Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

swiss army knife

• 18-01-2008 11:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭

do you think there'd be any problem ordering a swiss army knife online?

as in having a knife sent through the post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

alienhead wrote: »
    do you think there'd be any problem ordering a swiss army knife online?

as in having a knife sent through the post?

Not directly related to importation of a knife, but have a read of this before you decide to do anything:

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1990/en/act/pub/0012/sec0009.html#zza12y1990s9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭alienhead

interesting, so mcgyver would be screwed!

it would be for my travels.

Hobart wrote: »
    Not directly related to importation of a knife, but have a read of this before you decide to do anything:

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1990/en/act/pub/0012/sec0009.html#zza12y1990s9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I doubt you would have any trouble, they are freely on sale here. I was going to get one, some great deals on ebay. It never even crossed my mind about customs. It is essentially a tool, if you wanted an offensive weapon you can go to tesco and get a kitchen knife that is far more "offensive" than a swiss army. Not like it is a flick knife or anything, I had one when I was 10.

I always thought it odd, that a scumbag could probably go around town with any knife he wanted all he has to do is stick it in a roches stores bag, and paint a few onions and tomatos on the handle, and it is suddenly a kitchen knife!
    it would be for my travels.
    Suitcase anyways! those airports lads kids must have some great collections!

Did you find a cheap online store? please share

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

I had a Swiss Army knife that was on display on my belt confiscated by a Garda on Grafton Street. When I started asking questions I was informed to leave it, or be charged initially with a public order offence (for arguing with him) along with more serious offences at the station. I left it :( This was 5PM on a Thursday evening on my way home from work.

smccarrick wrote: »
    I had a Swiss Army knife that was on display on my belt confiscated by a Garda on Grafton Street. When I started asking questions I was informed to leave it, or be charged initially with a public order offence (for arguing with him) along with more serious offences at the station. I left it :( This was 5PM on a Thursday evening on my way home from work.

How old were you?

never argue with the gardai and you usually are fine, be calm and relaxed. One hint of being smart or challenging them and you are screwed. Tone of your voice is extremely important, if you give of any air of "I am perfectly right" "I know my rights", "I did nothing wrong", then forget it, they will use every technicality they can to make a show of you, and I really dont blame them. I have had gardai find blades on me before, and bouncers and never have trouble. I just tell them it is for work, which it is, act meek and as though nothing is wrong but not in an overly "aha, its for work you fecker, cant do nothing to me!" way. I would never go out with a weapon on display, that is asking for trouble from gardai and scumbags.

The public order offence was brought about to stop scumbags slagging them on the street knowing they could get away with anything since they did nothing legally wrong.

Of course he could have just been an utter arsehole about it... And I am not suggesting you are a scumbag, but I could not imagine him taking it off you if you were 60

rubadub wrote:
    How old were you?

25- I had the multitool with me on my belt, and lots of other screwdrivers etc and some computer parts with me (I was a tech spec at the time and used it on a daily basis in work for stripping wires/opening cases/testing current etc- the tool which a Swiss Army tool- also happened to have two knives on it- a large and a small one
    rubadub wrote:
    never argue with the gardai and you usually are fine

I wasn't arguing with him- just trying to explain that I had forgotten to take it off my belt, that I was on my way home from work and it was something I needed for work.

rubadub wrote:
    I just tell them it is for work, which it is, act meek and as though nothing is wrong but not in an overly "aha, its for work you fecker, cant do nothing to me!" way. I would never go out with a weapon on display, that is asking for trouble from gardai and scumbags.

I tried to do the same- he was friendly enough to be honest, I can't fault him, but he was emphatic that I wasn't getting it back, and if I wanted to press the point that I was only causing trouble for myself.
    rubadub wrote:
    Of course he could have just been an utter arsehole about it... And I am not suggesting you are a scumbag, but I could not imagine him taking it off you if you were 60

He was reasonable enough- but did point out that I had what could be used as an offensive weapon on display, and it could not be returned to me. The fact that I used it as a handy tool as I was working with computers- and even had some computer components with me to back this up, was irrelevant. I was really annoyed- but accepted that I had to leave it, as it was only asking trouble pressing the point. Cost me £80 for a new one :( I learnt a lesson- and am a lot more careful these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

I bought from seven day shop,http://www.7dayshop.com/catalog/default.php?cat=8&type=8090&man=76&filterwords=&go=SEARCH&comp= very reasonable prices,although the p&p has gone up a lot recently. I thought a blade had to be over 5 inches long before it was considered an offensive weapon.

bmaxi wrote:
    I bought from seven day shop,http://www.7dayshop.com/catalog/default.php?cat=8&type=8090&man=76&filterwords=&go=SEARCH&comp= very reasonable prices,although the p&p has gone up a lot recently. I thought a blade had to be over 5 inches long before it was considered an offensive weapon.

I have no idea- the blades on the Swiss Army multi-tool are certainly less than that. Oh well....

smccarrick wrote: »
    I tried to do the same- he was friendly enough to be honest, I can't fault him, but he was emphatic that I wasn't getting it back, and if I wanted to press the point that I was only causing trouble for myself.

He was reasonable enough- but did point out that I had what could be used as an offensive weapon on display, and it could not be returned to me. The fact that I used it as a handy tool as I was working with computers- and even had some computer components with me to back this up, was irrelevant. I was really annoyed- but accepted that I had to leave it, as it was only asking trouble pressing the point. Cost me £80 for a new one :( I learnt a lesson- and am a lot more careful these days.
    Forgot about this thread. That is an odd story alright, esp. as he seemed OK, and you had all the gear with you. AFAIK the law is a 3" blade. Many gardai do not actually know the laws they are supposed to be enforcing. Maybe there is a difference with "offensive weapon on display" or something. 25 is young enough, like I say I bet he wouldnt have gone near an auld lad with the same deal

Thanks for the link bmaxi. I have to check out some forums too, I found one ages ago just about knives. Some other brand make swiss army ones too, and lots of other brands I never heard of. I cant fault the quality of the victorinox ones though.