Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Thank you, have a safe night'..

• 23-12-2007 4:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭

Questions.

Does anyone here spare a moments thought for pub/club staff this time of year. From the humble bouncer to the man/girl behind the bar to the lounge staff?.

Just thought after read the Coccon thread & one member's comments regarding doorstaff and special reading classes in school.

I've done doorwork for almost twenty year's and always appricated a 'thank you lads, have a good night'. And when I approach a door (and yes I've been turned away too) I'll always thank the doorstaff and wish them a good night.

I don't think I've ever been a bully, but I have been guilty of bad judgement sometimes (who isn't?).

Almost every pub/bar I've worked in regular's will always say ''This is a grand spot, never any trouble'' ... Because rightly so, if I do my job right the trouble stops at the door and (you) the customer feels safe and secure and you'll return again.

In those year's (I've almost always fronted a door) I've been bottled, I've had teeth broken, broken bones in both hands. Assaulted more times than I could possibly remember. I've been kicked in the balls by women, who thought I was fair game because as I man I shouldn't hit back.

Also at the door, I've given medical assistance in all sorts of situations. From drug OD's to passer's by & to the people who've been stupid enough to assault me.

I could go on, but my story is not unique. Given those amount of year's working in that job and most lads will have the same stories.

I've laughed with customers at the end of a very messy night (for me), never mentioning any incidents through the night and been told "jeeze this is a grand ol' spot, never trouble here'' ... But only because I've kept the assholes out (mostly) and been cursed for doing so.

Lads, spare a little thought for those whose job is to make your night safer. We're not all retards who've attended special reading classes in Tallaght!.

Merry Christmas guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,960 ✭✭✭trout

Good manners were bate (and I mean bate) into me as a child, and I always treat people working in any form or aspect of a service with the height of respect. It costs nothing, and it can mean a lot to the people working on your behalf.

This attitude was reinforced by some of the jobs I've held ... many people are just rude and ignorant, especially if the people serving are clearly of a different social class or ethnic background.

Grunts and abuse seem to be the order of the day now, especially with the younger folks :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

trout wrote: »
    Good manners were bate (and I mean bate) into me as a child, and I always treat people working in any form or aspect of a service with the height of respect. It costs nothing, and it can mean a lot to the people working on your behalf.

This attitude was reinforced by some of the jobs I've held ... many people are just rude and ignorant, especially if the people serving are clearly of a different social class or ethnic background.

Grunts and abuse seem to be the order of the day now, especially with the younger folks :(

Well T, after meeting you I wouldn't expect any different.

I will never look at a bouncer the same way again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

i always thank bouncers/door staff on my way out, unfortunately im lucky if i even get any response, i still do it though cos im stubborn.
    However, was in a pub/club last night and there was this polish bouncer there, lad was very nice, very polite and talkable, wished him a good night and he said he hopes to see me and my mates back there again soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I will never look at a bouncer the same way again.

erm, think the PC term is door person, or security, i'm sure the OP will correct me,

always try to be curtious to them my self, afterall, they did let me in

i'm sure even a cheers lads, or goodnight fellas doesn't take much when leaving the pub or club, or even a polite 'evening' when entering

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

It's a job you couldn't pay me enough to do, so I'd never be rude to a doorman and I always say goodnight to them when I'm leaving. Sure, there are some idiots, but I work for a bank and there are idiots working in banking too. In fact there isn't a profession where idiots haven't managed to infiltrate.

irish-stew wrote: »
    erm, think the PC term is door person, or security, i'm sure the OP will correct me,
    erm, take your pc terms elsewhere,I don't care. I doubt if Brother Mairt does either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

Mairt wrote: »
    humble bouncer

Unfortunately you and the rest of these are a dying breed. Having worked in a bar when I was younger as a lounge boy and seeing the crap the bouncers have to deal with I always try to be polite and respectful to door staff.

I remember my first regular in town back in the mid nineties I got to know the bouncers so well I used to go outside for a smoke so I could have a chat with them (this was 10 years before the smoking ban when you could smoke inside).

However the majority of door staff in the clubs in the city centre tend to let the power go to their head and be very arrogant. I was refused from a Leeson St establishment about 2 weeks ago (after christmas party and very drunk) and as I was walking away I said thanks lads have a good night only to be told "keep you f*cking smart ass comments to yourself" !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

I always say thanks to a bouncer when leaving a place, even say thank you to the cinema staff that are standing at the doors when a film is over, manners cost nothing!! I always appreciate a 'goodnight' or 'thanks' back from them.

Barmen i thank when they hand me drink and i tahnk them again when i get my change, if i had been chatting with them an had an opporunity i'd thank them again when leaving.

