Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was your worst job ever?

• 04-01-2008 9:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭

The worst way to earn a shilling,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭pid()

I once worked in a kitchen in a hotel when i was 17. I was a deep scrubber, so I washed all the plates, pots, etc etc. I worked for 9 hours without a break, and when I was finished work all of my nails fell off my hands, as they were in ROASTING water for the entire time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Quality wrote: »
    The worst way to earn a shilling,

Not sure how true it is as the story came from a friend of a friend, but
    apparently they spent a summer working on a farm in England ... as ....
    pig w*nkers!

They were cooked up in a shed all day stimulating pigs in the scorching heat
    ... and even after umpteen showers afterwards, any night they'd go out,
    the pores would open and they'd still smell like pigs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Petey2006

I managed a deli for a summer. And when I say managed, I mean worked single handedly to keep the place open from 7am til 4pm. I'd arrive in at 6.30. Make 6 different salads, cook 2 full hams, bake all the rolls and baguettes and cuisine de france stuff (I've had an aversion to it ever since). Cook 8 chickens, 40 sausages, 40 slices of bacon, 2 white and 2 black puddings. All while the jackasses on the tils just stood there staring at me. And then, every sunday, this one fella would walk in and I'd start crying. Because every time, he'd order 30 breakfast rolls. Trying to make that and deal with the post-mass rush would leave me dying. I hated, HATED that job.

It doesn't sound bad compared to pig ****, I will admit, but everything's relative!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Rent boy.

Dunnes Stores part time as a young lad in the drapery section....every time aT closing we had to fold those FCUKING MESSY WOMEN CLOTHES TABLES AND IT TOOK 3 HOURS!

I HATED IT

Good thread Quality ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Making about 8 billion teas and coffees in Bewleys for 9 hours every Saturday and Sunday was kinda crap, As was building a house in Toronto in December in the double-digits below zero.

EDIT: actually LOL what am I thinking, working in Intel was the most soul crushing experience of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I worked as a porter in a hotel, but mainly I was the do everything boy.

I'd to clean up the ball rooms after the previous night's night club - fookin disgusting. Hoovering up vomit, disposing of condoms, sweeping broken glass, clearing up toilets. Oh and wimmins are faaaaar dirtier than mens.

I once had to clean a wall where a clever girl had spelt her name with her tampon :(

connundrum wrote: »

I once had to clean a wall where a clever girl had spelt her name with her tampon :(

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I'd to clean up the ball rooms after the previous night's night club - fookin disgusting. Hoovering up vomit, disposing of condoms, sweeping broken glass, clearing up toilets. Oh and wimmins are faaaaar dirtier than mens.

:D:D:D Thats priceless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Worked full time in Penney's for a month, being on the floor was grand but I dispised being on changing rooms, fecking mothers coming in with a billion clothes to try on their wee darlings, I'd have an absolute mountain of clothes to put back out on the floor, it was just such a mess, plus I had a wagon of a supervisor who was on a major power trip, oh well done you're a supervisor in Penneys, big bloody deal :mad: wagon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Worked in a slaughter house killing sheep (in the mornings I'd kill upwards of 300 sheep) and in the afternoon I'd kill cattle (can't remember the numbers, but it was probably slightly less than the sheep.

That was dirty work.

Dracula's teabag?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭kev_s88

worked security at oxygen.my first day and i had to work a 20 hour shift stopping scumbags from hopping the fences and tryin 2 get in for free

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

I once had to clean a wall where a clever girl had spelt her name with her tampon

NICE...i think that may be the sickest thing iv seen on here in a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

So long breakfast, i hardly digested you.

oh and i'm with mairt, the time i spent in the slaughter house was by far the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭endplate

INTEL

think i win!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Petey2006

Oh yeah, I completely forgot about this... probably blocked it out... I worked in Chartbusters in Stillorgan for a while. The genius in charge of the company (names withheld!) had the... bizarre idea that when people go in for a video or DVD, what they really want is a tan. So he installed tanning booths in the store. Now these things were filthy and stank, as you'd expect when people would strip naked and stand in a coffin-sized room for 10 minutes while UV lamps slowly gave them cancer.
    Anyway, as, I dunno, a bet or as due to some fetishistic tendencies, some fella went in and jerked off in the booth, spraying his own tanning lotion all over the wall. As an employee of Chartbusters, one of our jobs was to go in and clean the booths every day. This one incident happened a week into my term there. When faced with this, I flat out refused to clean it. And never cleaned the booths again. Also, some other person took a dump in one of the booths one day.

And another time I was held up by the world's stupidest junkie. One of the most bizarre experiences of my life. But that's a story for another day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

If working in Penneys was that bad for some of you lot, may the flying spaghetti monster help ye when you get a real job. Penneys was a great place to work compared to many of the part-time jobs I did over the years...

The absolute worst though would have been when I worked the fairground in Funderland. Dealing with the dregs of Dublin society for 12 hours a day with a half hour for your dinner and fifteen minutes for lunch for two weeks straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

mcdonalds in tallaght. worst job ever. i was VERY stuck for work that summer so just had to grin and bear it. stank of mcdonalds food after work, and even a shower wouldnt get the smell off ya. cúnty managers havin month round periods bitchin at ya all the while ya dont give a shlt about wat u r doin, for less than minimum wage, and every fri nite havin to deal with the junkies comin into the jacks and shooting up/ridin etc etc. only enjoyable thing was the tart of a boss gettin attacked by some little knacker young one. worst job ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭Ballerina

Working in a kitchen RIDDLED with mice

other things made it the best job ever though...

