Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do..relationship

• 20-12-2007 12:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

Right well I'll basically tell you the background to me and my ex breaking up. All was going well for nigh-on 9 months when one night we had a fight over the phone which I will accept was my fault. She was away at the time drinking with her cousin and I was at home.

But that night she went off with some other guy, didn't tell me and I grovelled to her the next time I saw her. She said she'd take me back if I took her back, and we'd give it a weeks trial. She never once mentioned kissing this guy.

All the week she kept mentioning "Oh this trial isn't going well" in jest when I made a joke, as if to say I was the one on trial. Basically, I managed to find out through the magic of bebo a week later that she cheated on me down in Shannon. I break up with her over it (considering she didn't tell me and wouldn't have, I didn't think I could trust her. Plus there were other rumours in the past) but we say that we'll stay friends after a chat a couple of days later.

A few weeks down the line we end up kissing again and whatever and it looks as if maybe we might get back together before she utters the words "You only visit me to have sex". In disbelief I decided that was it. I didn't say it to her but decided to distance myself only talking to her rarely and rarely replying to texts.

Then last weekend at a Christmas party, when I was standing with a few lads and next thing I noticed her kissing some lad literally 2 yards away. Previously at this party she had come up to me kissed me on the cheek and said to my friends how I was a legend (very drunk). So when I saw her about to leave with this guy I told her never to speak to me again (I was quite drunk at this stage).

That was last weekend and I haven't gone back on my decision despite her texts pleaing with me to just be friends again and apologising for being stupid. Then she asked once and for all whether I would talk to her again and I said no, after which she sent this really sweet message that she wrote herself.

Basically my question is whether I text her..because at the moment I feel like crap and half the time I'm thinking of her. One part of me says no because she cheated on me and hurt me and there are so many unanswered questions from the past. Another part I think still loves her and loves being with her and just having the craic.

What to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

No. Don't text her.

Break contact with her - she's only going to mess your head up.

That is all the advice you need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 CoffeeAndTV

Run. Run quickly. She isn't worth your time and is enjoying playing head games with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

This girl is a self obsessed imature muppet who obviously has no respect for you. There are planty of beautiful, mature women out there, Leave this girl alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Lil' Smiler

Nah don't bother your arse, stupid b*tch!!

You don't want her messing aorund with your head whilst it's Christmas, you can easily go out an meet someone new!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 how are you?

she sounds like a girl who enjoys constant drama

stay well away,she sounds like an egotistic muppet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭CrazyNoob

Yes text her back straight away - waste no time whatsoever, Because
    1) This girl wont wreck your head, constanstly
    2) She isnt a cheat or loose or whatever and you can definately trust her
    3) She has a lot of respect for you - kissing others in front of you shows that

Seriously are you mad????????????????????????????? Run away very quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭muboop1

look, the simple truth is, this girl wont ever be able to be just a normal mate... thats just how it goes, it will always be different, #

she will retaing the power to hurt you a hell of alot more easily then anybody else, prob have a huge pullon your emotions...

now... this can sometimes be ok, sometimes you can still stay friends... but the problem is... you cant trust her... if you could trust her to not hurt you it would be different, she couldt even not hurt you in a relationship, what chances are there she will not hurt you now? very slim in my opinion...

i tell people not to be friends with anybody who they cant trust, but especially anybody with such a pull on your emotions...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭TEH REAL CDP

Oh memories.

Get the heck out of there.

Neurotic women are not good.

She WILL mess you up. There's plenty more sane fish in the sea and all that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Have no contact with her whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Flex

My first thought woulda been to see her again so you dont leave yourself wondering about what might have been, but judging from her behaviour in the post you made Id say to have no contact with her, she sounds completely untrustworthy and disrespectful. Good luck in whatever you decide to do