Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

McGowans

• 06-01-2008 5:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭

I went to McGowans of phibsboro last night because i heard it was full of nurses gaggin for it. Not true. I wasted a half hour each on two birds before they showed me their wedding rings:eek: Couldnt believe it. How do these places get their reputation, coppers is the same. People say its easy to pull in there too but i dont think so. Most chicks in there just go cause they like getting attention from pissed office lads but theres not many putting out. Whats a man to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Because once the reputation is established the place becomes swamped with desperate lads and the whole situation is inverted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Zing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭barneysplash

Swordfight, - şőŗď_fÎţė - Noun when a bar is full of red-blooded, horny lads looking to get their end away with anything in a skirt.

Whats a man to do?

Well for a start you could take it to the personal issues forum and stop cluttering up BGRH with your girlish whining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I went to McGowans of phibsboro last night because i heard it was full of nurses gaggin for it. Not true. I wasted a half hour each on two birds before they showed me their wedding rings:eek: Couldnt believe it. How do these places get their reputation, coppers is the same. People say its easy to pull in there too but i dont think so. Most chicks in there just go cause they like getting attention from pissed office lads but theres not many putting out. Whats a man to do?

Maybe its you and not the women

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Swordfight, - şőŗď_fÎţė - Noun when a bar is full of red-blooded, horny lads looking to get their end away with anything in a skirt.

And when this happens you will find alot of cock-blocking going on.

In all fairness if the men in Coppers put more effort into pulling than the classic...

"Fancy a shag in exchange for a bag of chips Babe?"
    "No?"
    "NEXT!!!!"

They might actually get some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭waxon-waxoff

Well for a start you could take it to the personal issues forum and stop cluttering up BGRH with your girlish whining.

Im just havin a laff fella, as far as i can see bgrh is already cluttered with crap

Sacrilege!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Say what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Sean7

I go to McGowan's every odd week just because I happen to live close by and I've not seen much of the alleged flocksof nurses myself. But it's close and open late so I couldn't give a toss.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I used to go to McGoawan's regularly about 10-12 years ago as a couple of friends lived nearby. It didn't have the reputation it does now then, it was just a good pub that was always a bit of craic. Things started to go downhill when they opened the upstairs part as the average age in the place plummeted, presumably as they were less picky about who to let in so they could fill the place. As for it being full of nurses, well it was always popular with the staff from the Mater. I went in one night on crutches and passed a table of 4 girls who started slagging me about my crutches being too high, I was using them wrongly, etc. Turned out they were a bunch of pissed physiotherapists. So much for the caring medical profession. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭waxon-waxoff

Im sorry Mr. Dunne, in the heat of the moment i made a rash comment and id like to withdraw that remark. Bgrh does not contain any traces of crap whatsoever.

Now then, back to business; what about those nurses:D

What's the nurse appeal anyway?

I can understand how in the past it would have been a predominantly feminine profession.. but that isn't the case these days.

Is it the same reason women like firemen?

I really don't get how you could be attracted to someone purely based on their profession... with the possible exception of zookeepers.

4011.JPG

I can understand how in the past it would have been a predominantly feminine profession.. but that isn't the case these days.

Is it the same reason women like firemen?

I really don't get how you could be attracted to someone purely based on their profession... with the possible exception of zookeepers.

I think it is because nursing is such a thankless job, and nurses want to squeeze in some fun between wiping noses,
    and taking sh^t from smart-as$ doctors. They really go for it and let their hair down big time. Also in the real
    world their uniforms are horrible, so they really glam it up and pull out all the stops to be feminine whenever they can.

Any nurses in here?

Mod edit: but that sound is being drowned out by the tapping of the banstick.

Ah Jaysus, Brother Tom please do something about that last post.

zaph wrote: »
    4011.JPG

Ooooooooh... matron!

zaph wrote: »
    Ah Jaysus, Brother Tom please do something about that last post.

