Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thanks for your support!!

• 14-01-2008 12:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭

On behalf of myself and Matt(Lplate),I'd like to say thanks to all the boardies who travelled to Killarney last week-end to play in our festival. We finished up with 163 runners in our ME and one of the boardies(Adam Fallon-TheChamp) finished up chopping the main event.

A big thank you to all the dealers who put in a trozan effort over the week-end.

I'd like to give a mention as well to Denis McCarthy and all the staff of the Killarney Avenue hotel who provided a 1st class service for our guests.Nothing seemed to be a problem and I think they showed Killarneys hospitality at its best.

We look forward to organising our next festival and hopefully your return to beautys' home.

It was nice to put a face to some of the names on boards.Look forward to meeting up with you all again soon.

Connie

PS:Mods--If I've posted in the wrong section,apologies in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 bannanababy14

well done connie and co on a great festival. hotel was great and the beer was going down smooth and easy(too easy for me jay and jimmy kiernan)delighted with my 4 place finish in 200 side event.trust sideshow to catch AA big blind to cripple me.(10 10 me)and then river a 7 to beat my 55.but again congrats to bob for the win and to jay and paul for their good resuts.i think the wife finally realises that she is a poker widow but even she has to agree that if all tourneys are as friendly and good fun as this one it might save me a lot of earache.well done and hope to see you all in waterford for the team event.bringing a few of my buddies down so take it easy on us. jimmy kenny

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Great weekend as usual Connie. Not a profitable one but then KK was never going to be good against Sideshow's Qd9d.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

super stuff down in Connies kingdom as ever. Well Done to the Cork lads who had a great weekend especially my bro's Skeletor and the Show. Theres no show like a Sideshow.

As a player I think that the 15k starting stack 60 minute clock is the optimum structure. But something I've only seen in Kerry and really like which is a Connie patent is the introduction of the antes at 500/1000 with a repeat level here + the 100 ante. I think structure wise it don't get any better then the weekend. Generally the average stack was over 40 bigblinds and didn't drop below 25 at any stage in the main event.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Hope you got my text Connie. I spent all weekend in bed sick... really sorry I missed this. :(

Glad it went well.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

Couldnt make it either i'll be there for the next one! By all accounts a great weekend!! Good start to 2008 for ya Connie with this event and the All-Ireland Club Championships to come in a fortnight, usually the best weekend of the year!! Was meant to be down in Gleneagles for that but made a seat for an EPT :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Couldnt make it either i'll be there for the next one! By all accounts a great weekend!! Good start to 2008 for ya Connie with this event and the All-Ireland Club Championships to come in a fortnight, usually the best weekend of the year!! Was meant to be down in Gleneagles for that but made a seat for an EPT :D

Dan,I cant believe your putting an ordinary EPT event before THE club championships???:p

I wish you the best of luck over there,and btw,can I take 2% of the action?

Connie

DeVore wrote: »
    Hope you got my text Connie. I spent all weekend in bed sick... really sorry I missed this. :(

Glad it went well.

DeV.

Hi Tom,
    No,I never got the text. I was only saying to Mike that there must be something wrong as you normally dont miss your trip to the Kingdom!!
    Anyway, we'll hook up soon I'm sure

Connie

No problem Connie I'll stick you down for that in the other thread.

It was a tough call, 8k EPT Dortmund staying in the Hilton for 6 nights OR the club championships in sunny Killarney :D I'm sure it'll be a fantastic week, Celbridge A FTW!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭SIDESHOW BOBs

killarney has always been a happy hunting ground for me , but it was unusual to build a tank in a tourney and hang onto it to ft and complete the task in hand.

superb structures , i did cross swords with matt about lack of breaks on the second day of 200 but the problem was sorted amicably.

only real gripe was gettin no luck in cash games and being unable to get out of jp's room on friday night. i think the bermuda triangle reloacated for a few hours for no matter how much i wanted to go to bed i just couldn't leave, paid the price in the ME when i donated to pat storan.

thanks again to matt and connie and a special word to the limerick dealing contingent, pip jeff and dave for giving me some dacent ammo.

musician apologies for busting your kings you kinda got caught in the cross fire of a cork vendetta, in my defence i did use the phrase that pays( i know i am behind but i will call anyway ) and consulted the bad beatometer which gave a positive reading and i had the chips so wtf ship it. always good to see kk REQUIRING RUNNER RUNNER on the flop to q9.

nicky de power power has been saying that a result was coming my way so he has got to find someone else now to put the hex on.

bon oeuf toute circulaire:D:D:D

now i definitely wont be in dat magazine for nathin

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

musician apologies for busting your kings you kinda got caught in the cross fire of a cork vendetta, in my defence i did use the phrase that pays( i know i am behind but i will call anyway ) and consulted the bad beatometer which gave a positive reading and i had the chips so wtf ship it. always good to see kk dead on the flop to q9.

Glad you put the chips to good use. I'll try to avoid getting embroiled in Cork politics next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

Great, great, great festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Theres only one flop I can think of which leaves KK drawing dead. KK can escape from anything but a straight flush.

