Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend me some Creature Feature!!!

• 17-01-2008 2:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭

Hi guys. I'm currently on the look at for an enjoyable monster flick to ad to my collection. Any recommendations based on these ones I really liked?

Anaconda 1&2
    Boa verses Python
    Deep Blue Sea
    Deep Rising
    Eye of the Beast
    Frankenfish
    Godzilla verses Desutoroia
    Jaws 1-4
    Jurassic Park 1&2
    Primal Force
    Primal Species (Carnosaur 3)
    Reptilian (Yongarry 2001)
    Starship Troopers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

The Host

It's a Korean film, but don't let that put you off if you're not usually into subtitled films. It is far and away one of the best creature features that I've seen in recent years.

A few come to mind. The really must be massive appeal out there for low budget monster films as they seem to keep the Sci Fi Channel in America going. Shame they generally jsut churn out rubbish week after week.

Here are some that I would recommend:
    Ice Spiders
    Piranah
    Alligator
    Dragon Wars
    Them
    Evolution
    Q the Winged Serpent
    Lake Placid 1 and 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

The Critters movies were all fairly enjoyable.

And of course there are the Tremors movies too.

Troll is another good one... there's a sequel too... but that's hilariously bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

tman wrote: »
    The Host

It's a Korean film, but don't let that put you off if you're not usually into subtitled films. It is far and away one of the best creature features that I've seen in recent years.

Saw that, it was a great piece of work considering its small budget. Although I must admit that much of the Korean humour was lost on me.

A few come to mind. The really must be massive appeal out there for low budget monster films as they seem to keep the Sci Fi Channel in America going. Shame they generally jsut churn out rubbish week after week.

Here are some that I would recommend:

Ice Spiders - Ive heard a lot of good things about this, I'll look it up
    Alligator - havent seen in years. is the sequel any good?
    Q the Winged Serpent - this one looks like great fun, is it worth €20?
    Lake Placid 1 and 2 - loved the first one, is #2 worth €15?

Galvasean wrote: »

Ha. If a film stars Michael Moriarty then you know it's going to be fun, but extremely low budget. €20 does seem a bit steep for it... I haven't seen that film since the 80s though.

I wonder if another Michael Moriarty film called The Stuff would count as a creature feature... It's about this yogurt that comes out on the market that is super tasty and everyone loves, but it turns out that is actually alive and takes over peoples minds.

The Critters movies were all fairly enjoyable.

And of course there are the Tremors movies too.

Troll is another good one... there's a sequel too... but that's hilariously bad.

The Critters and Tremors franchise are both great fun. Granted there is a noticeable dip in quality with each passing installement, but at the end of the day all anyone really wants from them is monsters eating people.

Troll 2 is a disaster of a film. There is a remake in development and I'm curious to see if Harry Potter will be returning.
    Ice Spiders - Ive heard a lot of good things about this, I'll look it up
    Alligator - havent seen in years. is the sequel any good?
    Lake Placid 1 and 2 - loved the first one, is #2 worth €15?

Ice Spiders and Lake Placid 2 are worth picking up, though maybe wait or a price drop.
    Alligator 2 is a film I have'nt seen in a long, long time. I remember enjoying it but I was 12 when I last saw it.
    Q the Winged Serpent is worth 20 euro, but I'm sure you'll get it cheaper than that.

A few others came to mind, most of which are currently being remade.

Basket Case 1-3
    It's Alive 1-3
    Freaked
    Class of Nuke Em High 1-3
    The Toxic Avenger 1-4

Oh yeah... the Basket Case films were great.

I recently picked up an old ITV series called Beasts on DVD. It was written by Nigel Kneale who wrote Quatermass.

It's pretty good fun and is fairly cheap in HMV at the moment.
    Special Offer (16 October 1976) starred Pauline Quirke as a shop assistant whose unrequited love for her manager prompts a supernatural revenge.

During Barty's Party (23 October 1976) with Anthony Bate sees a middle-class couple's life overturned by rats.

