosslare to discover what else there is.

I should find out tomorrow what their calculations have revealed, but in the meantime can anyone tell me how they calculate the extra VRT due? Is it simply the cost of the extra as new adjusted for the same depreciation as the car and then charged at the 30% VRT rate? I would guess that would be too sensible for them.

There are only 5 extras on the car - rear parking sensor, power folding mirrors and the rest are just tiny things - fitted carpet mats and front armrest and split rear seats. Everything else is standard equipment.

Would you expect my bill to go up by a few hundred or are they going to get stupid and charge me thousands and laugh at my appeal? I also note the wonderful requirement to have paid the VRT in full before you are entitled to an appeal. TYPICAL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

have you already paid the VRT or do you have to wait for them to come back with a price?

they'll probably add an extra 300-350 on to the quote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Ta me anseo

I can't pay and register the car until they have worked out the final figure. They will have to hurry up though as my insurance only covers me for 7 days on the UK reg.

The total cost of the extras at the time was about £1,000. That would be about 1,500 euro. The car has lost about 50% of it's value from new (according to the online OMSP of a new car versus mine, although it has actually lost 58% in the UK market - hence the bargain) leaving 750 euro or so. 30% of this is 225 euro. Would that be a fair guess for what I should expect?

It might be worth noting that the idea of a 3 year old cut off point for chargeable extras doesn't seem to apply. I have heard that if the VRT is to be more than 5,000 euro then they will search for extras almost automatically. Seems to be the case for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Churchy

Hardly a VRT disaster.

They are doing their job....how is it a disaster?
    You are aware the optional extras may cost more.

The point of the thread name was to get some replies by making people read it. Seems like it worked.

Of course I am aware the extras may cost more. I knew that when I bought a car with extras. My question is are they going to charge me sensibly or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Nodnedlog

I can't pay and register the car until they have worked out the final figure. They will have to hurry up though as my insurance only covers me for 7 days on the UK reg.

Your insurance company should insure you if you have transfered the policy from a different car midway through the year and if it is currently taxed in the UK AFAIK.

I did change mid year and the car has current UK tax, but they have told me that I am only covered for 7 days. Plus, they will not issue a new certificate until I have an Irish registration. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Nodnedlog

I did change mid year and the car has current UK tax, but they have told me that I am only covered for 7 days. Plus, they will not issue a new certificate until I have an Irish registration. :(

I am with hibernian direct and I transferred the policy over the phone and was told to motor on. I will have to show them my Irish tax cert and registration if I want to renew again when my policy expires!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Fair play to yer man for spotting electric folding mirrors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭NBar

Which Office did you bring the car in to clear? With my next car I will be bringing it in and will make sure its lashing rain

It was the Navan VRO. The annoying thing was that it WAS lashing rain and I even parked under a overhanging tree so that there was huge big drops falling on us! Still didn't put them off!

Can anyone tell me what I should do now: The VRO say they are still waiting to hear from Jaguar to confirm the spec. Each time I ring them they tell me that they have heard nothing and each time I ask them if they would call Rosslare and push it along as I will be uninsured from tomorrow. Each time I get fobbed off. Last time the guy on the phone said he would call them straight away and ring me back. After an hour I rang to find that he had gone home. I am getting really concerned that I will shortly be up sh** creek. I will obviously change insurer to keep the car on cover if need be, but that would be another years no claims out the window.

I feel that I have done all I could. I had the car to them within 15 hours of driving off the ferry. I think it is unacceptable that my car may be at risk because their system is slow and cumbersome. Originally they said they should hear from Rosslare within two or three hours.

What would you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Have you rang your insurance company and told them the story? They might extend it for you since its the VRO that's holding things up and not you.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭kikel

Stephen is right, ring the insurance office and tell their is a delay with the VRT. If necessary get proof off the VRO office. They'll insure you no problems. I had a similar problem and they extended the insurance cover for another 7 days and then another 7 days until it was finally sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

What insurance company are you with? Whoever they are that's a pretty scabby rule they have. Quinn have no problem insuring a UK car once you give them money ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Hibernian only give you a short amount of time. FBD give you indefinately!
    Anyway, what you should do is just drive to another VRO and clear it there. They'll probably know nothing about the outstanding features, as there is probably nothing on the computer yet about it, so you might get away scott free. When the plebs in Navan ring you back eventually tell them it's alright, you're sorted, you gave them enough time and you couldn't wait any longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Biro wrote: »
    Anyway, what you should do is just drive to another VRO and clear it there. They'll probably know nothing about the outstanding features, as there is probably nothing on the computer yet about it, so you might get away scott free. When the plebs in Navan ring you back eventually tell them it's alright, you're sorted, you gave them enough time and you couldn't wait any longer.

That's the best idea. I went to Tallaght VRO and they only checked the VIN and reg plate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

I think we need a post of all the best places to VRT the car! I.E. the places that don't go out and nit-pick!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

Go to the castlebar vro, lazy shower...:) I've vrt'd 2 pretty high spec cars - 1 was in plain view of the guy out the window behind him, he said it was a nice looking car!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Tallaght seem to be pretty clueless, I've been up there registering disabled passenger conversions and seen a few people bringing in Jap cars for VRT and being asked what Irish model is the equivelant

I thought of popping into another VRO alright, but Navan have retained the UK V5C so I have no documents anymore. It's bad enough to have to pay stupid amounts of money to them but it's even worse to have to wait so long, risk your car, and get stressed just because they want to screw you for an extra few hundred on top of the thousands they will be getting already. AARRGGHHH!

Ringing my insurance company now....

Got the insurance sorted out eventually.

Just got the VRT bill now too. 4 working days later. They've added just shy of 500 euro. That's not too bad all in all, but they have charged me for many standard items like electric windows and even the spare wheel!! (It's a space saver wheel and the full size is an upgrade) so I will be appealing although I'm not too fussed in the end.

The really infuriating thing is that VRT has added 47% to the cost of my car and now accounts for 32% of the total bill. How can that be justified?

VRT rates and OMSP's are set by SIMI. How can a government revenue collection process be controlled by a private industry? What a scam! Devised simply to protect an overly-expensive and closed market from foreign value and fair trade.

All the same I have saved about 5,000 euro by importing and will be going abroad again for my next car. If only to spite the system here! Ther is value to be had out there if you're careful....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

How can that be justified?

Would you like to field this one ninty9r??