Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celebrity Jigs and Reels?!

• 01-01-2008 12:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭

Who was watching the results?

I'm highly confused. Did Damien Farrelly not get more marks than the other fella yet they gave the trophy to the other guy WHY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Brian017

I didn't it so you'll have to excuse me if I'm totally wrong; but maybe the judges marks were combined with the public vote.

and I want to know was it live or recorded? Cause I saw an ad for it a few weeks back and they had their arms crossed, being merry and ticker tape falling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭petals

I don't think it was pre-recorded.. maybe the ad was a clip from last years show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭deeobrien

yah looks like they mixed it up from what I can see. Wasn't paying too close attention but I didn't notice any public vote. It certainly didn't look pre-recorded as Marty first said Damien was the winner and then changed it to the other guy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

whatever about it anyways.

It was and is complete HORSE MANURE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭deisemum

It was the combined public and judges vote that counted so Eoin Murphy won.

Come on the Deise :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭humaxf1

that show was total TURD. how can RTE justify the cost of a TV lic and show that crap is just beyond me.

I got the tailend of the show on BBC and especially the fireworks...they were absolutely FANTASTIC. I don't care what anyone says about the Brits, but they can certainly put on a show compared to this kip of a banana republic which calls itself a country. As for Marty Whelan and whoever was running "Celebrity 2 left feet" who cannot count...shame on you, you shower of to$$ers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Turned this on to catch the New Year countdown (honest!) and caught this farce instead. TBH the whole thing stunk of a fix. Through the miracle of Sky plus we were able to go back and look at it again. And again. And again. It was bloody hilarious! The first couple got the votes 9, 9 and 8 from the judges. The second couple 10, 10 and 8. The third got less. Note that there were a lot of confused "that's the wrong number" type glances among the judges during this. Marty gets ready to announce the winner, says it's the second couple (who have higher marks)...... and then changes his mind and says it's the first (after clearly receiving a message in his earpiece) - and looks like he can't believe it himself! There's a bit of confusion and Marty asks someone to confirm that the first couple are indeed the winners. However, nothing was mentioned of a public vote (at this stage) that I saw and if the earlier public vote (to decide the final couples) was being used, how the hell was it being combined with the judges' votes? It doesn't make any sense!

I reckon that the "confidential" judges' votes were set beforehand to be 10, 9, 8 and 9, 10, 8 for the two couples, with the programme then going to a 'public' cliffhanger just before the New Year countdown. However one of the judges ****ed up and got the couples' votes mixed up (most likely Jean Butler from the anxious faces she was making).

hi padraig,

ye, the whole show is a complete farce... when RTE or whoever the production company is try to copy the BBC/ITV etc, they make an absolute BALLS of it. but of course they justify it and make it out to be brilliant. Any chance that you could Youtube the voting please?

cheers and happy new year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

We were over at a friend's so it was his TV and I don't think he saved it unfortunately. Have to say the show did have some entertainment value in a 'so bad it's good kinda way'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

hahahah sounds crazy. I was horrified to see this on last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

It was pretty hilarious to be honest. What made it even funnier was that Marty didn't even say that there was a mistake, he announced Damien as the winner and as he was celebrating Marty asked the winner, Eoin, to step forward. The reactions were so funny. Also, the fact that the winner was given a glass vase thing made it even funnier. Like it was an achievement or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Next Year Dublin needs to have a massive NYE Celebration. London Sydney New York Berlin Rome all have 'em...it's about time Dublin got some decent fireworks and highlighted the city!

Ya but if they try they will fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

janeybabe wrote: »
    Ya but if they try they will fail.
    Thats the spirit.

Well it might work if they start planning it now. I heard that the fireworks in Sydney took 11 months to plan. The Capital of Culture celebrations in Cork were pretty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

I too was watching the bbc instead.
    A teriffic fireworks display and then Jules Holland hootenany on bbc2
    far more entertaining than the dross on rte

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Jools all the way for me....flicked around during Kate Nash and couldn't believe what I was seeing on RTÉ1...or rather I could. "So bad it's good" viewing? "Car crash TV?" Sorry, but I've never gotten that concept...soemthing is either sh*te or it isn't; if it's sh*te, you don't watch it, simple as. Anyone who says they're watching something because it's bad is probably just ashamed that they have sh*tty viewing habits.
    Our lovely licence fee at work, shambolic, disgrace, etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Tallspoon

I tuned into ITV -Take That live from the O2 Arena and it was pure magic. What an absolutely brilliant show and a real treat for the viewers (I dont know how the Boyz will match that!). The chemistry and easy humour between the band and the audience was great to see and a great way to end the year.
    I dont understand why anybody would tune into such a cheap, tacky production as Jigs 'n' Reels even if it was for charidee. I mean you will never get that time back! I had no idea who most of the 'celebs were'. Somebody at RTE needs a good ass kicking if this was the best they could come up with.