Lounge staff would be the same as barmen. i think I actually say thanks a bit too much sometimes but then think you can never say it too much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

erm, take your pc terms elsewhere,I don't care. I doubt if Brother Mairt does either.

sorry, can i still come in :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

I always make a point of thanking bouncers/doormen when entering or leaving an establishment as I know the crap that they've to put up with every night. My uncle did doors for years and my girlfriends dad also did doors for years and now runs a company with a load of lads that do them so I've heard some stories.

I think the stereotype is the same as everything else but there are of course good bouncers and bad ones, the same as there is good and bad in every other walk of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Well said Mairt.

I think a bit of manners would go a long way.

I worked on the doors of a few places too and just gave it up as the general idiocy and sheer volume of ar$e holes just made me think it wasn't worth the effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

zaph wrote: »
    In fact there isn't a profession where idiots haven't managed to infiltrate.

How so true!

I agree with the op. i always say thanks and good night it costs nothing and helps to get in the next time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I always say thanks but its just cos im that kind of person, so i also say thanks to restaurant and cinema staff the same way.

Like anything, some bouncers are muppets and some are quiet nice. I think the comments made on the cocoon thread were an "in jest" generalisation! :)

I think its fair to say though that no bouncer has a crystal ball and some establishments have ridiculous door policies.

either way, we like mairt! :)

I just wish someone would spare of thought for us poor office workers who do work over the Christmas :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

I'm always polite as I can be - it's not an easy job, worked in a nightclub myself and it can be tough goin dealing with drunk people, even non drunk people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I'm like Mairt. I reckon despite the age gap we ended up having very similar similar experiences on the door, and most likely fell into the a very similar situation, where either upbringing or just the professionalism of the first crew we worked with had a lasting impression.

I'm very much the same everywhere i have worked, and i have worked in the worst of **** holes when i was originally starting on the doors. However, despite the apparent dodginess of the clientele in some of those places i find ever reacts the same to a large man smiling and telling them to have a good night...... just the slightest of shock and a smile in return.

God knows we have had enough threads and insults to doormen ( as well as many other professions ) but the simple fact is that all jobs contain the good at the bad sides of people.

Sure, i've had to deal with violent situations, and if you seem me involved in one of them you might not think highly of me but the simple fact of the matter is that when on a door i am there for YOUR safety and to ensure you can enjoy a nice and peaceful night. If i'm talking to you from a professional point of view it's because your a little messy, or your actions are affecting others. Sure, the same cannot be said for all door staff but hey, if i can keep the attitude that not all customers are arseholes then we can all get along! :D

The simple fact is that it is very, very easy to become a recognised regular on any door once you smile and are polite, sadly that will make you standout!

I guess the big thing is that when you out, keep in mind the folk who are ably assisting in you enjoying youself.... the bar staff, the dj's, the glass collectors and the cleaners and yes, even the door staff.

Enjoy your night, go home safe and then come back again if you enjoy your visit.

Thanks for visiting the Dragan's Arms. ;)

Well thanks for the input guys, and sorry for the rant.

But comments made in the Cocoon thread both pissed me off and offended me, and I'm not one who's easily offended.

Why was I offended?,

Should I have a thick skin? (I have a raw hide skin actually)..

Well it was that members comments liking bouncer's and children who attend special reading classes as somehow retarded.

When I started on door work it was at the end of the 80's into the 90's when the majority of people in Ireland hadn't a pot to piss in, and with a young family and mortage I genuinely needed the money. I never attended special reading classes in school.

However my 12yr old daughter attends special reading classes in school because she's dyslexic, she's not retarded or growing up in a time when the economy is in sh*t so with God's help and alot of work from her 'special' teachers she'll go on to have a nice career ahead of her, in whatever field she chooses.

See, some people should watch their comments around here. Its not 'After Hours' where anything goes & where I wouldn't have gave a rats ass.

For me working two jobs my entire working life has mean't that I've provided a very comfortable living for me and my family, and its instilled a very strong work ethic in my children who see now that nice things like car's, a home, all the latest gadgets, a spoilt rotten christmas, family holidays etc come through hard work and it'll never be handed to them.

Rant over, I sincerely hope you've all had a very wonderful christmas..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Mairt, I've just seen this. Presumably it's my comments in the coccoon bar thread that lie at the root of this thread.

Obviously, I apologise if my remarks offended. It was, of course, never my intention.

But, it was you who used the word "retarded", not me. I think we should be clear about that, so as to avoid twisting my words.

I spent most of my primary schooling in remedial classes, so I have no prejudice against these kids. Professionally, I work with them too. It was a throwaway remark, and I think you've read to much into it.

That said, a number of the guys who were in remedial with me have worked /currently work as bouncers. I don't know if that's relevant. It's probably not.

I've done lots of security work with guys who did it for extra cash, and with guys who just liked fighting.

The motives for working a door are irrelevant to me. The fact is that on so so many occasions, some guy who I presume (again, maybe wrongly) has been in more fights than me, has just taken a look at me and decided I'm not good enough to come into whatever pub/club it is.

