Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NUIG IV & Irish National Barebow Championships details

• 15-01-2008 6:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

Hi All,

NUIG IV on Saturday, 26th January

Provisionally 7 archers per team, but this will more than likely increase pending word on butts and if any team wants to shoot in the early session?

The current predicament we're having is that there are more teams in the late session (Dundalk IT, RCSI, Dublin Business School, DCU, UCD, DIT, Carlow IT & NUIM) than the early one (NUIG, UL & GMIT), meaning that if things stay as they are each team in the late session will be limited to 7 archers with loads of room in the early session.

So....does any team want to move to the early session? That would mean we could increase team numbers. Please email me ASAP if you do on archery@clubs.nuigalway.ie

Start times:
    Early Group- 9.30am
    Late Group- 11.30am

Entry fee:
    €7 per person (sorry no pizza this time!Pizza people won't deliver this early)

All directions can be found on the last 2 pages of the link below
    http://www.archery.ie/INBC08.pdf

Team lists can be forwarded to archery@clubs.nuigalway.ie.

Again, as soon as we get final word on target butts we'll post here to let ye all know the final team numbers but if you could send on your provisional 7 in the mean time that would be great.

Also, anyone interested in shooting in the Irish National Barebow championships the following day (Sunday, 27th), please forward your name to macdarag@gmail.com. Entries can be taken up to the 26th but only entries on or before the 20th will be entered into the world championships. It's a bit of fun and you don't have to be an expert!

Niamh
    NUIG Archery Club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Panserborn

Hi all

Just a reminder, can the clubs who have yet to pay for the new IV badges bring the € to the NUIG IV?

The clubs who have paid already are NUIG, GMIT, UL, DIT and Carlow.

Hi all

After some clubs offered to shoot in the early session (thanks :p) we can now bump the numbers per club.

All clubs can bring up to 12 archers to NUIG.

Looking forward to the weekend!

Chat t'ye

MacD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Notafraggle

Could the teams who haven't sent in their team lists so far do so ASAP please! (UCD, RCSI) :)

As Mac said above, team numbers have increased from 7 to 12 now. So if DCU and DIT want to add anyone extra to their team list let me know. archery@clubs.nuigalway.ie

Many thanks,

Niamh
    NUIG Archery Club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭MicS

As usual, the results are on UCD website: http://www.ucd.ie/archery

And as usual, questions :)
    - Brian Daly (NUIG) is a different person from Brian Bailey, who was at DCU IV?
    - Keith Hansbery or Hansbury (GMIT)?
    - Daniel Mass or Maas (DKIT)?
    - Joe or John Hehir (GMIT)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

Props to:

NUIG, on their new team record

Harry Lyster, for his new compound record

Me, for my record remaining unbroken :D

Mics, you old bastard, for still being eligible to shoot. Did you postpone your year's grace, or quit IBM and go back to college?

MicS wrote: »
    Brian Daly (NUIG) is a different person from Brian Bailey, who was at DCU IV?

Both should be Brian Daly. Thanks MicS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Carebear11

I just want to say a big thanks to Mac for organising a realy great event last Sunday,
    hopefully with this years success next years barebow champs will be an even bigger success!
    Nice work Mac!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Suaimhneas

Hey just to say heard it was a great weekend and I'm sorry to have missed it, looking forward to next year!!

and its Keith Hansberry and Joe Hehir from GMIT. Hope that sorts it out!

Carebear11 wrote: »
    I just want to say a big thanks to Mac for organising a realy great event last Sunday,
    hopefully with this years success next years barebow champs will be an even bigger success!
    Nice work Mac!

Thanks, ye made it easy on me :p. Hopefully the cause of barebow will increase in Ireland and give us internationally competitive barebows for target and field archery.

The results are now on the IAAA site and can be seen here http://www.archery.ie/inbc08.pdf. Forgot to put the Team scores in, for the record Woodbrook won the team event with a score of 1307, beating NUIG with a score of 1304 - 3 points, so close!

Pretty impressive scores for a first run! Should be on the World Rankings soon, I'll post the address once they have them live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭ruiner

Thanks Mac for an interesting shoot. It was different but definitely fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

first of great shoot saturday guys went brilliantly.

secondly congrats to everyone who took part sunday. history in the making lads. fair play mac it went really smooth there was a lot of work involved.

hope you keep you're promise and do it again i might take part instead of spectate :D

Hey all.

The updated world rankings for barebow are up.

Fellas are here and the ladies are here

Fair play to all of ye! ;)

Hi all

Just an update on the Barebow World Championships. They finished on the 1st of this month and anyone who shot in the Irish National Barebow Championships in NUIG this year now has a world ranking.

All the results are here.

Well done to all of ye - roll on next year!