Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vista Needs More Polish?

• 10-01-2008 2:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭

Didnt want to post this in the Windows forum as it may start off a back lash but i thought i would throw it up here so we can appreciate a bit of honesty from Gates and appreciate Mac OS x a bit more!

http://gizmodo.com/342920/holy-crap-did-bill-gates-just-say-windows-sucks

who'd a thought Vista needed a bit more polish before being shipped?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭BanzaiBk

Could possibly say the same for Leopard tbh. I never had this many random crashes/freezing with Tiger. In fact yeah I had zero issues with Tiger lol.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,551 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I've only one annoying thing that keeps happening on Leopord, iMail keeps hanging when crashing and lossing any draft e-mails I';ve saved.

Its bloody annoying and I'm thinking I'll switch to Thunderbird soon over it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭unklerosco

I've found safari is freezing alot... Way more than it used to. Firefox was always freezing so I tried out safari on Tiger n it was grand...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

sorry lads, i sold out and use MS entourage for email on the mac. For some reason i can never get outgoing mail to work thru Mail. :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,698 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

No amount of polish will fix Vista. Leopard certainly could have done with a little more however. Like the so-called unified UI which Apple abandoned to go make phones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Breezer

No amount of polish will fix Vista. Leopard certainly could have done with a little more however. Like the so-called unified UI which Apple abandoned to go make phones.
    You mean there isn't a unified UI? Weird-looking stuff crops up? One more reason to stick with Tiger for the moment so.

What Windows needs is a complete rewrite, abandoning the mire that is the registry. Can't see it happening anytime soon though, it'd break too much stuff. Unless they make a 'Classic' mode of some description. :confused:

Kinda related, I really think MS should lose the different "levels" of Vista and produce one disc that has everything on it for everyone to experience. All this Ultimate/Premium garbage is crazy and confusing to the average consumer.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,698 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Breezer wrote: »
    You mean there isn't a unified UI? Weird-looking stuff crops up? One more reason to stick with Tiger for the moment so.
    Tiger's UI was ten times worse. Leopard is an improvement but there are sloppy leftovers like aqua scroll-bars that look totally out of place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I love networking in 10.5

It's so straight forward.

But the random crashes are getting seriously annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Rumour has it that Vista could be MS's last OS "as we know it". There's no point in investing billions of dollars in bells and whistles for new operating systems in the age of broadband, when a huge proportion of the apps we use are hosted on servers and accessed via a browser. The differences between OSs are therefore far fewer than they used to be, and MS make feck all money from them anyway.

BanzaiBk wrote:
    I never had this many random crashes/freezing with Tiger. In fact yeah I had zero issues with Tiger lol.
    But the random crashes are getting seriously annoying.

What kind of crashes are guys having? I haven't had any. Although I have sometimes experienced the system seizing up after been left idle for a while. Takes about a minute for it to right itself. I think there may be something up with Leopard's memory management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭foobar

Vista UI is a vast improvement over XP ... but XP did look like something out of a child's coloring book.

foobar wrote: »
    Vista UI is a vast improvement over XP ... but XP did look like something out of a child's coloring book.

XP is seriously stable though (never had a BSOD in 5 years), and is compatible with everything under the sun. It looked fine for its time and most Windows users couldn't give a toss about how it looks.

I prefer Apple's strategy of releasing minor revisions frequently and major versions infrequently, things seem to go far more smoothly. Haven't had any problems with Leopard yet myself.

For me iMail, safari and garage band crashes when under minimal stress. I have the highest spec 24" imac with 4GB RAM that I fitted myself and is perfectly operational, these programmes should be a doodle for the computer right? If I leave it on for 10 mins while I'm on the phone or talking to someone , then move the mouse it locks up and I have to reboot. If I'm talking on Skype and browsing the internet, and another person messages me both Skype and Safari crash, I get a beachball for a minute or so and the computer freezes. I've been on to Apple a few times over this and was told initially "we're releasing a patch soon" which was the most recent imac update but that has fixed nothing, now I'm being told "the next update tba at MW 2008 will adress all your issues".

I must add that this imac was preloaded with Tiger, and I had absolutely zero issues with it. It was absolutely flawless. I did a clean install of Leopard which was fine for the first 2 or so weeks and gradually descended into a crash/freeze mire. I put Leopard on my Mac Mini and it had similar issues, in the end I wiped it and reinstalled Tiger. I'm considering doing the same with my imac:(

What kind of crashes are guys having? I haven't had any. Although I have sometimes experienced the system seizing up after been left idle for a while. Takes about a minute for it to right itself. I think there may be something up with Leopard's memory management.
    Whole screen goes grey and I get the message up telling my to hold down the power key in various languages.

lol I got this one for the first time last night while posting in the Capitalising Mac thread:(

Its the secret Mac equivalent of the BSOD.

Oh, speaking of: http://gamecheats.eu/bsod/2.gif

BanzaiBk wrote:
    For me Mail, safari and garage band crashes when under minimal stress.

