Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Malahide prices!.

• 09-01-2008 10:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭

I don't drink in Malahide to much, but last night was a reminder why.

€5- for a pint of Carlsberg and then got the worst chipper in the world.

Cod & chips €9.95 'SPECIAL' lol.. Special BS.

I'm not a stingey fvcker, but €5- a pint is just taking the pi$$. And then to make it worse Ronan fvcking Keating was drinking at the next table and talking music bullsh*t.

But having said that the pints where grand, good crowd & a DJ on a Tuesday night (Gibneys).

Rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

€5 a pint for the opportunity of happy slapping ronan keating? Bargain!

Normally i wouldn't condone happy slapping but for ultra-gimps I'd make an exception

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

My cousin has a particular dish at the Beachcomber that he introduced me to last year.

Start with a snack box, 2 breasts of chicken, curry sauce and cheese on top. It's the food of the gods when you've had a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Swords is about the same, its 5.10 for a pint of heinken in the one decent pub in the town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

I thought we were starting a thread on property prices. Phew!

Mairt, do you not see the problem there?

You complain about paying €5 a pint, but yet you say, the pints were grand and there was a good crowd. So which is it? :D

Are you willing to pay for good pints? Or would you rather crappy pints for €4.20?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    I thought we were starting a thread on property prices. Phew!

Mairt, do you not see the problem there?

You complain about paying €5 a pint, but yet you say, the pints were grand and there was a good crowd. So which is it? :D

Are you willing to pay for good pints? Or would you rather crappy pints for €4.20?

But this is the thing Tom.

I can go to my local (Campions, Malahide Rd) and have a great pint for 50 cent less or the leisure centre in Portmarnock for 80 cent cheaper, but without the DJ.

Like I said, I'm not mean with my money but I hate getting ripped.

If the pub owner wants to attract the crowd with a DJ let him pay for it, not us.

Oh yea, the worst chiper in the world.. Next door to Duffy's, a little place. Horrible, horrible yucky food.

Back to Campions and the bar TV for entertainment :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

I feel the pain Op I hate to pay 5 euro for beer in fact when this becomes standard I will be leaving the pub :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Mairt wrote: »

Heh, remember one Sunday a few weeks ago Basic Instinct was on TV?

Was in Campions that night, all the aul lads bet into the telly for a look at Sharon's Snack Box. :D

It was a sight to behold. (Sharon's Snack Box, not the drooling aul lads!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

its one of the things i love going home(west) for. a nice pint of heineken is 3.70 in my local. dublin the cheapest iv got i think is 4.60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

prendy wrote: »
    its one of the things i love going home(west) for. a nice pint of heineken is 3.70 in my local. dublin the cheapest iv got i think is 4.60.

harrys bar on nassau st used to do pints for 3:50 heneken and bud:mad: and other largers until it closed some time mid last year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Kazobel

In my local in wicklow it's only 4.20 for a bud so Guiness is probably dirt cheap but the whole town is full of pubs so there's loads of competition to keep the prices down. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

€3.80 for Heineken up here. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭H.O.T.A.S.

Mairt wrote: »
    But this is the thing Tom.

I can go to my local (Campions, Malahide Rd) and have a great pint for 50 cent less or the leisure centre in Portmarnock for 80 cent cheaper, but without the DJ.

Like I said, I'm not mean with my money but I hate getting ripped.

If the pub owner wants to attract the crowd with a DJ let him pay for it, not us.

Oh yea, the worst chiper in the world.. Next door to Duffy's, a little place. Horrible, horrible yucky food.

Jaysus Mairt didn't know you drank in the Centre (Great for cheap booze) but yeah you're right Malahide has become a bit too expensive for my likes. Still don't get me started on Tomangoes!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Jolly Toper in finglas has bavaria,fosters and tennants all for 3.50 pint.Malahide's a wankery,posuery kip anyway.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

it €5.50 for heino in the Messrs Maguire after 12am :eek:

i was back in wicklow for christmas and got 4 pints in and i got €3.00 change from a twenty, i had handed the girl €25.00.

but as was said previously, if you are not happy with the price of drink you shouldnt pay it, speak with your feet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

irishbird wrote: »
    speak with your feet

I keep trying that, but I always put my foot in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I'd pay extra so I wouldn't have to listen to a DJ or look at a TV..

Because I go to a pub to drink and have conversation.

I guess I'm just old fashioned...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Degsy wrote: »
    Jolly Toper in finglas has bavaria,fosters and tennants all for 3.50 pint.Malahide's a wankery,posuery kip anyway.

Tell ya sommat, they would want to drop it to 1.50 a pint before i would sup with the greasy haired tattooed detritus who drink in those kips.

Stink of fags/stale fat/and porter farts would knock down a bull rhino.

No fcukin thanks.

Tell ya sommat, they would want to drop it to 1.50 a pint before i would sup with the greasy haired tattooed detritus who drink in those kips.

No fcukin thanks.

banty boy, this isnt the thunderdome, you have to be somewhat polite here :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

No fcukin thanks.

You wouldnt be welcome anyway,they dont have a hydraulic lift.

Degsy wrote: »
    You wouldnt be welcome anyway,they dont have a hydraulic lift.

so how do you get in then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

irishbird wrote: »
    banty boy, this isnt the thunderdome, you have to be somewhat polite here :D

Facts dear woman,facts.

Factual reporting obviates the need for politeness.

Facts dear woman,facts.

Factual reporting obviates the need for politeness.

oh are you missing me over in the 'dome? i shall head over directly and abuse you, good sir:p