Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Victims of Buglary

• 17-01-2008 8:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

A family members house was broken into this week and they took personal and business items as well as his beloved car. I can only imagine how he feels. Personally i'm raging. I'm not even giving the idiots who did it a second thought. They have themselves to live with. What i'm wondering is if anyone has any ideas of how he can move on from this or stories similar to this one and advice as to how you picked up the pieces. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Tbh,I think this would be better off in AH not Emergency Services

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I don't. I think it would be interesting to hear how our future Gardaí view the effect crimes such as burglary have on the ordinary person. It's not all about getting the job, it's about doing the job, isn't it ?

Fair enough.

Well,first off your relative should review his security system.Then he should look at what he lost..and see if any of them are replacable.As regards the car,you can bet the Gardai will find it,what state it will be in is another unfortunate story.
    However,your relative will have to realise the Gardai will do their best to get items back but if they cant..he should just be happy they were material items.At least he is ok ,his car should be covered by insurance but as for personal/business items..if they're not found I am afraid he will just have to move on :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

I know this will be of no comfort to the OP :( but for future reference, what, in the view of experienced members of the force, is the best way to secure your property from burglary?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

1850211407 is the support line for victims of crime in Ireland.

If you wanted to give it a ring yourself they will advise on how to help your relative.

It doesn't matter whether they are young or old, male or female, someone has entered their home, invaded their space and stolen from them, it will take time to get over the feeling that their home has been violated.

Don't discuss security with them, they don't want to be told that they should have had an alarm, or get it updated, or check the doors and windows etc.... There will be time for that later.

A bit of support and a hand giving the place a good clean is usually a great help and if its an elderly relative you really need to reassure them they are safe because the feeling that whoever was responsible for the burglary may return will be a serious worry for them.

In a nutshell, its takes time to put something like this behind you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 lily3787

Your right guys they are all material things. I think he understands that but he had a particular attachment to the car! Boys will be boys! He's hoping that the guards find the car in an ok shape. The guards were very nice about the whole thing but there's very little they can do. I'm just glad he didn't wake up and disturb them. He had a house alarm and cameras on the house. ESB went earlier in the day and knocked them out. The problem is not the stolen goods its the feeling that someone has been in your home and searched through your personal items. He says the house just feels strange. I'd be interested to know what the most effective way of protecting your home is though.
    The house cleaning idea is a great one. Thanks for the number for the helpline.

Well,my granny's house was broken into 4 times in the space of a few years during the 90's.She only got an alarm after the last incident...different generation.It must have been terrible for her,here is the story;
    Some little boll1x got in through a side window above the shed,so he was upstairs immediately.He then went into all the rooms.Frightening thing is,he went into her bedroom and searched bedside lockers that were maybe 2ft away from her!Thanfully she didn't wake up.
    Anyway,they took jewellery and some cash...now this is where my young memory faults me:o.It was either the above burglary or one of the other burglaries that she suffered,but the Gardai arrived on scene and disturbed them(burglars).One brave young Garda managed to catch onto one of the burglars but was dragged through a massive hedgerow separting the gardens of the terraced row.Poor fellas nails were literally in bits and he had to let the burglar go!I'll never forget looking at the massive gaps in the hedgerows.The burglar had managed to charge through about 7 garden hedgerows,scared the **** out of me because it looked like a horse had run through them...
    Anyway,the point of the above is that your relative should be lucky he wasn't hurt and that the burglars weren't superhuman:D(mind you,'coked up scuts' would be a better description)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Was called to a scene of a burglary there before Christmas. The owners were elderly and it was committed while they were watching tv in the sitting room. A handbag was taken along with the car keys and the car. They were fairly shaken by it and when we arrived my colleague who has more years service than I said straight away "put on the kettle". The elderly woman was distracted a bit from the actual event for a short while even though she was telling us what had happened. We found her handbag in the back garden of her house with some non valuable items, called to neighbours each side of them and gave them some advice on home security. Since then I call into them at least once a week and have increased patrols in their area. Five days later I actually found their car by pure chance. I was off duty and found it in another district. They were much impressed.

It is equally important to reassure victims of burglary as it is to investigate the incident itself. Even if no one is held accountable the victims will always give a good account of ye. They now ring the station when I'm on and ask me will be coming round for tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

TheNog wrote: »
    Was called to a scene of a burglary there before Christmas. The owners were elderly and it was committed while they were watching tv in the sitting room. A handbag was taken along with the car keys and the car. They were fairly shaken by it and when we arrived my colleague who has more years service than I said straight away "put on the kettle". The elderly woman was distracted a bit from the actual event for a short while even though she was telling us what had happened. We found her handbag in the back garden of her house with some non valuable items, called to neighbours each side of them and gave them some advice on home security. Since then I call into them at least once a week and have increased patrols in their area. Five days later I actually found their car by pure chance. I was off duty and found it in another district. They were much impressed.

It is equally important to reassure victims of burglary as it is to investigate the incident itself. Even if no one is held accountable the victims will always give a good account of ye. They now ring the station when I'm on and ask me will be coming round for tea.

Nice to hear stuff like that, good work mate :)

pclancy wrote: »
    Nice to hear stuff like that, good work mate :)

X2