Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fender bass

• 22-12-2007 12:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭

Looking to get an American fender jazz bass. Any recommendations on any particular one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

which ever one floats your boat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

Umm, the American Series Jazz Bass maybe... How about a shoreline gold one? They're nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭cabla

they all the same?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

You could get a better Jazz bass than a Fender. Are you set on that brand for sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I hear the magic word a-comin'...

****in A!

I feel I have a duty to spread the good word :D

There are others too, it's nuts to stay blinkered to just what the big F and the big G put out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Other than Fender but still along the Jazz Bass style....

How about a Lakland skyline. Them's are nice basses! :)

Of course if you're really hung up on the bass being made in America then whatever. There are plenty of builders in the states that made Jazz type basses, Sadowsky, Valenti, Alleva Coppolo....and a few more that I can't remember.

Doctor J wrote: »
    ****in A!

I feel I have a duty to spread the good word :D

There are others too, it's nuts to stay blinkered to just what the big F and the big G put out.

What? No i was just recommended to get one.

The idea being danced around is that there are far better basses in the same style than the Fender ones. There are players here advocating a Japanese handmade brand called Bacchus, which they will say are the best basses they've every played. Not having had the privilege, I can't speak with any authority, but I can say I do intend to get one.

cabla wrote: »
    What? No i was just recommended to get one.
    Ah, then you have a huge amount of options to choose from, there are a superb range of quality basses out there. What sort of music are you looking to play and what sort of budget have you got? Do you have a particular tone in mind? If you're open to second hand instruments you could get something truly stunning for the price of an American Fender at Dublin shop prices.

Ye im looking for a kinda funky sound. Even electronic kinda. :P Budget is fairly okish. Ye second hand no problemo. Im heading to the states on wed that is why i am asking, may pick up a bargain.

Those Bacchus look gorgeou. Can i get one in the states? Or where?

Japan.

I picked up a Bacchus P from www.guitarjapan.com - great service and they deal in US dollars, so there's a sale going on right now if you know what I mean ;)

For second hand stuff there's the ubox - http://www.ishibashi.co.jp/u_box/ - you'll find great Japanese brands like Bacchus, Navigator (ESP's top range Fender & Gibson replicas) as well as real ESP (not LTD), Moon, Momose, Atelier Z, basically there's a huge amount of great basses on there at any given time.

If you're in the states, just hit the stores and try as much as you can. Definitely check out other brands, don't stick to Fender. The Jazz bass is a classic design, no doubt, and it may be the bass that feels right for you, but just check some other gear out before you buy something. There's such an amazing choice of instruments in the stores there. Give the Lakland 44-02 a shot, it is a superb bass with a huge range of tones, you'll get a Jazz bass sound out of it, you can also get the Stingray sound from it too, it's one of the most versatile basses there is. Try a G&L L2000 also. It was the last bass designed by the guy who designed the jazz bass, so it's a Jazz bass refined and evolved by the guy who had the idead in the first place. If your budget is very healthy try a Sadowsky over there, they're pretty much Jazz basses refined to an insane degree. From what I read the likes of Guitar Center are happy to let you try out all sorts of stuff. Really just try everything you can within your budget and go with the one that sounds and feels the best to you, don't worry about what's written on the headstock :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Rigsby

As stated above definitely take a look at the G&L L 2000. It's a great bass and very versatile sounding.

Ye was looking at the g&l. Look great. And heard they were too

If your budget does n't stretch as far as the actual American made G&L you could consider the Indonisian made G&L Tribute. It is almost the same as the G&L (same pick ups and electronics). The main difference is in the body wood and the way the neck is made. I have the Trib., I've had no problems with it and I love the varity of sounds I can get from it.

Personally, I prefer the Lakland 44-02 (or 55-02 if you're into 5 strings) over the L2000, it's probably the most tonally flexible bass I've ever played and I've spent a bit of time with both. Though you can't go wrong with either tbh. That being said, my favourite bass is a Bacchus Jazz. Try what you can and you'll find the one which suits you :)

my favourite bass is a Bacchus

God! I did n't know that. :p;)

A Bacchus, I didn't say which Bacchus :p

So please tell us. I've inadvertantly found myself browsing that "guitar japan" site you gave. ;)

To be honest, the P is rocking my balls big time, by jaysus it rocks :D

But me and the black P have history, it was my first :p

I...

...don't...

...know...

...anymore... :o

To be honest, the P is rocking my balls big time, by jaysus it rocks :D

But me and the black P have history, it was my first :p

I...

...don't...

...know...

...anymore... :o

Feels like cheating don't it? :D

I have a hard time choosing between my Aria's sometimes. lol :o

Ahhh they're all different, depending on what I'm playing at the time one feels more suitable than another.

I love them all though :D

Sorry for not getting back. In new york now atm. Great place. Been around the shops and realised, if im going to spend this kinda of money, i would really want to be sure. So i am not going to purchase till the summer, gonna try as much as i can out, gonna improve my bass playing, and see what bass would suit me, rather than buying the most expensice most popular bass.,

I appreciate all the help. And will be sure to post again closer to the time, or if i need more help.
    Cabla

Sorry for not getting back. In new york now atm. Great place. Been around the shops and realised, if im going to spend this kinda of money, i would really want to be sure. So i am not going to purchase till the summer, gonna try as much as i can out, gonna improve my bass playing, and see what bass would suit me, rather than buying the most expensice most popular bass.,

I appreciate all the help. And will be sure to post again closer to the time, or if i need more help.
    Cabla

Yeah, try out as many basses as you can. You are in the right place to do it :). Make a note of the ones that feel and sound right to you for future reference.

Happy hunting ! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭SxE Punk

I've heard of many players saying that you can buy SX basses for less than 300 that sound as good as 1500 bills Fenders with a bit of work.

Money doesn't always mean quality, or that you'll like a bass more cause it cost lots. I play my SX and Tanglewood Rebel which I got for 50 quid and free respectively, more than I play my Cort GB7 which cost me a fair sum, about 600 and odd as I recall.

SxE Punk wrote: »
    I've heard of many players saying that you can buy SX basses for less than 300 that sound as good as 1500 bills Fenders with a bit of work.

Money doesn't always mean quality, or that you'll like a bass more cause it cost lots. I play my SX and Tanglewood Rebel which I got for 50 quid and free respectively, more than I play my Cort GB7 which cost me a fair sum, about 600 and odd as I recall.

While SX are good for the money, but I don't believe that they would match the quality of a "€1500 Fender". They generally need work when you buy them, such as setup, new pots, new jack, new bridge.

I have an SX and well, I've done so much work to it I don't think I can consider it an SX anymore. lol

If you're looking for quality at a reduced price, look to the east....Japan. Many many fine basses are being produced there and are very good quality. You can get a great bass for well under a grand.

Even without going Japanese homegrown brands, Fender Japan are by far the best value of the Fender line, in my opinion. Great basses, really good quality stuff. The Bacchus does seem to be the king though, and for someone looking to spend US Fender money, well, it would seem the thing to do for me, personally. Besides, they're utterly delectably pretty. :)

Ahh but everyone knows that Aria make the best Japanese guitars, I'm not biased.....honestly! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭SxE Punk

I've heard nothing but good things about Aria, but I've never had the pleasure of playing one.