Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Question for Boru

• 05-01-2008 4:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

You mention on the Krav Maga Thread that you had listed your qualifications on a different post so I looked it up (I would have asked this question on that thread but it has been locked). The post was on the 28/11/2006 and the list of qualifications is a mile long. You mention that you are a 6th Dan in Shotokan Karate, you also mention that you have been studying the martial arts for 14 years. How did you manage to get to 6th Dan in such a short space of time? I would like to know your secret! :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/archive/index.php/t-2055021424.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭SorGan

jjb27 wrote: »
    You mention on the Krav Maga Thread that you had listed your qualifications on a different post so I looked it up (I would have asked this question on that thread but it has been locked). The post was on the 28/11/2006 and the list of qualifications is a mile long. You mention that you are a 6th Dan in Shotokan Karate, you also mention that you have been studying the martial arts for 14 years. How did you manage to get to 6th Dan in such a short space of time? I would like to know your secret! :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/archive/index.php/t-2055021424.html

actually the quote is this
    I started my qualifications around 4 years ago, so I am still very new to fitness training, with a huge amount to learn still. Prior to that had been a martial artist for 14 years and studied a great deal informally so as to make myself a better martial artist. Really helped me out.

are you looking to train with him?
    if so why not pm him and ask him yourself?
    out of interest, how long in your opinion does it take to reach that level?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 jmcguire

Kind of curious about his myself ...Most of the courses check out on the web, but most are only day or part time courses so almost anyoune with the time interest or money could do them...What bothers me is the tone of this guy's posts. They are at the very least, self promotional and smug, but at worst just pushing his business interests which unless I am mistaken is against the code of conduct of the site.That however is for the mods to decide though.

Pictures of the guy, who is Paul J. O Brien put him in the 20 something age group. Sixth Dan in Shotokan in your twenties is an amazing achievement. Most guys dont get that for a long time. There are guys in Irleand who have been training since the 1980's to get this far, and they are still at Godan (or in english 5th dan). So if he is in his 20's he is amazing or else he has been practicing since he was a foetus. This is a quick google search result. The first site that worked and had list of instructors...

http://www.uskf.org/Default.aspx?tabid=12952I

do not do shotokan but as far as I know it is one of the styles that engages in full contact sparring at the upper levels in place of kumite and in order to progress up the ranks you would have to win quite a few fights. This however could be my misconception of Shotokan and is not in anyway an attack or commentary on its training methods. Horses for courses.A further google search shows no results except those for his business interests and some references back to this site.Those who are interested or just having a slow day at work can go and read articles on Pauls (Boru's) websites at

http://www.isometric-training.comandwww.meridian-acupuncture-clinic.com

particularly like the " about me" bit, its classic karate kid stuff.For a Pt instructor he likes to keep his shirt on. Where are those famous 7 second abs of his? Could he not show us his massive biceps?The whole thing reads like a bad Susan Jeffers rip off.However if thats what floats your boat so be it. If it gets you interested in being fit fantastic, but not my personal choice.

What confuses me also is the mish mash of stuff. Why do chinese medicine and fitness instruction. Never seen any mention of chi in runners world or for that matter in any other reputable health and fitness article, book or medical journal. Why have both areas? Why have both a fitness empire and a chinesemedical clinic? Don't they both contradict each other pretty seriously?If you believe in chi, why do a reality based self defence system?

What the hell does that mean anyway? What are all the rest of us doing? Of in our own crazy reality. Not saying that they do not doing good stuff have not trained with them. Just object to the terinology. Seems to suggest that they are the so;e guardians of a reality that the rest of the martial arts fraternity have not woken up, where it appears to me the most of the martial arts are a direct response to that reality.

It seems to me to this is bit of a catch all attempt and a rather cynical one at that. Boru is providing a kind of one stop shop where he provides easy solutions to all of lifes problems. He can sell you a set of 7 second abs, a chi realignment and then put an inch on your biceps in three minutes a day.Harder, better, faster and yet spiritually reassured and full of chi.Reading the article "about me " gives you a pretty clear insite into what kind of preson you are dealing with here...Check this quote..

