Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your favourite outdoor games

• 23-12-2007 5:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭

Football for me was number 1. One of the best football games was world cup. You score and you're through to the next round until you got to the last four then it was two goals and then the final would be three. I was pretty terrible though :)

Tip the can was a classic. Not sure how many different ways it was played but the way we played the game was it was split into two teams. One team on the hunt and the other on the run. Once all were caught the roles were reversed. When you caught someone they had to wait by the base (a lampost in our case) but they could be freed if a team member tipped the lampost. Cant remember if you had to scream something when it happened??

British bulldog. I could be wrong with the name of this one but it was an absolute beauty of a game. A real gem. I'm trying to think exactly how it started. From memory two people start with the arms linked and then the gang come running from one end of the field to the other. You just had to catch somebody then they too linked on. Last man left won.

Right i'm sure there are ****loads more that i just cant think of right now. So what about ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Kick the can for me too. The estate I lived in at the time had loads of alleys and narrow lanes leading to squares, so with the can placed centrally in the square, it was always perfect for sneak attacks!
    Used to love marbles too. Remember on year somebody stole a steely out of a bumper car (it weighed about 2 kilos!) and I rolled it down a school corridor and straight through a floor to ceiling gass plate. My how I ran! :)

Relievio. There was nothing more truly inspiring than seeing a game of relievio involving about 800 kids. Did this once in school and I think the whole yard joined in. At the end, just before the bell, I was the only one left. Tipping that wall, screaming relievio and seeing hundreds of kids running screaming and laughing from "prison" put a major smile on my face.

Sometimes we had shite fights where we would throw dry cowpats at people, and then a war would break out. Thinking back, ewww.

Also liked a bit of football, (not a huge fan), and volleyball played with a football over the GAA posts. Oh, and basketball when I got older.

Aahhh. I'm off to buy some wurthers originals :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭mc nuggets

Tip the can for me as well except in our version there was only one person on and everyone else went and hid. you could only be safe by touching the "can" (lamppost)and saying "tip the can i free me" and to be caught the person on had to touch the can and say "tip the can i see whoever wherever) the first person caught was on and the last person left if no one was caught was on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Hopscotch was fun for a few years, and so was hide and go seek. Kick the can sounds familiar for some reason!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Dregon

Football, Tip the can and Rounders. Great game, got really intense sometimes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

'squares' ... like tennis, but played with a football. Playing field was marked out on the street.
    Also, a game called 'above the kneecap' ... again, played with a football. Rules were quite simple ... the ball was kicked back and forth over a line in the road, and was only allowed bounce once. If you could volley the ball, or play keepy-uppy for a bit, you were entitled to lash the ball at your opponent, who could either take the hit and one bounce, or wimp out and lose the point. I used to love that game. :)

Of course, You'd never be able to play these games nowadays, what with the cars parked everywhere :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 pornstar IRL

Kiss Chase,
    Postmans Knock,
    Spin The Bottle,
    Doctor And Naughty Nurse,
    And Of Course The
    If I Take My Finger Out You Will Sink Game ??

Just A Few Of My Favorite Games While Growing Up??

Now Iam Older I Like To Fart In Public And Scare Babies :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Football, rounders and piggy back fights (2 versus 2, ouch :()

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 pornstar IRL

Broke My Nose In A Piggy Back Fight

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

mc nuggets wrote: »
    Tip the can for me as well except in our version there was only one person on and everyone else went and hid. you could only be safe by touching the "can" (lamppost)and saying "tip the can i free me" and to be caught the person on had to touch the can and say "tip the can i see whoever wherever) the first person caught was on and the last person left if no one was caught was on.

that's how we played it too

kerbies, you spend the whole day throwing a football at a kerb

oh and playing tennis against the side of the house, we had a tornament one summer that went on for weeks. the same with rounders and badminton

oh those long, sunny summers :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭mc nuggets

irishbird wrote: »

That was a classic game and sometime used to get very competitive and serious with us :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭ike

Kerbies - we called it kerb to kerb great craic.

showjumping was another one - everything used to change with the season, tennis when wimbledon was on, showingjumping when the horse show was in dublin etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

trout wrote: »
    'squares' ... like tennis, but played with a football. Playing field was marked out on the street.
    irishbird wrote: »

2 of the best games EVER!!

