Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Firearms Consulatative Panel

• 24-12-2007 10:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭

Have Airsoft organisations been invited ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭I.A.S. Ltd.

We dont use Firearms so no we were not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

we may not use firearms, but changes to the firearms legislation could affect us if they were to change the legal definition of a firearm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭I.A.S. Ltd.

I was under the impression that shooters, Gardai, etc actually wanted the limit to be at least 2J...in this case why would they lower it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

one for the IAA me thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Cheeky monkey

I was under the impression that shooters, Gardai, etc actually wanted the limit to be at least 2J...in this case why would they lower it?

2 Joule sniper rifle*drool* me want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭IronWolf

That would be terrific providing provisions were made for safety purposes (semi or BA only when exceeding 1 joule, min distance engagements, etc.), it would make sniping genuinely worthwhile :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Regarding the consultative panel due to convene in late January or early February the Irish Airsoft Association has been contacted directly concerning certain aspects of our sport.

The details have yet to be finalised and there is no specific information to relay other than;

The goverenment does not recognise Airsoft devices as firearms.

The government is making no motions or threats to ban airsoft.

The government is aware that the devices are physically harmless.

Please be patient until we have more to say.

Thanks,

Ronan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Perfect, so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Regarding the consultative panel due to convene in late January or early February the Irish Airsoft Association has been contacted directly concerning certain aspects of our sport.

The details have yet to be finalised and there is no specific information to relay other than;

Please be patient until we have more to say.

Thanks,

Ronan

Interesting, reason I ask is it may be easier to buy an airsoft weapon as a collectors item rather than a deactivated real one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

whats this about 2J? i dont really understand? it would make sniping a lot more interesting though.,

Vtec: There is no "2joule thing" at all. There is no discussion of such with the government nor will there be in the foreseeable future.

Bunny: Airsoft devices are not firearms. They never were so they arent "deactivated" nor are they "collectors" pieces since, again, they were never firearms and are not firearms. Because they propel an object with a muzzle velocity below one joule they are treated as toys or as novelties - its is only because something comes out of the muzzle that the definition of a firearm even needs to be considered. Barring that fact they have absolutely nothing in common with real firearms and should not be treated or discussed as such (the aesthetic dimensions not withstanding).

oh right, i see,.,
    i justr thought there was some rumour when i saw it mentioned above.,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

It may have been rumour but I had a couple of people tell me that for the original Criminal Justice Bill drafted in 2004, when consulting Gardai and other organisations about the minimum muzzle velocity that they should make a "Firearm" that most groups were pushing for over 2J.

I didnt say it was on the cards for the future, I was merely saying that given most groups wanted it HIGHER than 1J that the chances are the Government arnt going to be pushing it to lower than a Joule any time soon.

who is it that want it higher? and is there any particular reason why? other than airsofters im not sure why anyone would want it and as hive has said there is no disscussion of it so far?.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

What about paintballers, they should go, as their equiptment are classed as firearms, maybe push for an exemption or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

Just forget I said anything, it was a LONG time ago before Airsoft came in over here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

I could see a license down the line for the 1 joule to 1.7 joule range. The one joule limit is there as at that energy level a 6mm BB will not pierce the skin. A 2 joule projectile would almost definitely be capable of causing harm, and I feel you'll never have such devices in Ireland without a license. Rules like minimum distance are completely unenforceable under law.

as we all know, the law as it stands is 1 Joule, not 2, and as has been stated, it is not on the cards for the limit to be raised, back on-topic please people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭ditpaintball

I would not get to hung up on the speculations about the whole thing lads. These things take time. The IPPA and IAA will in due time I am sure let you know what is the craic with every thing.

Vtec: There is no "2joule thing" at all. There is no discussion of such with the government nor will there be in the foreseeable future.

Bunny: Airsoft devices are not firearms. They never were so they arent "deactivated" nor are they "collectors" pieces since, again, they were never firearms and are not firearms. Because they propel an object with a muzzle velocity below one joule they are treated as toys or as novelties - its is only because something comes out of the muzzle that the definition of a firearm even needs to be considered. Barring that fact they have absolutely nothing in common with real firearms and should not be treated or discussed as such (the aesthetic dimensions not withstanding).