Yeah Mail crashes at least once day for me which it never did before. I've always found Safari to be wildly unstable tbh but I've noticed a huge improvement since installing Pithhelmet. I think there's a problem with flash ads.
    Kernel panic. Might be a hardware problem. Try disconnecting any external devices. I'd recommend doing a clean install. Did you do an upgrade from Tiger? This shouldn't be happening on a regular basis or there's something serious wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Dorsanty

So far only chalked up 1 crash on 10.5 and it was 10.5.0

Hoping for some polish with 10.5.2 which is meant to be due for release at the start of MacWorld.

Only disappointment so far has been getting my windows shares to show up in the finder. Can't get it working for love nor money.

Kernel panic. Might be a hardware problem. Try disconnecting any external devices. I'd recommend doing a clean install. Did you do an upgrade from Tiger? This shouldn't be happening on a regular basis or there's something serious wrong.

Yeah. It's a Mac Book Pro.. only about a month old. But it came pre-installed with 10.4 and an upgrade disc to 10.5.

How often has it happened? The only time I've ever had a kernel panic with my current machine was when one of the RAM chips became loose. I got about 10 in a row, lol, scary stuff. Have you added any RAM? Might be worth taking the chips out and re-seating them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

The only time I've ever had a kernel panic with my current machine was when one of the RAM chips became loose.

Before I did a fresh install of Leopard I bought and installed an extra 1.5GB of RAM for my PowerMac Dual G5. At first all was fine but after 3 days I had a few Kernal Panics. Shortly after 10.5.1 was released I installed it - no panics since !?

Safari and Mail have been flawless ever since and run all day without issue.
    dorsanty wrote:
    . . . so far has been getting my windows shares to show up in the finder.

Have you enabled "Connected Servers" in the Finder Menu > Preferences > Connected Servers menu.

ZEN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Read the thread title and wondered why Vista needed more Polish above German, Russian ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭babypink

BanzaiBk wrote: »
    lol I got this one for the first time last night while posting in the Capitalising Mac thread:(
    anyone ever get the chimes of doom when booting???

i've got them and it freaked me out.....didn't know what the hell was going on, then the sad mac codes came up. :D (it was an old machine)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

There were quite a few "bad news" chimes - Car crash, glass breaking, among others.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

440Hz wrote: »
    Read the thread title and wondered why Vista needed more Polish above German, Russian ...

damn beat me to it!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

440Hz wrote: »
    faceman wrote: »
    damn beat me to it!!! :D

so glad i wasn't the only one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,543 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

You can't polish a turd.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭triple h

Very good videos. I like the way Bill just says it. I read some of the comments from the videos and i have to agree with one guy when he said he would rather have lunch/dinner with Bill over Steve. Even though i think Mac OSX is way better than windows and Steve is exciting to watch and listen to, i reckon Bill is the nicer guy. I could be wrong.

Anyway, back to the post above, i am surprised so many people have problems with leopard.
    I love mail --- not once has it caused me problems, i read all my .mac email, my O2 email and GMail email all in mail. I love mail.
    Safari --- i love it. Once every two weeks it conks out on me. But i just restart and i am up banging away again.

I got 1 kernal panic since upgrading to Leopard ( forget how, i mentioned it here)

Other than that i love Leopard and have had no trouble. Touch wood.

Also having zero trouble with Leopard here. But there are a couple of guys over in the Recording/Mixing/Pro Audio forum who said they won't be touching it until certain issues are solved. That has more to do with Pro Tools than anything else though.
    triple h wrote:
    Very good videos. I like the way Bill just says it. I read some of the comments from the videos and i have to agree with one guy when he said he would rather have lunch/dinner with Bill over Steve. Even though i think Mac OSX is way better than windows and Steve is exciting to watch and listen to, i reckon Bill is the nicer guy. I could be wrong.

I think I'd agree with you. I saw the movie Pirates of Silicon Valley this week, its about the early days of Apple and MS and all the major players. Neither Gates nor Jobs were portrayed in a particularly favourable light, Gates was shown to be a ruthless business-type (which Jobs abhorred) and Jobs was portrayed as a dreamer without much regard for practicalities. I know its just a movie but its regarded as fairly accurate. Anyway I'd definitely recommend watching it, history in the making :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,543 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

cornbb wrote: »
    I saw the movie Pirates of Silicon Valley this week, its about the early days of Apple and MS and all the major players. Neither Gates nor Jobs were portrayed in a particularly favourable light, Gates was shown to be a ruthless business-type (which Jobs abhorred) and Jobs was portrayed as a dreamer without much regard for practicalities. I know its just a movie but its regarded as fairly accurate. Anyway I'd definitely recommend watching it, history in the making :)

It's entertaining but semi-fictional imho.
    Also - history is written by the victors - I'm reading a book at the moment about Commodore. The author thinks it's odd that that film makes no mention of them even though they were bigger than Apple and MS at that time. He also says Woz is known to repeat the claim that Apple were the first to sell a million computers, they weren't...

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.