PS
    Conspiracy theory alert!!!
    RTE knew they couldnt match the UK tv channels and CJ&R was a cheap half hearted token gesture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Wheels

I Sky+ed it for my mum and I cannot stop watching it. It's hilarious! Apparently it was a combi of the phone vote and judges vote to decide the winner but who the hell knows. The first couple Damien who got the highest score were convinced they'd won and were halfway on the dancefloor celebrating. Clearly those involved didn't even know what was happening.

I can only assume the budget was slashed as well because the production value was DIRE. And the set, while better then the last was still dodgey and horribly lit. RTÉ are f*cked when they need to start broadcasting in HD because you can't get away with lighting a bit of MDF and passing it off as a stage then.

I reckon RTE should not get away with this...

RTÉ exists to provide quality public service programmes on radio and television. The public pays a licence fee to receive these services. The standards we set for ourselves can be found in our RTÉ's Programme Standards and Guidelines 2007 .

Who are they trying to kid here??? Smarty Marty Whelan is well past his sell by and best before date. WTF does George Hook know about dancing...sounds like he's half jarred most of the time!

One web address is all we need

http://www.rte.ie/about/complaints.html

<HAHA, they have the nerve to show an ad for Bosco, Vol.2 DVD on sale, €19.95 on the above link. RTE was dire in the early 80's. Just shows nothing has changed>

humaxf1 wrote: »
    I reckon RTE should not get away with this...

RTÉ exists to provide quality public service programmes on radio and television. The public pays a licence fee to receive these services. The standards we set for ourselves can be found in our RTÉ's Programme Standards and Guidelines 2007 .

Who are they trying to kid here??? Smarty Marty Whelan is well past his sell by and best before date. WTF does George Hook know about dancing...sounds like he's half jarred most of the time!

One web address is all we need

http://www.rte.ie/about/complaints.html

<HAHA, they have the nerve to show an ad for Bosco, Vol.2 DVD on sale, €19.95 on the above link. RTE was dire in the early 80's. Just shows nothing has changed>

Complain about what exactly? It was either a presenter error or a production error. Either way it was just embarrassing but didn't break any rules. The phone vote served its purpose so no one was mis-led or scammed out of money. This BS of stamping our feet like babies just because "we pay the licence fee" is ridiculous, and it's that attitude that's killing the BBC. RTÉ is a semi state funded organisation, the rest it gets from ad revenue which shows like this help to maintain.

While I'm not a fan of the show, George Hook is there as entertainment vaule, always has been and no one has EVER hidden that fact. As for your off topic Bosco dig, what's your point? Because you feel the show was crap they simply shouldn't advertise it? Get a grip mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Any links to this? I need a giggle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

Noticed this myself.. hilarious.. But even funnier did anyone notice Marty saying they had some 'professional' dancers to entertain us... lo and behold all the eejits that were just being judged come straight back out, posing as pros.. shameless

hi wheels,

well, i made my point...you made your point...now, loosen yer knickers a bit there, luv.

c'mon, wake up and smell the turd...it was crap!!! george hook - entertainment? some people are easily entertained.

cheers :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Nah I won't be happy until a public tribunal has spent several hundred million euro on its own jigs and reels.

Mike.

karmabass wrote: »
    Noticed this myself.. hilarious.. But even funnier did anyone notice Marty saying they had some 'professional' dancers to entertain us... lo and behold all the eejits that were just being judged come straight back out, posing as pros.. shameless

No, they were actually the professional dancers that were paired with the 'celebrities'. The point was that they were showing what Irish dancing was supposed to look like.

The programme is being discussed on liveline

http://www.rte.ie/radio/index.html

Mike.

Painful listening.

mike65 wrote: »
    The programme is being discussed on liveline

http://www.rte.ie/radio/index.html

Mike.

Oh dear God, there are actually people saying it was the best night of their lives!

In defence of the indefensible.

Conspiracy forum: RTÉ rolling out their own shills to shore up support for this travesty.

Shocking stuff, everyone so far has been at least in thier 50s mainly older, and while many don't like it - they don't like it for the wrong reasons - not enough Ceili dancing etc!

Mike.

mike65 wrote: »
    Shocking stuff, everyone so far has been at least in thier 50s mainly older, and while many don't like it - they don't like it for the wrong reasons - not enough Ceili dancing etc!

Mike.

The suggestions of cabaret as well. Sure lash out June Rodgers while you're at it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

RTE 1 as a channel aimed at people outside of RTE 2's target audience. What were the odds.

I wasn't aware that only certain demographic groups stayed home to celebrate NYE or that only they should be catered for; You live and learn eh?
    I didn't watch Podge and Rodge, I rarely do....it tends to gravitate to the juvenille end of the market and that's fine on a boring weekday night but as a means to usher in a NY? [edit] The same can be said of CJ'n'R; it caters for an audience but on a night like NYE something a bit more special and perhaps of broader appeal is to be expected.
    I haven't seen any criticism of it (Podge and Rodge) so it must have been okay.
    Thanks f*ck for Jools is all I can say...

Liveline's presenter made the point that people were up in arms 3 yrs back when RTÉ prerecorded a show for NYE....but he didn't get why everyone was up in arms; RTE's attempt at passing the show off as live is what annoyed so many that time, not just the wages being paid to presenters or guests...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭tintin67

In defence of RTE, I imagine all involved knew this was utter crud, accepted this was utter crud and on that basis decided to do the best they could. Comparing this to the BBC New Year's fireworks spectacular show is unfair. Despite its detractors, UK television remains the best in the world. Irish viewers have for years had access to UK television and negatively compared RTE to this. I think you will find Jigs 'n' Reels was fairly typical, perhaps even superior to, programming but out by other state broadcasters in Europe on New Year's Eve.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭ruskin

Managed to unfortunatley catch rtes jogs and reels filth new years eve. What a pathetic mess. Many people might say its unfair to compare RTE to BBC and ITV, but granted, surely RTE could have put together a show for new years that would actually not cause you the desire to tear your eyes out. Would it really have been hard for RTE to get a few good irish singers and bands for a new years gig of some kind from dublin or somewhere? I also think back on the complete rubbish RTE fed us throughout christmas - Fair City Sings (? I hope someone was shot for that) and Killnascully. Sometimes I think RTE are really taking the piss with the licence payers, I really do.

ruskin wrote: »
    Managed to unfortunatley catch rtes jogs and reels filth new years eve. What a pathetic mess. Many people might say its unfair to compare RTE to BBC and ITV, but granted, surely RTE could have put together a show for new years that would actually not cause you the desire to tear your eyes out. Would it really have been hard for RTE to get a few good irish singers and bands for a new years gig of some kind from dublin or somewhere? I also think back on the complete rubbish RTE fed us throughout christmas - Fair City Sings (? I hope someone was shot for that) and Killnascully. Sometimes I think RTE are really taking the piss with the licence payers, I really do.

I've never been a fan of Killinascully but I thought the Christmas one was exceptionally well made, and appeared at least to have high production value. Even if it didn't have many laughs...

It's about money though. Unfortunately no matter what way you do the math there isn't enough of it. Television is incredibly expensive to produce, especially live TV and unfortunately we still haven't seemed to make a little look like a lot. Everything ends up looking cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Boardsbud

Agree completely with Tin Tin above. Why do we constantly compare RTE to the UK channels. We have a population equivilent to Greater Manchester in this country, lets get thinks in perspective. The licence fee can only be divided so many ways. RTE are not going to blow a ton of money on a live OB extravaganza on NYE because that would be hugely expensive and a waste of licence fee. The potential audience is not big enough to justify this. They chose a "demographic" to cater for, all in the name of "charidee", and it was never going to make eveyone happy. Interestingly J n' R was filmed in house this year and not in the much larger Ardmore Studios like last year. Obviously a cost cuting exercise in itself. While the set seemed a bit better the usual in house production was dire.

I'm the first to criticise RTE when they screw up but we really need to get over comparing them to BBC/ITV etc.... Jools' NYE show was brilliant in every way, great acts and great production values. It probably cost hundreds of thousands to produce though.

Jools's Annual Hootenanny had overnight rating of 2.9 million, Celebrity J n R proberbly weighed in with about 750,000. I wonder if the BBC production spent only 3 time as much?

Mike.

I'm sure the much vaster BBC coffers allow them to spend more "per head" on shows. I'd be surprised if J N' R got that many viewers i that slot. Any figures available ?

Not that I know of.

The total RTE income in 2005 was €180m in licence fee income and a further €220m so €0.400 billion, the BBC income is 2.9 billion euro (as of today).

UK pop 60 million, ROI pop 4.2 million.

Mike.

Boardsbud wrote: »
    I'm sure the much vaster BBC coffers allow them to spend more "per head" on shows. I'd be surprised if J N' R got that many viewers i that slot. Any figures available ?

Not at the moment but last year according to the papers when they first did the New Years thing they got a 40% share and had the highest New Years audience in 10 years. I would expect it to be high but I doubt 750,000 is accurate given the night that was in it.

And Mike makes a point that many people are trying to make, and it's that RTÉ is at the mercy of money. I'd say they were lucky if they had 200k to play with for the show.

I wouldnt say they even had half that amount. 60-80k more like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jb91

They should move the Skyfest to New Year's Eve and show it on RTÉ One.

Boardsbud wrote: »

From RTE

521,000 viewers viewed JnR between 9.30 and 10.30 pm.

Mike.

RT&#201 wrote: »
    From RTE
    RTÉ One's 'Celebrity Jigs 'n' Reels New Year's Eve Party' and 'Podge and Rodge's Bogmanay' on RTÉ Two were the two most watched programmes in Ireland on 31 December with 664,000* viewers tuning in to RTÉ Television from 11.30pm to midnight, attracting a combined audience share of 58% across both channels.

Their press office is unreal. Why on earth do they feel the need to combine the viewing share for two very different channels? Most people who would be interested in ratings would actually prefer to know each channels performance and do the math themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭hot fuss

Well it's obviously to spin it so that it sounds better for RTÉ.. This many people watched RTÉ as opposed to a much smaller amount watched RTÉ One or RTÉ Two.. it's all about what they want to see in the papers and obviously the more impressive the figure is, the more likely it is to appear in the papers.