The report post button is to your left.

tom dunne wrote: »

Thank God for that button.

tom dunne wrote: »

Yeah, but I'm too lazy to use it

The system works...

My apologies, I did not mean to offend anyone. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Blokes who fancy nurses are just looking for a new mammy.

OP you should find a place where you can sit comfortably with a pint and good view of the TV. Let the women come to you.

Pigman II wrote: »
    Blokes who fancy nurses are just looking for a new mammy.

That or someone who knows how to milk a prostate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 the_brain

How do these places get their reputation, coppers is the same. People say its easy to pull in there too but i dont think so.

from what ive heard these were all rumours started by the people who own places like coppers and mcgowans in order to increase business

*also a possible rumour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

She spends her day with incontinent people and bedpans - what's she going to say no to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I think theres something about the seedy atmosphere in places like Coppers and McGowans that just put me off the men in it. Although I do notice alot of couples go to McGowans so its not quite in the same league as coppers.

@OP Don't worry about not pulling, I always find I pull when I don't want to pull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

I wasted a half hour each on two birds before they showed me their wedding rings:eek:
    If you were a grown-up with a well-trained eye you would have been able to spot the wedding rings on those two birds from the far side of Dalymount Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Friend of mine shagged a girl he met there in the bus shelter that's almost directly outside. Must be some truth in it.

jdivision wrote: »
    Friend of mine shagged a girl he met there in the bus shelter that's almost directly outside. Must be some truth in it.

Im sure thats happened with people in every bar in the city, even the bar in Leinster house. Maybe not a bus shelter but you know what I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Stky10

As the old saying goes... there are only two sure things in life... death... and nurses...

Wow... never been there before but actually ended up in this place this evening...

It really is filled with desperate losers... It's almost funny to watch them try.

And the ring thing is a way of telling you to f*ck off, I watched a girl do it to a creepy guy and asked her about it afterwards, she wasn't actually married.

Got to wonder about the type of girls that would frequent the place though.

Wonder if they live in Phibsboro?

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Wonder if they live in Phibsboro?
    It certainly would be convenient somehow....

And you can't argue with €3 vodka and OJ.

It certainly would be convenient somehow....

And you can't argue with €3 vodka and OJ.

I go there for three euro drinks on a thursday plus I always a laugh there. I never realised it had a rep like coppers but I suppose it always full of desperate culchies up for the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

I used to live literally accross the road, and my three housemates worked there, so would pop over now and then.

Good drink offers, good grub, but was never a place I'd look at for scoring...

Well... Maybe that's a lie, but I'd have never thought it would have the same reputation as Coppers.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Sean7 wrote: »
    I go to McGowan's every odd week just because I happen to live close by and I've not seen much of the alleged flocksof nurses myself. But it's close and open late so I couldn't give a toss.

Do you not have to sit in a bush for hours with a slow capture camera and david attenborough narating before you can see such things as flocks of nurses?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

And the ring thing is a way of telling you to f*ck off, I watched a girl do it to a creepy guy and asked her about it afterwards, she wasn't actually married.

Got to wonder why the ring thing? I mean if they don't want to be hassled, why not go to a pub where they won't be hassled?

Lux23 wrote: »
    @OP Don't worry about not pulling, I always find I pull when I don't want to pull.

So you get raped a lot?

Your clever, aren't you?

What I mean is when I don't try to attract any attention I get loads of it.

So you get raped a lot?

Less of that, please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I went to McGowans of phibsboro last night because i heard it was full of nurses gaggin for it. Not true...... ......How do these places get their reputation
    McGowan's was popular with nurses back in the 1990s when the School in the neaby St Brendan's (Grangegorman) was in full swing. The nurses residence on Grangegorman Road Upper was only a few minutes walk away. ;)

Many Mater based nurses also lived in the area but the Celtic Tiger pushed house rental prices too far and most probably moved further out of town.

Barry's Hotel used to have a "Nurses Night" up to a few years ago but I think they dropped the name after complaints on Liveline.