Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hidden messages in Christmas presents

• 25-12-2007 3:39am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

Hi, anyone pay attention to, perhaps, a hidden message in a Christmas present - i.e if you get deoderant for example - does that equate to you smell bad and need to shape up? Or are all presents harmless and not much thought goes into them anyway? Also what presents do you think are meant to send a message? - Or do most folks really give it that much attention? Happy Christmas to you all:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I got an electric ear/nostril cleaner one year from my brother. There was no reading to be done into that. It was fairly clear what he was trying to say. The fecker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

Absolutely 0 thought goes into presents in that way! 90% of males will get socks from some relative and im pretty sure said 90% already have at least 1 pair of hole-less socks!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

Absolutely 0 thought goes into presents in that way! 90% of males will get socks from some relative and im pretty sure said 90% already have at least 1 pair of hole-less socks!!!

Very true... i didnt get socks this year... either did my dad... AWESOME!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

Yup, they're trying to get rid of me, I'm convinced ...

3 books, yes 3, on passing interviews for Garda and Army, plus a good cooking book ... plus loads of small presents hinting at me moving out.

Time to pack the bags lads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

mp4 player.
    Get out and walk, you fat bastard. Here's something to listen to while you're doing it.

See, I'm in the 10% and I need new socks!

Donations accepted (exceptions apply, including reindeer, santa and lizard socks)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

A model of the Tardis. Start time travelling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

I got a razor, so I assume it means shave you hairy bastard.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

A model of the Tardis. Start time travelling?
    Nah it just means be generous and give it to someone who'd appreciate it more: me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

a now ex girlfriend of mine once gave me a box of " **** off and leave me alone, im riding someone else in case you havent heard " for christmas.

i hasten to add we broke up early in the new year, aahh the memories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

SUNGOD wrote: »
    a now ex girlfriend of mine once gave me a box of " **** off and leave me alone, im riding someone else in case you havent heard " for christmas.

i hasten to add we broke up early in the new year, aahh the memories

... ouch.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

A voucher - you're impossible to buy for so you can buy your own present. Sounds about right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

A talking rat....oh dear ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

I got a curling iron, subtle way for my boyfriend to tell me he likes my hair curly, not straight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

A leather jacket + clothes from the parents, and a book voucher for Waterstones from the sister.

Well, the mother has been trying to get me to stop wearing my trenchcoat for a while, so that's that, and as for the book voucher: she knows that I am picky on what I read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Blackhorse Slim

I got a curling iron, subtle way for my boyfriend to tell me he likes my hair curly, not straight

See, women read way too much into this type of thing. Your boyfriend was probably on the way to the pub, needed to get something for you on the way and this was the first thing he saw. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

A voucher - you're impossible to buy for so you can buy your own present. Sounds about right.

A voucher, I don't have clue about this guys interests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

3 separate eyebrow-shaping related products. Guess I better tidy up my brows a little?

Edit: And a hairdryer too. Oh God my family thinks I'm a wreck :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

my ma got me an electric tie revolver thingy years ago. i had bout 4 ties...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

A remote control helicopter: I need to wear dresses more often.

An iPod Touch: I'm doing some girlfriend-stuff really well.

ixoy wrote: »
    Nah it just means be generous and give it to someone who'd appreciate it more: me.

Afraid not. I shall be sending rats with fleas to distant times in the past. Black Death anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭manTime

I got a pair of adult size shoes! a message to stop collecting childrens shoes.. its a preajuce from my family im quite used to by now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

manTime wrote: »
    I got a pair of adult size shoes! a message to stop collecting childrens shoes.. its a preajuce from my family im quite used to by now

Dude, give it up. I think we all know you're a troll at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭manTime

Sofaspud wrote: »
    Dude, give it up. I think we all know you're a troll at this stage.

What because I dont leave the house much and collect childrens shoes you can equate me to a troll??do I live under a bridge? Iv never harmed a soul and no I wont give it up I like collecting my shoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

a light up flashy charm thing for your mobile:

answer your f*cking phone once in a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

See, women read way too much into this type of thing. Your boyfriend was probably on the way to the pub, needed to get something for you on the way and this was the first thing he saw. :D

He's told me he prefers my hair curly, and I was with him when he bought it for me. We shopped together cos we hadn't got a clue what to buy each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

I got shaving foam AGAIN. Two bottles thereof. I'm not losing the beard.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

A filofax - sort ur **** out bitch!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

only thing i got this year was a pair of pyjama bottoms (wear some clothes when you sleepwalk?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

We were talking last night about the presents my landlady gave me and what they imply..
    Pyjamas - stop wandering around in the nip
    Socks - and that goes for your feet as well
    Fancy bath things - you smell
    Wine - you are too sober by half.

From my parents I got two Girls Aloud CDs and a 9 euro Penneys handbag (yes the price tag was still on it), which obviously means they think I am a classy, classy lady.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

phasers wrote: »
    a light up flashy charm thing for your mobile:

answer your f*cking phone once in a while

God, I got one of them from my feller.
    You're right - that's exactly what it means. I hadn't twigged. Wait'll I see him! :p

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

A Leinster Jersey & a copy of Ross O' Carroll Kelly's Guide to South Dublin bearing in mind i dont follow Rugby and live in Wicklow :confused:

Maybe someone thought you were a fan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

My horrible flat chested sister in law once gave me Bust Beauty Gel to prevent them from ageing and sagging :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

darkman2 wrote: »
    Hi, anyone pay attention to, perhaps, a hidden message in a Christmas present - i.e if you get deoderant for example - does that equate to you smell bad and need to shape up?

I used to call these a "Rory go have a wash because you're a dirty student kit" didn't get one this year but there's still an opportunity to get one so I'll hold out. Other than that I've never read anything into Christmas presents.

deisemum wrote: »
    My horrible flat chested sister in law once gave me Bust Beauty Gel to prevent them from ageing and sagging :mad:

Should have told her to keep it to support her fat arse!