They are realistic enough that I could buy one and have it as a collectable rather than have the hassle of getting a real firearm thats been deactivated is my point.

I understood your point bunnyshooter.

If you wished to purchase an Airsoft device as a show piece etc that fine, but it doesnt make it a firearm, deactivated or otherwise.

Airsoft devices are constructed in such a way as they could never be used as the real thing and to bring up the issue of "deactivated" firearms muddys the issue by continuing to play on the "what it looks like" aspect than on what they actually are and do.

Whether Airsoft devices are realistic or not is, in and of itself, an irrelevant argument since no measure can be taken to make a object less dangerous by simple aesthetic or cometic alteration.

So what is it you are really driving at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

What you legally do with any item you purchase is your own affair.:confused:

I understood your point bunnyshooter.

If you wished to purchase an Airsoft device as a show piece etc that fine, but it doesnt make it a firearm, deactivated or otherwise.

Airsoft devices are constructed in such a way as they could never be used as the real thing and to bring up the issue of "deactivated" firearms muddys the issue by continuing to play on the "what it looks like" aspect than on what they actually are and do.

Whether Airsoft devices are realistic or not is, in and of itself, an irrelevant argument since no measure can be taken to make a object less dangerous by simple aesthetic or cometic alteration.

So what is it you are really driving at?

I own "real" firearms. I am interested in collecting firearms too but don't want hassle from Gardai if I buy deactivated "real" ones.

Airsoft "toys" are realistic looking. No matter how much you attempt to persuade me, yourselves and others that they're not.

The question in the OP was to enquire was there a posiblity that there was going to be restrictions etc on airsoft weapons. That has been answered.

The hysteria and hidden agendas that you keep seeing aren't really there. Except those you are creating yourselves.

I own "real" firearms. I am interested in collecting firearms too but don't want hassle from Gardai if I buy deactivated "real" ones.

Airsoft "toys" are realistic looking. No matter how much you attempt to persuade me, yourselves and others that they're not.

The question in the OP was to enquire was there a posiblity that there was going to be restrictions etc on airsoft weapons. That has been answered.

The hysteria and hidden agendas that you keep seeing aren't really there. Except those you are creating yourselves.

Bunny, I have a legitimate reason to not be out on New Years.

why do you have nothing better to do than to troll these boards?

I am reporting you - AGAIN.

Bunny, I have a legitimate reason to not be out on New Years.

why do you have nothing better to do than to troll these boards?

I have a good reason too.

Troll ...... Moi ...... with you ? ...... you reckon ? ......

Reporting me ? Am I Bovvered ? :D

I explained things in my previous post. Now if you want to contact you're mate the Mod and get him to Ban me, so be it.

Byeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Happy New Year to all

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32 Bellerophon

Why do you get so uptight whenever any one mentions guns Hivemind? It appears to me that you cannot discuss this topic without risking being censored.

why is everyone posting in the airsoft forum ,in the first place not as if you's have an intrest on our sport

Open Forum ;)

Why do you get so uptight whenever any one mentions guns Hivemind? It appears to me that you cannot discuss this topic without risking being censored.

I dont. The point is that Airsoft kit is not a firearm.

Bunny has been in here slinging abuse before and I'm surprised he is back again attempting to stir more trouble.

If you read the charter, you will see that the discussion of real firearms is not really allowed and belongs in the "shooting" forum. Airsoft is not anything to do with that aside from physical and aesthetic properties.

true bunnyshooter, but were not going blabbing in shooters or other forums for a silly bitch fest

Gatling wrote: »
    true bunnyshooter, but were not going blabbing in shooters or other forums for a silly bitch fest

Nor are we :rolleyes:

troll.

troll.

Gremlin :D

oh god

Gatling wrote: »
    oh god

Yes, you wanted me ?

hugh heffner is GOD not you bunny

This conversation has run its course.

Certain individuals are only trying to find an excuse to rag on Airsoft, probablyu to compensate for inadequecies in their real lives.

Dont feed the trolls!!! Remember the code of Lemming!!!!

Thread Closed before it gets any worse

Bunny shooter: please be aware that there is some sensitivity amongst airsofters regarding cross-over with firearms and sometimes things you say might be taken in the wrong context because of this

Gatling and Hivemind: if you believe someone to be a troll, then reporting the post is sufficient, you dont need to reply to them