" it all changed for me when I started getting badly bullied in school I was sent by (sic) to a martial arts school to learn Shotokan Karate .....In little over a year I had become a different person. I stood tall, I was strong,fit and for the first time had muscles"

This can be read here...
    http://www.isometric-training.com/about-me.htmlwhere

where other virtues like personal training and site built it are extolled.Tried to find out where this guy trains but no luck so far. His name appears on an article about self defence at self-defence-ireland.com but that site does not seem to be working at the mo.

Maybe I should pop done to see him for a green tea ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

jmcguire wrote: »
    Kind of curious about his myself ...Most of the courses check out on the web, but most are only day or part time courses so almost anyoune with the time interest or money could do them...What bothers me is the tone of this guy's posts.

Hey there,

I've met Boru and talked to him over the email for quite a bit now, and he's a sound lad. He's also a talented Martial Artist, and RBSD guy.

While you may not agree with everything he says (which is fair enough) imo he's always tried to offer good advise, and help people out where he can.

As for a bit of pluggin' - think most of us do it here, but I don' think it's in a bad way. It's hard not to plug something that your passionate about. I've ended up training, and meeting some really good lads because of a bit of pluggin'. So I hope it doesn't stop.:)

Well, that's just my take,

Cheers,

R.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Hey i would not plug my Boxing lessons!!!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭The FitnessDock

Wow - there are 2 people with no previous posts to their name, who are soooo "curious" to find out more about Boru that they registered accounts on Boards to do so! :rolleyes:

cowzerp wrote: »
    Hey i would not plug my Boxing lessons!!!

Class..... :D:D

Nor me with; C O M B A T I V E S...C O M B A T I V E S...C O M B A T I V E S...C O M B A T I V E S...

In fact "These are the classes you looking for..." (old Jedi mind trick). :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Wow - there are 2 people with no previous posts to their name, who are soooo "curious" to find out more about Boru that they registered accounts on Boards to do so! :rolleyes:

Yup, this smells like BS. I call for an IP checku!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Boru is classic, leave him be.

And also, check this out...
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=geZoES9KQ-Q Wait until the second scene.

So that's what Bruce Lee is doing with himself these days... I always knew he was still alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

boru must have had a falling out with someone recently

sure his marketing blurb for his ebooks are quite ott but his advice on here seems sound enough

also i go to college with a shotokan karate 2nd dan black belt and he is 18 so i imagine if he wanted he could get 3 more levels before he is 30 so its defo possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭ryoishin

I would believe any stories about grades at any age. There was a club who guarenteed a black belt in 14 weeks!

And theres always someone willing to grade you around Christmas for the cash esp in the more popular belt styles. Not all just saying if you look hard enough. Oh and im not saying thats how boru got his. I dont think he sounded pompus just responding to what he was asked.

You want abbs train like this guy, if you can stop laughing
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YyW3AnxYCe4

ryoishin wrote: »
    I would believe any stories about grades at any age. There was a club who guarenteed a black belt in 14 weeks!

And theres always someone willing to grade you around Christmas for the cash esp in the more popular belt styles. Not all just saying if you look hard enough. Oh and im not saying thats how boru got his. I dont think he sounded pompus just responding to what he was asked.

You want abbs train like this guy, if you can stop laughing
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YyW3AnxYCe4

lol sweet:D
    BORU ROCKS!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 jjb27

I regret the way this thread has headed and I apologise to Boru. I was asking a question I was curious about to a fictional name. I did not foresee the thread naming and slaging the person. As Boru's real name (i'm assuming as I don't know Boru from adam) has been mentioned I think this thread should be deleted.

Curious your name is Paul and you work in Fitness?

Maybe you are Boru?

Anymore amazing coincidences?

Are most of the people here invovled in teaching martial arts or are there anyone you does not make their living out of something else?

Peakoutput, when did your friend start training?
    Is there an adult and junior ranking system?

Still a 2nd dan at 18 is some achievement.

Do not know boru and therefore could not have had falling out with him.
    Just a little sceptical about his claims. However if that is not allowed fair enough. There seems to be quite a lot of other people who seem to be fairly sceptical about what he is saying to.

In the Krav Maga thread that was locked he seemed to come in for quite a bit of stick from a few people. This was fair enough too as he was making quite a lot of outrageuous claims about what he had done.

He only named one guy, dave, who he claims to thrown while at a bujinkan class. As far as I know they dont compete in bujinkan or perform techniques against full resistance so what kind of test of skill is that?
    He says it was not a big deal so why mention it?

