Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masquerade Cocktail party

• 14-01-2008 12:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭

It's a mates of mine's GF 30th and I've been invited. It's a Masquerade Cocktail party.

What the feck am I going to hire/wear? that it won't look over the top or like I didn't make an effort (which would be worse).

Masks are obligatory. It's not for another 2 weeks so I have plenty of time to order something off the net and I live in London anyway.

And no, I don't think its going to be like 'Eyes wide Shut' (pity....)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Batman, nanananan na nana Batman!

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Phantom of the opera is easy. White half-face mask, black cloak, white shirt, black work pants.

Like most people, you'd probably only need to buy the cloak and mask.

It's also pretty classy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Crazy Christ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭flangeman

I was going to surprise them all by actually going in a cocktail dress.

But then they might think I'm a tranny (bit like those people who dress up as witches on Halloween, ye can tell there far too good at it and enjoying the experience a little too much).

He's going as batman and that's the end of it.

Lock the thread.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

ScumLord wrote: »
    He's going as batman and that's the end of it.

Lock the thread.

Not while Optimus Prime(tm) voice changers are available from all good outlets for 39.99, he isn't!

You can't Masquerade as a robot at a cocktail party. Robots don't drink cocktails.

just cos he doesn't have a mouth doesn't mean you know him.

...He uses a straw.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Go as Zorro, dead sexy ;) you even get to have a sword Zorro

• Registered Users Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

You can't Masquerade as a robot at a cocktail party. Robots don't drink cocktails.

http://www.futurama-area.de/bender-fly.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

All you need is a hockey shield and some dirty clothes; instant Jason Voorhies. Bound to be a big hit with the ladies.

SDooM wrote: »
    just cos he doesn't have a mouth doesn't mean you know him.
    I know his type. Coming over here stealing the jobs of hard working non-transforming vehicles.

Going as batman (disguised as Bruce Wayne) and constantly dropping hints that you are in fact batman is what Masquerade Cocktail parties are all about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

FFS it is a Masquerade not a fancy dress.

It is meant to be decadent and opulent.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Masquerade_ball

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Crazy Christ

Why not go as Ken Bigley's killers, their faces were covered

Thaedydal wrote: »

I wonder how many people will turn up in fancy dress? I hope it's just one so they stand out like a sore thumb. And I also hope there dressed as Batman.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,994 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Put a condom on your nose.

When they ask who you're supposed to be, tell 'em "F*ck Nose":o

I know his type. Coming over here stealing the jobs of hard working non-transforming vehicles.

Going as batman (disguised as Bruce Wayne) and constantly dropping hints that you are in fact batman is what Masquerade Cocktail parties are all about.

Give him a break, he's a refugee from a war torn land. All he wants is his chance to earn an honest living.

I MIGHT give you the batman thing if every female there dresses as catwoman.

Well, that would be a pretty boring 30th.

... unless the phantom turns up. that'd kind of rule.

You are missing the point of the masquerade, you get to misbehave and flirt and carry on outrageously as you are in disguise and the better the disguise the more you can get away with.

Often masquerades were used as excuses to have an orgy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

This is AH, if the OP wanted serious replies perhaps a post in Fashion/Appearance or Gift/Festivity/Party ideas would have been more apt.
    Thanks for the link BTW, none of us knew what a masquerade ball was...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Dont go as Zorro, last fancy dress party I went to there was 3 Zorros at, 2 wonderwomans, 2 bat womans, 2 batmans....

Oh and 2 Snow whites.

Go as a surgeon and where the surgeons mask over your face...

Quality wrote: »
    Dont go as Zorro, last fancy dress party I went to there was 3 Zorros at, 2 wonderwomans, 2 bat womans, 2 batmans....

Aw there goes my dream :(

You are missing the point of the masquerade, you get to misbehave and flirt and carry on outrageously as you are in disguise and the better the disguise the more you can get away with.

Often masquerades were used as excuses to have an orgy.

yes remember that tom cruise film! Forget the name though, very naughty party idea if that's what yis will be getting up to :eek:

eyes wide shut.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 29,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Harlequin?
    Pierrot?