Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martin Johnson talking into bottle during 2003 world cup

• 16-01-2008 12:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭

This is just something i remember happening during the final of the world cup in 2003. Martin was clearly talking into the bottle head communicating with the management. This is against the rules i think but nothing ever came of it, anyone know anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Jaysus. A conspiracy from over four years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

talking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭NotWormBoy

Yes, talking.

It was nothing to be worried about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Martin was clearly taking into the bottle head communicating with the management.

hmmm, clearly :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

ya i remember it, they talked about it at the time on rte, they even synced the pictures ie you would see johnson talkin into the bottle, cut to woodward talkin into a mic at his end in the stand, there were defo at it
    well dodgy but nothing ever came of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Where was the speaker so he could hear what woodward was saying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭randomer

Yeah, I remember something similar happening, but it was a couple of years earlier.

Back in 2001 I saw Brian O'Driscoll and Denis Hickie both drinking out of a bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Wha? Ferchrissakes! What a surreal thread...s'pose we could turn it into a 'great rugby conspiracies' discussion:

*The dastardly 'poisoning' of the kiwis by the south africans afore the '95 world cup final

*The 'stealing' of the gloucester playbook before the miracle match

*Strange camouflage figures lurking in the bushes at the england training camp before the 2003 world cup final.

anyone got any more...????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Well im just waiting for someone to whip out a O'Gara bookie joke ^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭chicoben

Jason Leonard was another one aswell cause he had so much tape and stuff around his head and ears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭JWAD

skelliser wrote: »
    ya i remember it, they talked about it at the time on rte, they even synced the pictures ie you would see johnson talkin into the bottle, cut to woodward talkin into a mic at his end in the stand, there were defo at it
    well dodgy but nothing ever came of it

Feck this is funny. He's talking while taking a drink from water bottle and the camera does the rest.
    Nothing dodgy unless his drink was spiked :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Wouldn't really matter what Woodward was telling him anyway.

The forwards drove and made space for Johnny to kick the winner...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Martin Johnson is a loon and probably hears voices. He was talking to himself id say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Diamondmaker

Perhaps it is his crazy mentality that made him and his team winners, I just cant ever see BOD, ROG or POC ever motivating a group of people in a way that MJ could !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭LFC5Times

Perhaps it is his crazy mentality that made him and his team winners, I just cant ever see BOD, ROG or POC ever motivating a group of people in a way that MJ could !

Agree,whatever about POC but O'Gara and Bod wouldnt motivate me in the slightest.

I always remember that documentary on the Irish team either last year or the year before and O'Driscoll is giving his half-time speech and it was laughable - went something like this

"We have been good,il give you that, but We could be great" or something along those lines in his posh Dublin accent.

Great player I accept but not the guy to motivate me with his speeches.

O'Connell motivates me more than BOD in that little snippet, where he shouts and asks them did they scare anybody or put the fear into anybody.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jcVv-xFNPuI&feature=related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I heard that he talked into it, then closed the cap and once the cap was re-opened by management they could listen to what he said into the bottle:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

I think there could be a market for water bottle mobile phones aimed at Rugby fans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

LFC5Times wrote: »
    Agree,whatever about POC but O'Gara and Bod wouldnt motivate me in the slightest.

I always remember that documentary on the Irish team either last year or the year before and O'Driscoll is giving his half-time speech and it was laughable - went something like this

"We have been good,il give you that, but We could be great" or something along those lines in his posh Dublin accent.

Great player I accept but not the guy to motivate me with his speeches.

O'Connell motivates me more than BOD in that little snippet, where he shouts and asks them did they scare anybody or put the fear into anybody.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jcVv-xFNPuI&feature=related

In fairness the whole "Fear of god" speech has gotten more stick then praise from people. Best motivation i can think of was Northamptons fan[ or was it former player] who had been crippled badly just prior to their final with Munster and 2001 and this was their insipiration to win the match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭Super Sidious

komodosp wrote: »
    I think there could be a market for water bottle mobile phones aimed at Rugby fans!

Patent pending...

If they were using radio communication its not that big a deal, i mean Woodward could have talked to anyone on the sideline, physio/waterboy etc. and they could have relayed the question/answer onto Johnson...

Hook and Pope just wanted to cause some controversy, very uncharacteristic like for Hook...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

If memory serves George Hook brought it up and later apologised saying he had been completely in the wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

yeah i remember this actually. Looked pretty funny. its on youtube somewhere if u want to look at it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

toomevara wrote: »
    Wha? Ferchrissakes! What a surreal thread...s'pose we could turn it into a 'great rugby conspiracies' discussion:

1974 lions tour. Before leaving for SA the whole squad was hypnotised and programmed to all go baloobas and assualt the nearest springbok whenever they were triggered with the words 'ninetynine'.