Petey2006 wrote: »
    I worked in Chartbusters in Stillorgan for a while. The genius in charge of the company (names withheld!) had the... bizarre idea that when people go in for a video or DVD, what they really want is a tan. So he installed tanning booths in the store. Now these things were filthy and stank, as you'd expect when people would strip naked and stand in a coffin-sized room for 10 minutes while UV lamps slowly gave them cancer.
    Anyway, as, I dunno, a bet or as due to some fetishistic tendencies, some fella went in and jerked off in the booth, spraying his own tanning lotion all over the wall. .

Had you said 'ClareHall' I'd have held my hand up and apologised to you :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

I'm getting a violent, eye melting attack of deja vu here but, worked a milk round in Nielstown before, that had its moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

a mate of mine was in Germany on a student exchange jobbie, and hung on for the summer as she met a fella over there. She ended up working in a cherry factory. She was on the production line, picking bad cherries off the line, as millions of them zoomed past her every day..

She always said that after a day or two she was going mad with the boredom- and she did the job for 3 months :)

..but thats not a patch on the nightclub cleaning story is it really :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Electric

I worked in an industrial laundry one summer when I was in college. My first day there my supervisor said to me "You'll study for your exams now!" Boy was he right it was the worse job ever!

Standing for 12 hours with a 15 minute break in the morning and evening and half an hour for lunch. You were either on sorting duty or ironing duty. Basically all the manky filthy disgusting table linen bed sheets etc would arrive in and they all had to be sorted and all the crap tangled up in them chucked out.

8am and you're wading through tablecloths stinking of week old Chinese and Indian, bedsheet destroyed in blood, p*ss and sh*t. Pulling out condoms, tampons, underwear, knives, forks, spoons you name it! All while trying to keep from puking your breakfast up into your face mask

When you'd finished sorting you had to to stand a feed napkins into this machine that ironed them. After about 15 minutes you lost the will to live. Feeding huge trolleys of this stuff into be ironed. Then you'd have to go down the back and check through every single one to make sure they were spotless and package them up. If you didn't have enough to meet your quota you had to start again!

I really really hated that job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

Working for a company that sold wheelchairs. I hate wheelchairs. Somehow I was made warehouse manager. I hate counting stock!

I also worked in a large bar in the midlands for two nights only cos they made me stock about 4 floors of bars by myself all night when I thought I was supposed to be working in the nightclub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

Petey2006 wrote: »
    And another time I was held up by the world's stupidest junkie. One of the most bizarre experiences of my life. But that's a story for another day.

That's a bannable offence right there. You can't be doing that sh1t with what sounds like a really good story.

GET THE FOOK BACK HERE AND TELL ALL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

padser wrote: »

GET THE FOOK BACK HERE AND TELL ALL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Sorting empty bottles in a pub the morning after the night before....for 4 years :( Not the worst, but i dispised that job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    Sorting empty bottles in a pub the morning after the night before....for 4 years :( Not the worst, but i dispised that job.

Ironically a friend of mine is doing the very thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Nanoose2

The worst job I ever had was with a company that
    contracted work from BC forestry.
    They gave us crappy unsafe equipment to use –
    Didn’t inform us when the trees that we were going to plant that day were sprayed with fungicides or tell us to put on the proper gear so we all got rashes and the lips of smokers in the grew swelled up 10x the normal size.
    And the worst is the boss’s wife would sun bath on top of the van in a bathing suit – well we slaved away for minimum wage.
    Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 delo18

Worst for me was making chicken tikka and egg mayo in vats for a deli - there's nothing quite like being up to your elbows in stinky mayo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Working in Brown Thomas Dublin

+1 on Dunnes stores drapery section, some bloody hours folding all those clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Overhauling sewage pumps, including the taking them out and putting them back into the sewer part. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭gaf1983

Sleepy wrote: »
    The absolute worst though would have been when I worked the fairground in Funderland. Dealing with the dregs of Dublin society for 12 hours a day with a half hour for your dinner and fifteen minutes for lunch for two weeks straight.

+1, except it was for Funderland when they rolled into Limerick. I was selling tickets for this sort of raffle (read "scam") so I also had to handle all the dregs' complaints. A colleague of mine, a girl, got fired for fighting with a girl who worked on the merry-go-round opposite us.

The job was ok during the day I guess, the only thing was my stall-owner, even though he sold thousands of raffle tickets a day, didn't bother putting any bins in front of the stand, so when everyone went home we'd have to sweep the gravelly ground in front of it spotless. My hands and lungs would be grey for days after from the dust, no matter how much I washed them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Jose Gonzalez

This is not my story but it deserves to be told. My buddy used to work the night shift in a porn store in Vancouver. He used to get a load of freaks in buying all kinds of kinky stuff eg. rubber fists etc. and even once got held up by a black guy. However his job was't the worst. There were 12 **** booths in the store where you could pay 50 cent and jack off to a dirty movie. Besides guy's spurting man sauce all over the place there would also be junkies using the place to shoot up. Anyway there was a Mexican immigrant who got a whole 6 Canadian dollars to clean up all twelve booths. This is the worst job Ive heard of. If that isn't bad enough one night he was reaching down the side of a chair and caught HIV off a needle that was stuck there. He never sued the owner because he was an illegal immigrant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Kitchen Porter without a doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭foxy06

Tell us more.......