Manhunt was another, water fights, making kites out of superquinn bags... ah, way too many fond memories!! They say schooldays were the best days of your life, but it was the times outside school hours that was the best! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭whatsgoinon

does anyone remember 52 bonkers, some kind of hide and seek game i think??
    hulk is another one we used to play, i think it's called dodgeball now
    oh and tearing off up the mountain near the house, and getting lost and rocking home about 9 o'clock that evening starving and all cuts and bruises and not an eyelid batted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

bulldog, kick the can, hide and go seek, rounders, god i loved them all. i even played nick nacks the other night in harolds cross with a 48 year old man (im 26), the things you do when your locked:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

red rover!

it was banned along with bulldog in my primary school for being too violent :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Baby4 wrote: »

Yep, i remember that, it was called Mother May I?

We also played What Time is it Mr. Wolf? and whoever was on would shout a time eg 3 o'clock and you would take 3 steps forward, etc until whoever was on would shout Dinner time and they would try to catch you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Remember a game called "scotch" ?

You hada tennis ball and to start the game you all would stand in a circle with your legs slightly open and drop the ball in the midlle of the circle and whos ever legs it went between were "it"

Then you had 10 seconds to run and the person with the ball shouted scotch and everyone had to freeze including the person with the ball.

He/She would then try hit the with the tennisball and if you got them they were out.

The game went like this till everyone was out.

There was exceptions if you caught the ball with 2 hands from the person who threw it at you then you got 1 of the people that were out back in.

If you caught the ball with 1 hand you won the game.

The winner was either the person who got everyone out or the person who caught it with 1 hand basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

red rover!

it was banned along with bulldog in my primary school for being too violent :D

Ha! Red Rover was for pussies:D. We used to play something called "murderball". Basically, if someone had the ball he was fair game. You could trip, rugby tackle, pile up, and basically do anything to get the ball. Why you would want it was another matter. Soon as you had it you had 30-40 guys hunting you down with the intention of knocking the living sh1t out of you. Good times:rolleyes:
    Another game of football was Wembly and Wembly Records. The rules were you had to score on the volley. Three wides or three overs and you were in goal. In Records a tally of how many you let in before someone else took over in goals was kept, hence massive embarassment should that reach anything over ten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Poppy78

Queen-e-i-o who has the ball,
    is she big or is she small,
    is she fat or is she thin or is she thin or is she like a (i want to say rolling pin but that can't be right, can it?)

Ball against the wall also had crazy rhymes and tennis balls involved, but i cant remember any of the games just now.

Stuck in the Mud

Donkey as in D-O-N-K-E-Y

Skipping and particularly French skipping (very exotic) can anyone remember any of the skipping rhymes? I was ok at the slow bit but as it sped up I would end up tangled, garotted or fall on my arse.

What was the one where you got extra points for throwing the ball over a moving car?

Knick Knacks, thought they were hilarious, I think it would be a hell of a lot less funny if one of the brats around our way did it to me now though. It was always better to get someone who would get really wound up by it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Poppy78 wrote: »
    What was the one where you got extra points for throwing the ball over a moving car?

That was curbs/kerbs/kerbies/curb-to-curb/kerb-to-kerb.

The back-to-the-curb-one-handed-overhead-overcar-throw was the highest scoring point in the game, instant victory. Never in my days have a seen this feat pulled off but rumours are of a child in north Dublin who achieved the daring feat over a lorry while also scoring the bounce-catch-back.

What a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

haha, and, im pretty sure we made half these rules up as we went along, but if you threw the ball and it bounced straihgt back, it was a double score (though my cousins in firhouse maintained that was the only way to get a score, if it rolled back, you got another shot but no points). there were extra points for doing it over a car, though, living in a small cul de sac, there was never much opportunity for that, there were extra points for garden shots (30?), throwing it backwards over your head (20), throwing it backwards over your head but with one hand (40)...

other favourites were 21 (basiaclly the second version of kick the can described in this thread), cops and robbers and most forms of chasing, bulldog was great too... bulldog bulldog 1 2 3, now you're caught and on with me! i think that's what you had to say when you caught someone before they were caught, and if it was you being caught, you were allowed to twist turn and dive as much as you could to get away. quite a rough game. same as manhunt/IRA.

others were redletter, which went through phases of popularity, basically, "red letter red letter, i call *insert letter here*", and if you had that letter in your name, you took one jump forward for each time it was in your name.

