Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Superstition in our sports?

• 26-12-2007 1:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭

I been thinkin about postin this thread for awhile

What im basically wonderin is based on the numbers of players on this part of boards how many are superstitious? Like for example i have a way of gettin dressed say in the mornins and when im kittin out for a match i do the opposite (ie i normally put on my left trouser leg then right etc but when puttin on shorts and boots etc i do it startin from the right)

And before each match i take a ball into the showers and pick a spot on the tiles and try hit it as many times as i can

And i dont clean my boots.......ever

Anybody got anythin to share or am i the only looper here?

Are you superstitious? 14 votes

Yep
    0% 0 votes
    Nope
    64% 9 votes
    Yer a looper!!
    35% 5 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

I've heard of goalies who will never let a sliotar or ball into their net even if a foul or free has been given. Makes good sense when you think of it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I'm not so much superstitious before playing a match but I always do my stretching and running warmups before I even take a practice shot on goals.

When going to Dublin matches in Croke Park,I always make sure to drop into Kavanaghs pub on Malahide Road or Meaghers.Its a kind of ritual I have and 9 times out of 10,I'm sent back to the pub happy whether its Meaghers or our new home Madigans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I've heard of goalies who will never let a sliotar or ball into their net even if a foul or free has been given.

I should hope they would, especially if the free is against them. It's their job!!!
    And before each match i take a ball into the showers and pick a spot on the tiles and try hit it as many times as i can

Have you ever managed to do so? :) On a related one, you see all these free takers having a big long drama of taking so many steps back, turning one way, taking a few other steps and then doing something or other else before taking the free. A bit ridiculous and it wastes time and of course from a lot of them they don't score anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    I've heard of goalies who will never let a sliotar or ball into their net even if a foul or free has been given. Makes good sense when you think of it really.

I played in goal in football from U-10 all the way up and always tried to keep the ball out of the net, even if it was just the spare ball. I'd always stop it and put it around the side of the goal.

Most goalkeepers have a set routine for kick-outs aswell, don't think you'd call it a superstition though. The way you place the ball, whether the valve is facing outwards or the O'Neills sign is at the bottom where you want your foot to make contact. Keepers will usually have a favourite side of the goal to take the kick-outs aswell. Counting your steps as you go backwards can help with concentration and make you focus on the ball aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Flukey wrote: »
    I should hope they would, especially if the free is against them. It's their job!!!

It's not really their job to stop shots that don't really matter though is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

blackbelt wrote: »
    I'm not so much superstitious before playing a match but I always do my stretching and running warmups before I even take a practice shot on goals.

When going to Dublin matches in Croke Park,I always make sure to drop into Kavanaghs pub on Malahide Road or Meaghers.Its a kind of ritual I have and 9 times out of 10,I'm sent back to the pub happy whether its Meaghers or our new home Madigans.

Never went to Kavanaghs on Sun Aug 26th I take it :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭dugout16

Always play and train with my socks up even in the warmest of weather!!

Tomthepost wrote: »
    Never went to Kavanaghs on Sun Aug 26th I take it :p

If you are talking about the Kerry 2007 match,no I never went to Kavanaghs before that games.:o Also,I never went to Kavanaghs on 28th August 2006 when we lost to Mayo.Strange that you should point that out,this may be key to our success in winning Sam next year as next late August I will be sure to go there for one or two.

Last time I did go to Kavanaghs and we were beaten was the Tyrone replay.That was a quarter final on Sat 27th August.That weekend is a curse on Dublin GAA.Better start going to Kavanaghs that weekend from now on.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tazdedub

I was superstitious when I was playing. Played in goal most of the time and I always had a place to sit and things I did before matches. One was that I would be very quiet before going out to a match (this came about because I had a dreadful game on day when I was laughing a joking when we met up before the match). Another one was to always sit in the corner of the changing room, not put on my jersery till just before I went out the door or if I did put on the jersey I would wear a tracksuit top over it during the warm up and last but not least is that I would never warm up between the goal posts. Always warmed up on the the 45 metre line. The reason for this was that I didn't want to waste any saves during the warm up. :D Worked for me, have an intermediate championship winners medal and unfortunately an under 21's championship runners up medal.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I don't really have any although being a runner up in three of the four finals that I have played in (league final, junior b league final and u21 championship final) I sure could do with some luck!! Any ideas?! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭villains77

was in there after the semi final with my uncles frm the kingdom all living in langer town now. great craic that night and after the all ireland final pity man city ruined my day lol it be hard to win it back to back 3 in a row but my money is on the dubs this year. hopefully i be right for once. see you all in kavanghs before the game and after. for a pint or 2 r 3 r 4 r 5 r 6 depending on who wins sam lol.

Oh I now have a superstition! I will never ever listen to Queen again before a match. Every time I've heard Queen before a match I've been on the losing side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

I am really superstitious about ever believing we have won - even if my team was 10 points up going into injury time. I go ballistic with people who start talking about the presentation/celebrations before the whistle.

I reckon the Mayo comeback against the Dubs in 2006 is a direct result of the whole of Croke park starting to sing Molly Malone just exactly before the moment the tide turned (watch yeer videos lads - this isnt superstition it is fact!!!)

I am terrified to book a day off work for after a game or look for tickets for the final before the semifinal is played etc.

Hehe,what song have you been listening to Pornapster?We will rock you or We Are The Champions? :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Hehe,what song have you been listening to Pornapster?We will rock you or We Are The Champions? :D:D

If he is losing it might be Another One Bites the Dust ;)

Heh, well I can't see how We Will Rock you would have any effect can you?! If it does I'd love to see it!! :D

Seriously, the last time it happened I had already believed that it was bad luck to listen to Queen, because we had real stinkers after I had listened to it before games in the past.

'That song' actually came on in the cinema that I was at the day before our quarter final this year. We were the favourites for the championship and playing a full league division higher than any of the teams in the championship and doing well in that division. Last couple of times we played this team we won by 10 points+. So that will give you an idea of the gulf there (not being cocky, just fact).

As soon as I heard the song I went oh FFS! My mate beside me told me not to be so ridiculous and that it was just a song. I told him that he was right and the movie came on and had forgot all about it.

Next day everyone had absolute stinkers and we lost 1-10 to 0-9. After beating the eventual winners in the first round for the second year in succession.

NEVER LISTENING TO IT AGAIN! :mad:

If he is losing it might be Another One Bites the Dust ;)
    Nope, that was on in the car after the game... :(:D