It might be interesting to hear from dave. Ireland is a small place so within the Bujinkan in Ireland someone should know who this guy dave "the top class judoka" is and tell him he is being claimed as a scalp on the net.
    And I'm sorry but I don't keep precise tack records of every single conflict I have been in trainng or in real life - I doubt you guys can either

This is very convient isnt it?

As to conflict and training there is a big, big difference. One is training, which as far as I know is a progressive development of a person and their skills base and the other is an all out confrontation. Randori for example is not viewed as conflict, but rather an extension of training. It would be interesting to hear from MMA people here, but most I have spoken to seem to think that matches are not conflict per say but rather a test of skill and training.

They do not kill each other in ring. In a way it could be viewed as an extreme form of training. The guy who loses in a cage match may not see it that way. Getting your block knocked off is not going to seem like someone helping you find the weaknesses in your game.

So how can you count training encounters as conflicts?
    Also if Boru is praticing the skills he professes in real life of conflict avoidnance what is he doing getting into conflicts?
    shot (with a BB gun - not the real thing folks)

There is so much wrong with this to my mind I do not know where to start.

Is Boru a qualified fire arms instructor?
    It strikes me that BB guns work a bit differently than the real thing.
    Also why is he teaching people how to defend themselves against fire arms? Is this not really dangerous?

The last time I checked fire arms are illegal in Ireland.
    Most firearms related crimes are comitted against other criminals.
    The risk of being shot is pretty low in Ireland and I have heard the best
    defence if faced with gun is to run away in zig - zag pattern
    (This piece of advice was gleaned from some survival dude in the US who was on a TV show that told you "how to survive" different events)
    It's pretty hard for a Judoka to throw you when he steps in grabs your shirt and you've pumped in 6-7 times in the gut or his kidneys with the knife you had concealed.

Pretty sure carrying and use of concealed weapons is illegal in Ireland. Definitely illegal to stab someone. Why would a judoka go up and grab someone to throw them? Judo does not really advocate a first strike policy. I stand to be corrected however. A lot of army and cops do judo
    as it has been shown to be very effective in restraining people and a good way to keep skills up without the associated risks of injury that CQB training involve. It would be foolish to assume that a judoka only knows how to throw and that would be his main source of attack.

If you have a preset drill of "attack me with a throw" as you the instructor demonstrate "what could happen" then that is not " a real " situation. That is a demonstration and the student is being co -operative.

If the student said " get lost " then he would not learn anything. I can defend against any technique by refusing to train or by legging it, but if the student has paid a fee then they are going to co -operate to learn.

Also,
    Another huge problem is that of Use of Force and I know I keep harping on about this but it's true and people need to be aware of it. If you go out on the street and in legitimate self defense manage to use a Judo throw on someone who chances are doesn't know how to break fall - in all probability his head is going to towards hard unyielding concrete with enough force and speed to kill him. And boom he's dead and you've just committed manslaughter are the very least. Because it was not in keeping with the legal use of force parameters. That's not self defense, that's a prison sentence

This seems to fly in the face of everthing that you are saying above. Judo as far as I know is designed to throw people safely. You tend to pull people out of the throw at the last minute so they land on their back. Upleasant but generally non fatal.

The law enforcement agencies who use judo would not use it other wise. Check it out, there are Army and Garda judo clubs in Ireland. The army no longer teaches CQB but something else instead, the US army CQB manual is based heavily on MMA as is the MCMA the martial art used by the Marines. Krav Maga is meant to be based on Judo, boxing and wrestling.
    Most guys who do this in Israel do another martial as well to keep up their skills

Why would you throw someone anyway? You would not have to unless they were going to do something nasty to you. If you going around throwing people to get your jollies then there is something wrong with you. Whats more people who do judo (or another sport martial art) are used to doing techniques against fully resistive opponents at full speed.

They also tend to be used to dealing with people of all levels of ability and therefore react appropritely. I am sure all combative people will of course, tell me otherwise.

Most combative stuff I have seen advocates of weapons or "force multipliers" which is definitely illegal, is often a disproportionate escalation of force and also buts you at risk of losing your weapon or "force multiplier" and having it wrapped around your head or worse.

