Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hit and run Naas Rd 10/01/08

• 10-01-2008 10:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,048 ✭✭✭✭

Just a quick one. I was hit at the junction of the Naas Rd/Kylemore road at McDonalds this morning. Front forks bent. Faring cracked etc. Big damage.

The 'gentleman' driving the old model light green metalic Fiat Punto who hit me decided to leave the scene without approaching me.

If anyone witnessed this or knows such a car with recent damage to the passenger side please PM me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

I assume you contacted the Gards? and i hope you catch the bastard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,048 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Yes I've made a statement and been to my doctor.

I'm a reasonable man but his leaving the scene has really irked me.

murphaph wrote: »
    Yes I've made a statement and been to my doctor.

I'm a reasonable man but his leaving the scene has really irked me.

I dont blame you Did he even wait to see if you got back up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

bastard, same thing happened to a friend of mine luckily he was ok but they never found the prick

hope the garda catch the fooker

(apolagies for the language, hit and runs really piss me off)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Aren't hit & runs punishable by castration? They should be... :mad:

I'm gutted for you murphaph... I'm glad you're ok and I hope they catch the c*nt and make him pay! :( :mad:

I dont blame you Did he even wait to see if you got back up?
    No. He stopped on the left on the citybound side of the Naas Rd (alongside the Homebase retail park fence) to inspect his own vehicle. By the time I'd gotten my bike upright (by myself-thanks Dublin (with the exception of one young guy who i think was waiting for a tram)for offering no assistance to me whatsoever) and looked back down the road he'd taken off. He obviously had a little 'think' and decided he would get away with it and sure "it's only a bike-right?".

I'm kicking myself I didn't get a reg but I was sure he'd pulled in to exchange details and we'd be on our ways. I couldn't believe it when I looked again and he'd gone.

I am not overly confident that the Guards will be able to do anything but the area is riddled with CCTV from what I can see. They said they'd ask the businesses in the area if there's any available. I am not so much annoyed with the accident. Ok, he should have waited until I'd cleared the junction. He did not have a green light. Even if he had a green light it only means "proceed if the way is clear" not "go". The way was not clear as I was still in the junction. However-he decided to flee the scene and that's what's really got my goat. He didn't know the condition of myself-broken wrist, arm, concussion?

On a side note. I am not convinced at all by the handling of this so far by the Gardai. When I made the initial call just a few minutes after the incident they told me to come in to the station that evening and make a statement. Why couldn't they have put out a call on the radio for squad cars just to keep an eye out for a light green metalic Punto with nearside damage? They might have just got lucky but they didn't even want to know anything over the phone.

The Guard who later took the statement was much better and I'm sure he'll do his best by me. At the end of the day-leaving the scene of an accident is supposed to be considered a serious criminal offence. An accident may or may not be due to criminal behaviour and if he'd stopped the Guards wouldn't have even been involved IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

put this up on biker.ie, there are a few bike cops on there (thestig is one) who might be a bit more inclined to listen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Dorsanty

If you think that a camera might have seen the incident or just picked up the car maybe when he stopped to check his own damage try to see if you can get the security people who run that camera to get the car details for you.

Hope they get the b'tard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,450 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

It's disgraceful the a-holes we have to share the roads with :mad:

I hope he gets cancer of the flute.

Moral of the story: if you're conscious, get a reg, even a partial reg, and never trust anyone. Some skanger stole my keys when I crashed...

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Chunkylover

theres a petrol station beside there i think, theyll have cctv, just not sure how much outside the station theyll show
    Hope ya get the bastard anyway

murphaph wrote: »
    No. He stopped on the left on the citybound side of the Naas Rd (alongside the Homebase retail park fence) to inspect his own vehicle. By the time I'd gotten my bike upright (by myself-thanks Dublin (with the exception of one young guy who i think was waiting for a tram)for offering no assistance to me whatsoever) and looked back down the road he'd taken off. He obviously had a little 'think' and decided he would get away with it and sure "it's only a bike-right?".

I'm kicking myself I didn't get a reg but I was sure he'd pulled in to exchange details and we'd be on our ways. I couldn't believe it when I looked again and he'd gone.

I am not overly confident that the Guards will be able to do anything but the area is riddled with CCTV from what I can see. They said they'd ask the businesses in the area if there's any available. I am not so much annoyed with the accident. Ok, he should have waited until I'd cleared the junction. He did not have a green light. Even if he had a green light it only means "proceed if the way is clear" not "go". The way was not clear as I was still in the junction. However-he decided to flee the scene and that's what's really got my goat. He didn't know the condition of myself-broken wrist, arm, concussion?

On a side note. I am not convinced at all by the handling of this so far by the Gardai. When I made the initial call just a few minutes after the incident they told me to come in to the station that evening and make a statement. Why couldn't they have put out a call on the radio for squad cars just to keep an eye out for a light green metalic Punto with nearside damage? They might have just got lucky but they didn't even want to know anything over the phone.

The Guard who later took the statement was much better and I'm sure he'll do his best by me. At the end of the day-leaving the scene of an accident is supposed to be considered a serious criminal offence. An accident may or may not be due to criminal behaviour and if he'd stopped the Guards wouldn't have even been involved IMO.

I had heard that in Hit and Runs on motorways the guards would contact toll boots in the area to keep an eye out for the car. If i were you id go to the businesses in the area myself cause the guards probly wont bother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Your lucky.