tv programmes, which usually happened in my front garden, actually, until the parentals decided twould be a genius idea to put a feckin tree smack bang in the middle of the grass there :rolleyes: but anyway, someone would be on, and they'd think of a tv programme, and give its initials, and start talking about it, giving clues, and when someone thought they knew, they would have to run up to the person who was on, back, and up again, before shouting out what they thought it was. very very very competitive game.

then your standard water/snow fights, games of football, rounders, and the occasional but always interesting game of treasure hunt, when we felt like making an effort.

hmm, goat_mouth is a childhood friend from back in those days... will have to see if he can add or comment on any of this.

im pretty sure he used to cheat at red letter anyway and would just make up middle names...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭Goat Mouth

narco wrote: »
    hmm, goat_mouth is a childhood friend from back in those days... will have to see if he can add or comment on any of this.

im pretty sure he used to cheat at red letter anyway and would just make up middle names...

Like **** it cheated!!! my middle name is really Constantinople-Nathaniel-Hamish-Quiote, quadruple barrelled names are a tradtion in my family.

anyway, we also had

Smokey Bacon - which consisted of putting a stick in the middle of the road and opposing sides had to try and return to the kurb before getting tipped.

Some game we dubbed IRA?? - Team had to a assemble a word and assign each memeber a letter each, while the opposing team had to catch you and torture you for your letter.

Knick Knacks - Ring the doorbell, run away and hide.

Bulldog - Run from one end to the road whilst trying not to be caught by the one person that was on last person standing basically.

but my personal favourite was...

Kick Mr McManus's Van and Run Away! - With the Cul de sacs "Black Sheep" of a neighbour who owned a huge Paint van with an extremely sensitive alarm...

that do narco? :D

oh yeah, forgot about smokey bacon.
    yeah, IRA was basically manhunt. had to make a word and everyone got certain letters, while the team who were on had to extract the letters via torture...

good round up though... that was basically us as kids, summer in, summer out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

I dont remember tip the can but it sounds like a came I used to play
    growing up called 45.

Marbles were banned in our primary school, I dont know the reasons why,
    It may have been there were bully's stealing them or people started trading them.
    I never played marbles but loved to collect them. Had 3 quinsworth bags full of them
    that were given to me by the next door neighbors mother and I remember hoarding
    them like some sort of Silas Mariner in the small room outside our house were the
    oil central heating burner was.

Redrover or/and bulldog was banned in our primary school too.

Bulldog sounds like Redrover where people would links and shout red rover red rover
    we call someone over. Half the time if there was a pretty girl you would run at them
    and deliberately not break the link just so you could hold hands with her or link with her.

Mother May I.
    That was more or less another girly game that as a guy you would only
    play if the girl you fancied suggested.

Murderball I dont know it sounds a little like Soldier where you lined up against
    a wall and someone threw a tennis ball at you and if you moved or flinched your lost.
    I think if the ball hit you there was some form of revenge.

Grass skating was another fun outdoor thing we did. If grass was damp we
    would take turns of dragging each other around the grasss so it was almost
    like water ski-ing

Spin the Bottle I never played cos I was very picky and only like one or two girls
    in the class and did not want to kiss any of the ugly ones!. and I was too shy!

Anyone remember a boy/girl game called Nerve! it sounds pervy now that
    youd be older but at an age of 12 or 13 it was exciting.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

bullets wrote: »

Anyone remember a boy/girl game called Nerve! it sounds pervy now that
    youd be older but at an age of 12 or 13 it was exciting.

~B

Yeah I remember that one too. We called it Nervous ! LOL :D

You put your hand on the other persons leg and you moved up the leg and kept asking were they nervous. Cant remember if there were questions asked but I remember the game,

haha, nerve, no way! that sounds vaguely familiar. im pretty sure i wouldn't have played it. i don't like being touched.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Skipping and two balls against the wall, there were sooooo many rhymes for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭gubby

I just got a big pk of elastic for my granddaughter but I'm dammed if I can remember how to play the french skipping game. I made a big elastic "rope" and joined it to make a circle and put it on the legs of two chairs but what are the steps you have to make? can anyone remember? I do remember at one stage you have to stand alongside the outside of the "rope" and jump over the far off "rope" carrying the near rope over to the far off side. I didn't explaine that very well I just hope someone else can remember.

omg! elastics! i'd completely forgotten about that! im pretty sure one of them started 'england, ireland, scotland france....'... though the only thing i can think to end that with is something about underpants, which im pretty sure it's not.
    oh, someone please please please remember the words?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭Goat Mouth

narco wrote: »
    omg! elastics! i'd completely forgotten about that! im pretty sure one of them started 'england, ireland, scotland france....'... though the only thing i can think to end that with is something about underpants, which im pretty sure it's not.
    oh, someone please please please remember the words?!