Of course my opinion is subjective but I think that like all the other people here I am entitled to it and to express it. The same is true of everyone else. Think of this not as an argument, but rather a discussion and then you will not get offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

Peakoutput, when did your friend start training?
    Is there an adult and junior ranking system?

Still a 2nd dan at 18 is some achievement.

if i remember correctly he said he started when he was 8, obviously im goin on what he told me now and iv been bull****ted by martial arts types before but he also represented ireland in the world championships in either(cant remember exactly) china or japan so hes obviously relatively cream of the crop in ireland at least

PeakOutput wrote: »
    if i remember correctly he said he started when he was 8, obviously im goin on what he told me now and iv been bull****ted by martial arts types before but he also represented ireland in the world championships in either(cant remember exactly) china or japan so hes obviously relatively cream of the crop in ireland at least

Well thats fair enough. If he was at the worlds then he must have something going for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Maybe he did everything.
    I was in school with a lad (I'd say everyone has a story like this) who used to go on about how good he was at kratty, and how good his Da was as well, and how he could beat up older kids. If you said "my da lifted 100kilos last week", he'd say "oh yeah well my Da was world champion at lifting 1000kilos and once killed Hulk Hogan and then brought him back to life". If you told him you were getting a new jersey, he'd say "oh yeah well I'm getting the new jersey for NEXT season".

Boru reminds me of him. Like I said though maybe he's dodged the snipers, been almost mown down by automatic weapons fire in a dramatically unreported incident in Belfast, beaten all the steroid fuelled Russians in Shotokan death matches and beaten all the judoka, mmaers and othrs he's claimed to have beaten. You never, never know. Different frogs, different times.

Oh yeah and that lad also told us one weekend that he was going for trials with Liverpool and that he might not be back on the Monday, but then one of the lads saw him with his folks in Courtown that weekend. So I guess the moral of the story is don't lie or eventually you'll be caught out.

jjb27 wrote: »
    I regret the way this thread has headed and I apologise to Boru. I was asking a question I was curious about to a fictional name. I did not foresee the thread naming and slaging the person. As Boru's real name (i'm assuming as I don't know Boru from adam) has been mentioned I think this thread should be deleted.

Why should it be deleted?

As for naming Boru, if you follow the links a the end of every single one of his posts then you will go to one of his business pages where there are full bios, names of the places where he works and pictures of him as well. If he does not want to be named he does not have to have these things attached to his profile or his posts.

I presume he has them to draw attention to himself and his businesses. This is hard to do if you do not want people to find out who you are.
    If you want no one to know who you are while you are in business go and work for ninja burger;

http://ninjaburger.com/

or you could try out as Ashida Kims assistant;

http://www.ashidakim.com/

you could also try these guys... :D

http://www.realultimatepower.net/

especially if you want to wail on Pirates and be friends with hippos :D:D:D

Not slagging off anyone, unless asking questions is slagging someone.
    I have my opinion. I am open minded enough to have it changed, but for me that will require some kind of persuasion.

Anyway if he is the real deal, a few people have said so already, then what has he got to worry about?

Roper wrote: »
    Maybe he did everything.
    I was in school with a lad (I'd say everyone has a story like this) who used to go on about how good he was at kratty, and how good his Da was as well, and how he could beat up older kids. If you said "my da lifted 100kilos last week", he'd say "oh yeah well my Da was world champion at lifting 1000kilos and once killed Hulk Hogan and then brought him back to life". If you told him you were getting a new jersey, he'd say "oh yeah well I'm getting the new jersey for NEXT season".

Boru reminds me of him. Like I said though maybe he's dodged the snipers, been almost mown down by automatic weapons fire in a dramatically unreported incident in Belfast, beaten all the steroid fuelled Russians in Shotokan death matches and beaten all the judoka, mmaers and othrs he's claimed to have beaten. You never, never know. Different frogs, different times.

Oh yeah and that lad also told us one weekend that he was going for trials with Liverpool and that he might not be back on the Monday, but then one of the lads saw him with his folks in Courtown that weekend. So I guess the moral of the story is don't lie or eventually you'll be caught out.

LOLL Now thats funny!!!!
    Made me laugh out loud and snort coffee out my nose.
    You win the prize Roper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭ryoishin

You could be a junior black belt only having to do half the number of the lower ranks to get to black then when you hit 16 (or whatever age) to go for your second and from there.