Buddyboy (30 October 1976) featuring Martin Shaw and a disused aquarium haunted by the spirit of a dolphin.

Baby (6 November 1976) with Simon McCorkindale as a newlywed whose wife's pregnancy falls foul of ancient witchcraft.

What Big Eyes (13 November 1976) features Michael Kitchen as an RSPCA inspector investigating a man Patrick Magee who is trying to turn himself into a wolf.

The Dummy (20 November 1976) shows the psychological effect on an actor (Bernard Horsfall) who regularly plays a monster in horror films.

Baby is my favourite one.

I was looking at Beasts in town a few weeks back but decided to get Quatermass instead. I must get my hands on a copy.

Some of them haven't aged all that well and seem overly long and drawn out. Each episode is 50 minutes long, when some of them definitely would have worked better at a half an hour.

Anyone seen a movie called Webworld (I think). It was about some builders getting trapped in a parallel dimension ruled by spider creatures. I'd recommend it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

+1 for Tremors & Critters

Also check out:

Ghoulies
    Puppet Master
    Dolly Dearest
    Bubba Ho Tep
    American Werewolf in London (even for the transformation scene alone!)
    Childs Play 1
    Alligator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

jaysus lads how could you forget this one

the thing.

Anyone seen a movie called Webworld (I think). It was about some builders getting trapped in a parallel dimension ruled by spider creatures. I'd recommend it.

Is that the one with Richard Grieco? When I saw it, it was called Webs. I know it was on TV3 awhile back with a totally differant name. It is an enjoyable 90 minutes or so and the performances and story are both very good.

I thought of some more, now these are cheap as they come and I picked them up for 2 euro each.

Octopuss 1-3
    Shark Attck 1-3 Part 1 is very good but the sheer crapness of part 3 has to be seen to be believed.
    Spider
    Crocodile

faceman wrote: »
    Bubba Ho Tep
    Childs Play 1

Childs Play 2 was good too... like watching the Terminator. 3 was muck.

Bubba Hotep was great as well. I really hope they can get Bubba Nosferatu off the ground at some stage.

Childs Play 2 was good too... like watching the Terminator. 3 was muck.

Bubba Hotep was great as well. I really hope they can get Bubba Nosferatu off the ground at some stage.

Paul Giamatti is all set for it, but according to him Bruce Campbell does'nt want to do it. It's a shame, as he talked about it for ages before just suddenly seeming to forget about it.

I saw Crocodile 2: Death Roll, it was hilarious and inspired this!

20923614a4689164598l.jpg
    Crocodile 3: Death Row
    Miracles Do Happen,
    The story about the lives of guards on death row leading up to the execution of a wrongly accused crocodile who has the power of faith healing.
    Starring Tom Hanks and Ali Gator.

That reminds me based on a recommendation I bought Lake Placid 2 today for €15, ill probably watch it tonight. Although looking back Tremors 1-3 was only €12.99! (the 4 pack was €28.99, didnt even like the 4th one, go figure)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Full_Circle

Would "Arachnophobia" be considered too tame for your tastes?

That reminds me based on a recommendation I bought Lake Placid 2 today for €15, ill probably watch it tonight.

Where did you get Lake Placid 2? I was looking for the R2 DVD and could'nt find it in any shops?

Bought it in HMV Swords. Virgin Dundalk also have it.
    Mind you its rubbish. :(

Bought it in HMV Swords. Virgin Dundalk also have it.
    Mind you its rubbish. :(

I enjoyed it when I saw it. I want to get it so I can sit down and watch it with the original and a few others.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

jaysus lads how could you forget this one

the thing.

jaysus, good point!!!

Would "Arachnophobia" be considered too tame for your tastes?

Ah yes a classic. it is for spiders what Jaws is to sharks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Black Sheep!

BopNiblets wrote: »
    Black Sheep!

Been meaning to see this. Does it do for sheep what Arachniphobia did for spiders?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Slither.

Been meaning to see this. Does it do for sheep what Arachniphobia did for spiders?

No. but it's a damned good fun.