Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

J1 in New York alone

• 03-01-2008 4:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36

Ive been thinking for the last while that I might do a J1 in New York this summer. I've done one in California before so i'm looking for something a bit different. Only downside is i'll most likely be going alone :(
    Has anyone had any experience going there alone? Is it hard to meet people?
    I have relatives out there so won't be completely alone but I definitly want to meet new people. Ive been there on holidays before so know the area a bit. Ive read on other threads that most people stay in queens?
    Any info appreciated! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭sharkDawg

I did a J1 in New York last summer, went over with a gang of friends, but really only slept in the same house as them. I got a job as a doorman in a residential building in midtown, made loads of friends through work, two guys especially who used to bring me all over the place. Did things i never would have done with my irish friends. If your relatives would put you up, i'd say go, it's such an amazing city. Most Irish J1'ers either live in Queens (Sunnyside or Woodside) or Bronx (Woodlawn), both irish communities. We lived in woodlawn as one of the lads had a house sorted, it's a nice area, but a bit far from town, took me the guts of an hour on the subway to get to work on 57th st. I've an aunt living in Sunnyside, and she's only 20mins from grand central! Irish bars are always great for meeting people.

If you've anymore questions, im happy to answer them as best i can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Player_86

I did the J1 in New York last year also. Went over with a big bunch of lads, stayed on East 15th Street in Manhattan, got some bar work.

My advice is to stay out in the suburbs e.g. Woodlawn or Woodside etc. Living in Manhattan is unbelievably expensive. Rents are obviously high, and things like food, drink etc cost a fortune. It cost so much to go out (beers were 6 or 7 dollars everywhere) that we eventually just started getting the subway out to Woodlawn, which is a great laugh, full of Irish, and immeasurably cheaper.

We befriended a guy who came over on his own. He told us he had been a bit apprehensive coming over with nobody, but he got on grand, got a good job as a doorman and had great craic with us. Don't let that put you off would be my advice.

Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭LuckyCharms

Hey, i plan on going over to ny on the j1 on my own(atm anyway) in the summer too so atleast you won't be the only one :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Fizzy86

Thanks for the advice!
    Do you know if people who went on their own sorted out their accomodation before they went or just found it there? I think i'd be a bit wary of arranging something before I went tho in case I ended up living with some crazy American! :eek: