Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Say hello campaign.......

• 27-12-2007 10:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭

Ok,

So I was having a flick through some of these threads around Irish men AND women and how were ALL crap and no fun and stuck up and lazy ****bags etc etc

I think some of this stems from a bad experience in a nightclub, pub, bar etc from most of my friends where they approach a girl, and are treated with utter disdain and shock at times. Not all the time I must add,

Now some of this can be attributed to locations we visit, clientele, how drunk the guy was, his approach etc etc etc...... But even with all these variables I have seen some incredibly ignorant antics from BOTH sexes......

So here is my suggestion, and I would love to hear some feedback on it,

Pick that guy/girl that caught your eye, and do just this, say: hello/hi.... how is your night going....... Thats it, just a few tiny words

Now if they are rude, or ignorant, just do this, "I am sorry if I offended you, did I?.... leave it a second, then say, cos if I didnt I was just wondering if you are this rude all the time, its more out of curiosity than anything......

Give it a shot and let me know, nobody has the banter and craic anymore in Dublin and its terrible!!!!

What ya think lads and lassies?? Good idea, anyone gonna try it?? Should I go sit in the corner...? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

hello gabgab, hows tricks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭gabgab

Ah I am breaking my bollocks laughing at that longshanks,

BUT,

I mean out on the beer or in a face to face situation,

Still very funny though :D:D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

There's a whole thread dedicated to it.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=154059

Hey sorry I mean when we are out and about, doing the shopping, waiting in a queue etc etc,

Apologies if it was a bit unclear, the christmas antics are hurting my brain!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

I've given up saying hello to be honest. Said it to a woman last night and she slaps me across face for no reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

If I approach a guy I pick one who is wearing a cool t-shirt or something and just say 'Hey, I like your t-shirt'. I've never had a bad reaction. Then again I'm just looking for a chat as I have a boyfriend, so maybe I'm just more relaxed!

Then again I usually do this in the most laid-back pub, where people aren't all into sticking with their own little group!

I generally wouldn't do this while shopping, etc, because I'm usually in a rush to get out of the crowds! Maybe I'll try it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

gabgab wrote: »
    Ok,

So I was having a flick through some of these threads around Irish men AND women and how were ALL crap and no fun and stuck up and lazy ****bags etc etc

I think some of this stems from a bad experience in a nightclub, pub, bar etc from most of my friends where they approach a girl, and are treated with utter disdain and shock at times. Not all the time I must add,

Now some of this can be attributed to locations we visit, clientele, how drunk the guy was, his approach etc etc etc...... But even with all these variables I have seen some incredibly ignorant antics from BOTH sexes......

Pick that guy/girl that caught your eye, and do just this, say: hello/hi.... how is your night going....... Thats it, just a few tiny words

Now if they are rude, or ignorant, just do this, "I am sorry if I offended you, did I?.... leave it a second, then say, cos if I didnt I was just wondering if you are this rude all the time, its more out of curiosity than anything......

Give it a shot and let me know, nobody has the banter and craic anymore in Dublin and its terrible!!!!

What ya think lads and lassies?? Good idea, anyone gonna try it?? Should I go sit in the corner...? :D

Did this last week. Got a slap..
    I didn't even do anything but say hello! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Should be swinging digs back lads, self defence afterall and might teach the kind of women who actually think it's ok to slap someone across the face a few lessons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭DawnMc

I think a night out is a waste unless you have a good random chat. MMMMMMmmmmm, random chats........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭enner43

rb_ie wrote: »
    Should be swinging digs back lads, self defence afterall and might teach the kind of women who actually think it's ok to slap someone across the face a few lessons.

Ha. Cant be doin that. So when i got a slap across the face for no reason, my response was to throw my drink over her! She wont be as quick to do it next time!

Yeah I can't be acting the gentleman all time by walking off -
    Another night I just leant up against the railing in a night club and a girl pushes me off steps onto the dance floor because she thinks I tried to creep up on her to steal her handbag. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Two cases of physical assault as a response to saying hello... and they say romance is dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

Webmonkey wrote: »
    I've given up saying hello to be honest. Said it to a woman last night and she slaps me across face for no reason.
    Did this last week. Got a slap..
    I didn't even do anything but say hello! :(

did yis have your pants on at the time :p ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

janeybabe wrote: »
    If I approach a guy I pick one who is wearing a cool t-shirt or something and just say 'Hey, I like your t-shirt'. I've never had a bad reaction. Then again I'm just looking for a chat as I have a boyfriend, so maybe I'm just more relaxed!

Then again I usually do this in the most laid-back pub, where people aren't all into sticking with their own little group!

I generally wouldn't do this while shopping, etc, because I'm usually in a rush to get out of the crowds! Maybe I'll try it!

Leading lads on when your out without the boyfriend. For shame ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Pet hate of mine:

People misusing the word "ignorant". It means "lacking knowledge", not "lacking manners".

Grr.

Fremen wrote: »
    Pet hate of mine:

People misusing the word "ignorant". It means "lacking knowledge", not "lacking manners".

Grr.
    Well i guess lacking good manners is the same as lacking the knowledge of good manners and since ignorant is the lacking of knowledge, then by transitivity it is ok to use ignorant to mean lack of good manners. I don't know, I don't see a problem using it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Webmonkey wrote: »
    Well i guess lacking good manners is the same as lacking the knowledge of good manners and since ignorant is the lacking of knowledge, then by transitivity it is ok to use ignorant to mean lack of good manners. I don't know, I don't see a problem using it.

If you're using that logic then calling someone who is rude, stupid is correct, even though it's not.

I dunno really - If manners is a type of knowledge then I see lacking manners to mean the same as lacking knowledge. Anyways going bit off topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭pid()

Getting a bit side tracked there lads.

Anyway, I'll try this the next time I'm out. Been a couple of weeks since I chatted someone up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

enner43 wrote: »
    Ha. Cant be doin that. So when i got a slap across the face for no reason, my response was to throw my drink over her! She wont be as quick to do it next time!
    Well this is definitely fair enough for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I say hello or hi to most people if I make eye contact with them, I reckon its a country thing because I noticed that no one in Dublin does it - well maybe some of the older peeps still do, but the younger crowd don't.

Had a 20 minute chat with a lad at the bar last night, never met him before and probably never will. I enjoy having ****e talk conversations with randomers - all I wanted was the score of the United match and we ended up in the midst of a debate on who the fook would want the Ireland manager's position. Madness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

saying hello to a stranger in Ireland nowadays is like saying "hello I'd like to sodomise you in the toilets and bury your body in a ditch"

everybody is too paranoid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,915 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

connundrum wrote: »
    I say hello or hi to most people if I make eye contact with them, I reckon its a country thing because I noticed that no one in Dublin does it - well maybe some of the older peeps still do, but the younger crowd don't.

Had a 20 minute chat with a lad at the bar last night, never met him before and probably never will. I enjoy having ****e talk conversations with randomers - all I wanted was the score of the United match and we ended up in the midst of a debate on who the fook would want the Ireland manager's position. Madness!

Saying hello to everyone in a rural village is cool there is only like six of ye you all know each other in cities we have important lives and too muhc to be doing to be saying hi to every country tom tom tooligan who happens to walk by in a daze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Jackz wrote: »
    Leading lads on when your out without the boyfriend. For shame ;).

Seriously though, what the hell is with these women who slap guys who talk to them? If they feel that they can't chat with a guy even if they don't want to take things further then there is something seriously wrong with them.

I love talking to people I don't know. Sometimes we become friends, sometimes we never see each other again, either way I have a laugh.

I went to a class party recently and I started chatting to a guy I didn't know. My friends immediately assumed that I knew him just because I was talking to him.

When I was 17 or 18 I probably got a bit shy around strangers, but now I just like to chat to people I don't know. And this is without alcohol because I rarely drink!

In short, ladies, stop slapping people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,915 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

In short, ladies, stop slapping people!

Can someone tell me were I should be going to meet these women who slap people what I should be wearing(or not) and what I need to say to get them to slap me?

I think i have lived a sheltered life having never been slapped by a random girl :(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Petey2006

Ok,

Sounds like a good plan, gabgab. However, asking somebody if they're rude all the time might result in violence of some sort! Some people don't react kindly to what they might perceive as an insult!

Petey2006 wrote: »
    Sounds like a good plan, gabgab. However, asking somebody if they're rude all the time might result in violence of some sort! Some people don't react kindly to what they might perceive as an insult!

Oh I agree, but I only say or use the rude angle if they are being very rude, you can mostly tell whether someone is being intentionally rude or they are just shy......

Come on lads give it a go, I have had some hilarious stuff with it,
    Met a girl with 17 tattoos who I would of never of met in my job or normal course of a pre hello night out, and had great banter,
    Met a complete lunatic of a lad that had me in stitches,
    Met a dude who started to explain to me why he started using class A drugs and now cant stop
    AND they are just the more colourful ones in a very short space of time,

Will everyone please try it and let me know how you got on....??
    Also slap recievers, could you please mention the place or general area of the country you were slapped, eg: flashy ooooh were cool nightclub, country pub etc etc

Come on, its good craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Oh I agree, but I only say or use the rude angle if they are being very rude, you can mostly tell whether someone is being intentionally rude or they are just shy......

Come on lads give it a go, I have had some hilarious stuff with it,
    Met a girl with 17 tattoos who I would of never of met in my job or normal course of a pre hello night out, and had great banter,
    Met a complete lunatic of a lad that had me in stitches,
    Met a dude who started to explain to me why he started using class A drugs and now cant stop
    AND they are just the more colourful ones in a very short space of time,

Will everyone please try it and let me know how you got on....??
    Also slap recievers, could you please mention the place or general area of the country you were slapped, eg: flashy ooooh were cool nightclub, country pub etc etc

Come on, its good craic

Waiting for bus on the Quays at 7:30 in the morning.

Seriously though, what the hell is with these women who slap guys who talk to them? If they feel that they can't chat with a guy even if they don't want to take things further then there is something seriously wrong with them.

I think Irish women need to work on building a reputation for being slappers.
    I think our men would appreciate us more.