i think ours was England irland Scotland Wales, Inside outside, puppy dogs tails.... dont really remeber it was a girls games.

also remebered What time is it Mr Fox
    and Dizzy Dizzy Dinosaurs!

omg! england, ireland, scotland wales, inside, outside, on the scales!

was it really that short?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

Manhunt, and Bulldogs... ah...
    Also IRA Bashings.... manys a time I ran like s***e through Crumlin Village screaming ''the IRA are gonna get me'' :D
    Also- Chinese Whispers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

We had an insane game when I was a kid called I.R.A. There were two teams - one teams of hunters and one of hunted. The hunted team would get a letter each to keep secret from the other team. Then the hunters would chase them and, when caught, had to torture the letter out of them.

It's a really horrible game now that I think about it. I always gave up my letter really easily, I'd never stand up under torture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

Oops - should really read the whole thread before posting :p ^^^^^

We played a lot of those hand-clapping rhyme games. Can't remember most of the rhymes though. And pogs, do you remember pogs? They got banned in my school, too many people playing for 'keeps'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

For some reason, British Bulldog was called "Polio" in my school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

52! Best game ever! Played it throughout the summer til it was dark and mammy came-a-searching. Good times :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭gubby

Ok so what game is 52??? and pogs???

gubby wrote: »
    Ok so what game is 52??? and pogs???

You don't know what 52 is? As in "52 bonkers save my soul" and all that? Oh my God, you had one seriously deprived childhood.

Pogs were before my time but they were little cardboard circular cards that you had to flick or something like that with a big Pog made of plastic. Im sure Im wrong but Im sure someone will correct me and berate me for having a deprived childhood, ah well, what comes around blah blah blah

explain this 52 thing some more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭gollyitsolly

Does anyone remember clackers? Two rock hard balls on strings . Everyone had black and blue wrists and knuckles from them.Think they got banned. Ha ha ha ,just remembered making stilts outta bean cans and twine, and plaits for your head outta old nylon tights!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Bob in Belfast

I remember clankers.
    Still have a set of two hard balls.hehe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

We played a game called "ship-shore-starboard-port" which involved one kid standing "on the ship" and shouting commands which the other kids had to follow, for instance "ship" you had to run to the person, shore you'd run to the otherside of the road - generally there were arguments and confusion as to which side was starboard and which was port. Other things included commands like "scrub the deck". The last person to follow whatever command was "out" and the last person left was "on" in the next round.

D.

oh man... i would love to get a cross section of kids now, and see how many of these games they'd play, and on what kind of regular basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭MW

Loved Red Rovers, but a girl broke her nose playing it so it was banned.

We used to play bulldog, until that was banned. We used to call "Tip the Can" "Block" where I was from, you would say "I block whoever 1,2,3" and "Free All".

We were banned from running in the yard eventually but we then took up skipping, boys and girls loved it, we used to think we were daredevils playing unders and overs.

Then Curb to Curb, Stuck in the Mud, Kiss Chase and rounders.

Jesus, I actually can't believe you have never played 52 before. Basically it's like hide and seek. 1 person is on, usually decided by last person to touch the pole type of thing, as the pole was "home" or something like that.

Anyway, the person who was "on" counted to 52 (some idiots used to say it was 104 but dont listen to the, its called 52 for a reason) When they finished they went looking for the people. Their aim was to find people and when they do they had to run back to the pole and say "52 bonkers I see *insert name*" If the other person got there first they say "52 bonkers save my soul"

1st person to be caught is on in the next game. If there is one person left to be caught, they can save everyone by betting to the pole and saying "52 bonkers save all souls!" and the person who was on in that round is on again.

There were some aditions some people put in:

The person who is on might say "No nothing!" or words to that effect which means the people hiding cant stand behind the person at the pole and when they finish counting the person standing there would put their hand on the pole and save their soul. People couldn't hide around the pillar that wa right beside the pole where we played either.

Simple really...best game ever though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Weidii

Street hockey was relly big when I was young, when everyone had their bauer roller blades. I loved playing at night time when the hockey sticks would make sparks on the road :D

When I was down the country we used to have apple fights in my grandads orchard and when the harest was done we'd roll all the bails in the field to one spot to make a fortress, fun times.