Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for a bit of advice please...

Options
  • 04-01-2008 10:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭

Hi all, sorry if these questions have been asked before, but I really need some advice on computer please!

Basically I'm big into digital imaging (I'm doing a degree in photogrpahy and this is a big part of it). I was working on an image today and it was massive (the whole PSD file was 250MB) and with my whole 1Gb of RAM each filter I applied took about 5 minutes to load lol.

So I need a computer capable of handling these files in photoshop. So, what kind of specs am I looking at? The only computer component I know about is RAM, but I'm guessing that's not the only important thing...?

Also my tutor said something about a dual head graphics card, at least I think thats what he called it- basically it lets you plug in two monitors at once, but they act as though they're the same screen (just like the nintendo DS does, ie, each screen doesn't just display the same thing, but continues on from the other one).

Is there any light to be shed? lol Cheers!!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭irlrobins

More ram will allow you to display the image quicker, so if you want to decrease load time, double your RAM to 2GB. Dual monitors will allow you to view more of the image at once, but wouldn't help with loading time. Depending on the type of images you work with, a professional 2D graphics card might have a performance effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Dr.Louis

Thanks, So you think I could just upgrade instead of buying a new computer?