In some circles in Japan a 6th dan is no big deal coz theres loads of them. And depending on the MA or style you could only actualy do a physical test up to 3rd dan (or whatever) and then you get your fourth coz you ve helped the community in some way or wrote a good essay about what your style has done for you in your life etc. So you could hit 6th dan pretty quickly in those circumstances.

Sure concealed knives are illegal and so are guns and you even need a lisence for an immitation gun but so is starting fights but that does nt mean you should nt learn to defend against them if you can.

Sure Boru can answer for himself.

(sorry for the bad spelling)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

What i find odd is that someone would register a new account just to have a go. By odd I mean sad.

ryoishin wrote: »
    You could be a junior black belt only having to do half the number of the lower ranks to get to black then when you hit 16 (or whatever age) to go for your second and from there.

In some circles in Japan a 6th dan is no big deal coz theres loads of them. And depending on the MA or style you could only actualy do a physical test up to 3rd dan (or whatever) and then you get your fourth coz you ve helped the community in some way or wrote a good essay about what your style has done for you in your life etc. So you could hit 6th dan pretty quickly in those circumstances.

Sure concealed knives are illegal and so are guns and you even need a lisence for an immitation gun but so is starting fights but that does nt mean you should nt learn to defend against them if you can.

Sure Boru can answer for himself.

(sorry for the bad spelling)

Thanks for the answer.

Not disputing the value of learning martial arts/self defence, but just believe that martial arts for self defence purposes is a hollow pursuit, and would question the value of a self defence system that does not have a method of trying out its techniques against fully resisting opponents.

It is ok doing self defence, but if you have to use it surely you are going be more effective if you have the skills base and have been pressure tested. Not saying that Krav Maga techniques don't work but if you have never used one to completion then how do you know what will actually happen?

The "armoured up guy" will not be there so things might go better or worse for you. You could drop the guy, this could be good or you gouge his eye out. What also could happen is you could break every bone in your hand hitting him, he takes it and them smacks you even harder for hitting him and you now have to fight with some broken fingers.

Most sports people who are serious have had some kind of injury normally during a competition and many of them will keep going regardless. This is due to the fact they have pushed themselves beyond their limits all their lives and will do the same in a fight. They will also be used to effects of adrenaline and will move in a co - ordianted way.

Who would you rather fight someone who did a rbsd weekend course, or Paul O Connell the Irish rugby international?

I know who I would rather fight.

As I already said if you go round starting fight then there is something wrong with you.

Boston wrote: »
    What i find odd is that someone would register a new account just to have a go. By odd I mean sad.

fair enough

Not disputing the value of learning martial arts/self defence, but just believe that martial arts for self defence purposes is a hollow pursuit, and would question the value of a self defence system that does not have a method of trying out its techniques against fully resisting opponents.
    hollow...to you, id agree with the point about fully resistant training, but just because it aint sporty training doesnt mean that it isnt trained with pressure and non compliant opponents
    It is ok doing self defence, but if you have to use it surely you are going be more effective if you have the skills base and have been pressure tested. Not saying that Krav Maga techniques don't work but if you have never used one to completion then how do you know what will actually happen?
    to completion?...such as punching kicking elbows?..as for as i know krav aint lots of eye poking :)

Who would you rather fight someone who did a rbsd weekend course, or Paul O Connell the Irish rugby international?
    why only a weekend course? granted their are lots of weekend warriors out there that want the one class to become hardassed, but there are plenty of lads that take this type of training seriously and put weeks/months/years into it.
    and who says rugby lads can fight anyway:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

fair enough

There's a lot of people that lurk on this forum and they may only feel motivated to register and contribute because they read something they consider grossly misleading/inaccurate they need to question/refute. Boru is a big boy and doesn't need anyone holding his hand or shouting his corner, if he had an interest in defending himself or his claims he'd respond to this thread which he hasn't. No skin off anyone's nose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

There's a lot of people that lurk on this forum and they may only feel motivated to register and contribute because they read something they consider grossly misleading/inaccurate they need to question/refute. Boru is a big boy and doesn't need anyone holding his hand or shouting his corner, if he had an interest in defending himself or his claims he'd respond to this thread which he hasn't. No skin off anyone's nose.

I'm saying the user has multiple accounts.