Feb. 1991

Hit & run on Griffith Ave (Dublin 9) at 4pm. Witnessed by alot of people.

Result = my wife broke her neck and is still receiving treatment to this day.

This is the worst kind of scumbag ba$tard on earth. Someone who couldn't give a rats arse about his victim. For all my hit and run driver knew, or cared about my wife could have been killed outright or got up and walked away. Either way he didn't give a fvck.

I was driving a Yamaha RD350YPVS at the time, that was a right off too.

Did they not catch him?:eek:

If your asking me, no they didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,450 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Mairt wrote: »
    If your asking me, no they didn't.

I wish I could say I was surprised, the Gardai don't give a shît about RTAs in my experience unfortunately, even those involving serious injury.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

ninja900 wrote: »
    I wish I could say I was surprised, the Gardai don't give a shît about RTAs in my experience unfortunately, even those involving serious injury.
    I wish I could disagree, but I can't. To be honest I was treated like the criminal because I hadn't gotten around to re-registering the bike with irish plates yet-shock horror the revenue had to wait an extra few months for my €109 VRT and €67 tax. Wow-I should be locked up and sure the car driver probably didn't see me what with the headlight and reflective vest! What an idiot I am. I was also told to produce MY licence and insurance and when I did return to the station desk to do so I was asked "where were you stopped?" to which I lost the plot and explained that I was the VICTIM and the chap who left was the CRIMINAL and that I hadn't been stopped ANYWHERE. In any case, so inneffecive are these people that I (accidentally) handed in an out of date cert of insurance which was accepted!!! I ask you-what do we pay their wages for again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Oh good lord, this is such a joke.

I am absolutely flabbergasted that they spoke to you in such a manner. I know 95% of all people that show up at the public counter are there to produce their licence, and 4% are there to ask where the passport forms are, but it is a sign of the times that they assume you are guilty and therefore show no resemblance of courtesy.

However, having seen the attitude of 95% of shop staff having the same "you are here to buy something from me" rather than "what can I do to sell you something" attitude, it is hardly surprising.

I'm sure that after a few years of hardship, some of these people will cop on to themselves.

I hope that you can get somewhere with this case, and at the very least, I am glad that you are actually in a position to be going around Garda stations shouting at them rather than lying in a hospital bed.

Best of luck with it.

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭delop

you know this guy probably goes to work or home from that route everyday, If i were you Id keep an eye out around the time it happened, and the same place, 2 hrs on a tue evening, you might get lucky....

delop wrote: »
    you know this guy probably goes to work or home from that route everyday, If i were you Id keep an eye out around the time it happened, and the same place, 2 hrs on a tue evening, you might get lucky....
    That has been suggested to me (by the guard amongst others!) and I'll be giving it a go. I'll check out other junctions nearby every now and again should this individual try alternate routes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭delop

Im sure it was also suggested to you not to speak to him, just get his reg and a look at him, but dont interact, he will claim ignorance and you will then want to well you know...

good luck bud, he does need to be singled out, he has absolutely no leg to stand on, terrible unbrotherly behavour...

and if you dont find him, not to worry, Im a big believer in Karma, you have some good stuff coming your way, buy a lotto ticket, and as for the other fella, the unniverse will sort him out....

And thats a good idea.

For two weeks running I'd bits of a bike stolen from it on the same street, both on a Saturday afternoon.

Figuring there was a patern I sat near my bike the third week and caught the fvcker. Unfortunetly although I called the cops, the cop took the guys details told him to produce his tax & insurance and let him go!!!. This was despite me pointing out to the cop that the guys bike was hotwired :eek:

Cops are lazy cvnts IMO.

Im sure it was also suggested to you not to speak to him, just get his reg and a look at him, but dont interact, he will claim ignorance and you will then want to well you know...
    Yeah. I know. I can get his address in 20 minutes once I have his reg (assuming he's all legal and above board etc.) and if he's reading this he better change his commute completely and/or get a different motor. I'd be happy just to discommode him as much as he's discommoded me.
    and if you dont find him, not to worry, Im a big believer in Karma, you have some good stuff coming your way, buy a lotto ticket, and as for the other fella, the unniverse will sort him out....
    Karma eh? We'll see. Years ago when I was not long driving cars I nudged into a (badly parked) car in a car park at night and I wasn't sure if i'd done damage and I drove about half a mile away BUT I knew I should go back and sure enough there was a nice dent in yer woman's car. I left my details tucked under her wiper and it cost me a couple of hundred bucks to fix it. I could have easily disappeared into the night but I didn't because that would have been a 'bad thing'. I wonder will that bit of karma come back to me and this b0llox will get caught?! I like the lotto ticket idea though. Brand new VFR800 hmmmm.....

If I did find his address and got no satisfaction the legal route I'd never dream of visiting his car and leaving a bottle of brake fluid all over it at 2am. ;)

Anyway. Just bought a second hand set of forks on eBay there. Hopefully they'll fit! Forks are forking expensive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Kat1170

If you do manage to get his details you could get someone to ring the guards with this info. saying they saw the accident but didn't want to get involved.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭colsku

If you get his details, get yourself a baseball bat, a ballaclava and some acid!

People like him are a disgrace to humanity....

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

colsku wrote: »
    If you get his details, get yourself a baseball bat, a ballaclava and some acid!

People like him are a disgrace to humanity....
    And battering someone to a pulp makes you something humanity should honour?