Anyway, great weekend - cheers connie, and everyone else involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭JustMac

Had a very enjoyable weekend. Most of those in attendance would be well used to playing poker festivals, but for me I'd never played as much live poker in 2 days. I got a decent run of cards in the ME and 200 game. I went out with about 45 left in the ME when my AKo couldn't catch up to JJ when all-in pf. In the 200 game when shortstacked my button all-in steal with 24o, apparently the club hand, hit a str8 on the flop against AQo. Was a little disappointed not to cash going out 14th with 9 paid but the craic with the many characters in that game made up for it. I made several bad plays but none hurt me too much. I've often played better and finished worse. All credit to Connie, Matt and all those involved in an extremely well run weekend of poker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Lauralashes

Excellent weekend from start to finish, first time to Kerry and def will be back. Hotel was great, no problem getting a late drink and everything ran smoothly :)

As for the poker side of it, Ended up 36th in the ME with my Kings getting beaten by AQ then I jumped straight into the side event which was in its 3rd level at that stage, lasted 40 mins going out on Kings again against Aces.... so all in all had a great day and a half of tournament poker and then ended up getting knocked out of 2 tournaments within 40mins with pocket Kings :rolleyes::rolleyes::D.....Joined the cash game sat night and the banter was excellent with lots of chips flying around the table, really enjoyed it :D:D

Well done to everyone who cashed and to Connie and co for a brilliant weekend :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Nivek

Connie, great event, excellent organisation and great craic as usual,
    Many thanks also to mike Lacey for the contribution to the fund giving me 6/4 on a last longer bet much appreciated, and to all the people who tried to knock mike out and let me be,
    I am sure he will get me back in drogheda.

look forward to the next one connie

Theres only one flop I can think of which leaves KK drawing dead. KK can escape from anything but a straight flush.

Anyway, great weekend - cheers connie, and everyone else involved

2 at least? AAA flop v Ax and AAK flop v AA :D

Couldnt miss a potential historic moment where im right for once! (please be right lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

2 at least? AAA flop v Ax and AAK flop v AA :D

Couldnt miss a potential historic moment where im right for once! (please be right lol)

Pretty sure he meant in the context of the hand described.

Opr

opr wrote: »
    Pretty sure he meant in the context of the hand described.

Opr

KK v Kx on an xxx flop also.

Not derailing Connies thread with pedantry but that's not what he meant. And i was only joking so relax!! :p

always good to see kk dead on the flop to q9.

Opr

just WOW.

Me: There's only 1 footballer i can think of who has scored for both Everton and Liverpool in Merseyside Derby.

Opr: Well David Johnson in the 70's and Peter Beardsley in the 90s!!

Me: Wow, cool!! :D

"KK can escape from anything except a straight flush" .....and 13 other flops :D

Connies thread i'll edit these out tomorrow if he wants me to, i was only flippin jokin!!

I'm out !

HJ stop posting random comments that have nothing to do with the thread your replying too :)

Opr

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

connie147 wrote: »
    Hi Tom,
    No,I never got the text. I was only saying to Mike that there must be something wrong as you normally dont miss your trip to the Kingdom!!
    Anyway, we'll hook up soon I'm sure

Connie
    Aye, I'm sick about missing it :(

Sounds like it was a blast.... Run another one... soon! :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Excellent weekend connie and matt.

Mispalyed trips done me in the ME and got bombed by the bomber in the €200 with him drawing to 3 outs. He must be the biggest luckbox of all time;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭caoimh36

Great weekend. Congrats to Connie, Derry, Matt and all others who made this a fantastic weekend, especially for Cork players. Congrats to Noel and Dix 1st and 3rd resp in ME, Sideshow and Paul 1st and 3rd resp in 200 and john sullivan chopping the 150.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

caoimh36 wrote: »
    Great weekend. Congrats to Connie, Derry, Matt and all others who made this a fantastic weekend, especially for Cork players. Congrats to Noel and Dix 1st and 3rd resp in ME, Sideshow and Paul 1st and 3rd resp in 200 and john sullivan chopping the 150.:)

I think there was snow at christmas once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

Well done Connie and Co....A superb weekend of Poker as always....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

nicnicnic wrote: »
    I think there was snow at christmas once

and the corkies came with there plough to clean it up :D:D:D:D

caoimh36 wrote: »

Yeah,congrats from all of us as well on the Cork lads wins. But note: ye'll have to do just as well in the next one to recoup the money we've won off ye in the last few years. Theres still a lot of Cork money on our side of the county bounds!!!:D

Connie

(seriously,well done to all)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭poorbarman

Excellent structure,wonderful tourney,well run,top job.Congrats to Matt,Connie and Derry....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭caoimh36

connie147 wrote: »
    Yeah,congrats from all of us as well on the Cork lads wins. But note: ye'll have to do just as well in the next one to recoup the money we've won off ye in the last few years. Theres still a lot of Cork money on our side of the county bounds!!!:D

Connie

(seriously,well done to all)

Agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭The Improver

ya nice results for Cork, its alot easier than the football.
    Well done to winners and the organizers.