I have 6 very close mates, who I've been mates with since we were kids.

If we go out in town we can't walk up to a door, or some guy will decide that we're not good enough. For no reason, he'll tell us to go away. That's it.

So, we wait in a pub across the road and go up to the door in pairs. Works everytime. But it's ridiculous way to be, when we're in our late 20s/early 30s.

Maybe it's something to do with me. Who knows. I'm sure you're a nice guy, and I wish I could change my mind about bouncers, but I find them, as a group, to be some of the most repugnant individuals I've ever met.

I'm sorry, but there's only so many times a group of people can tell you you're not good enough for them before resentment sets in.

Sure, they're very nice when I'm leaving most of the time. But you can be sure that same guy has ruined a whole load of guys' plans for the night, on a whim.

I've hurled plenty of abuse at bouncers in my time, I'll grant you that. But, it's always been a result of this "sorry, not tonight" rubbish. I'm teetotal, and I can't count the amount of times I've been told I'm too drunk to come in. It's an easy excuse to give if they just don't like the look of you.

So, whilst I'm infinitely sorry for any offence caused with regard to your daughter, I don't identify with the picture of bouncers that you paint. I think a lot of them are on a power trip, and I think a lot of the abuse they get is brought on by their own attitudes.

I hate to generalise, and I wish I could say something like "But most of them are OK", but I just can't.

tallaght01 wrote: »
    Mairt, I've just seen this. Presumably it's my comments in the coccoon bar thread that lie at the root of this thread.

Obviously, I apologise if my remarks offended. It was, of course, never my intention.

But, it was you who used the word "retarded", not me. I think we should be clear about that, so as to avoid twisting my words.

The implication was very clear.

Its late, I didn't read the rest. Goodnight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I always say thanks on the way in, and out when I can! I've never really had any bad experiences with doormen, I was refused entry to a nightclub in Drogheda once and that seriously wrecked my head. But then I went to a different nightclub and guess what, I was sh!tfaced, the first bouncer did a good job, the second wasn't great at judging!

Doormen in Swords for some reason look at my passport for a good solid five minutes before letting me, I've never not got in though. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

It's like getting off the bus - i always say "cheers" hopping off. Just to be polite. The driver is just doing his/her job but it's nice to be nice, like bouncers they put up with a lot of crap all year around. I usually just say "cheers, take it handy" walking out of clubs :cool:

Even the good bouncers are prone to the odd inexplicable decision though. For example, i've been going to 1 place weekly for 6 or 7 years (im 25), i think it's fair to say that covers "regular" - at Halloween it was packed, massive queue got to the top and head bouncer says "not tonight lads."

i asked why (1st mistake lol) and he looked right at me and said "dont recognise the face, step aside". Wasnt arsed debating it...anyway went back the next time and he said "alright dan, how's the form?". i just chuckled to myself and said "not too bad, and yourself?". Knew my name but not the face :confused:

Mairt maybe you can answer this - I've always wondered on busy nights do bouncers just randomly select people to try make an example of? A lot of decisions seem to be so random - i've seen them all , from "you've had too much to drink" to a tee-total friend, "regulars only" to a regular etc, seems to me at times they just pluck any reason from the top of their head.

Alot of lads just make bad decisions, I've done it myself on occassion.

As to making examples of people, I wouldn't do that. However some people have put out their hands to be slapped on more than one occassion.

Dragan is pretty level (like myself) and I'm sure he's handled things alot like the scenario I'll give you now.

A couple (or more) come to the door, but the guy looks arseways or he's dirty. Or maybe you remember him from an incident at some time, either way he's not coming in. Usually at this stage the chap know's he's drunk/dirty/scumbag etc but he chances his arm since he's with a GF.

So you give them the usually excuse's, "no trainers", "sorry last orders called", "we're full" etc and hope they walk away. The bright one's do, but there's other's who'll push their luck and in the end end up embarressing themselves when I have to be blunt and say "listen pal, your <one of the above." .. The GF looks at him like he's a prick, but he's held out his hand to be slapped.

Personally I don't believe in the no trainers rule in most places, but I do believe that it should be up to the door staff to use their discretion.

Working a door is not an exact science and you can only hope you get it right most of the time. If I go home without a fight or incident during the night I consider that I'm made the right choices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I am Poilite to door staff, but I am firm if they try and ive me hassle (not accepting my fake ID for instance >_>) I can hold my own and fake confidence (if it's dark they wont see that I'm shaking :p) and that usually works for me. And I'd always thank the door staff when leaving a pub or club, it's just manners, even the other night two bouncers were giving me hassle about getting in (dodgy ID again >.>) but said "bring your passport next time" so I was extra-nice to them when leaving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭enner43

Having seen some of the crap that bouncers have to deal with I always try to be as nice and polite as I can when dealing with them.