Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Total noobie

• 19-12-2007 9:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭

Thought id introduce myself. Ive always loved airsoft and owned quite a few guns in my day and was thrilled to discover the change in the law. Currently I do some medieval combat re-enactment and the odd bit of film work. Recently picked up a nice p90 and would love to get involved in the now legal sport. Im based up in Finglas and wondering where is the best place to get started. Having looked all around the MIA website my latest paycheck is also burning a big hole in my pocket waiting to get spent. What pistol do you guys reckon is best for a newbie i'd like something with blowback but i dont wanna spend a fortune. Any help would be appreciated. Anyway hoping to meet a few of you soon and get involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Well first off welcome to the boards.ie community, secondly there is a wealth of useful info in the stickies so have a read through them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Sabrewolfe, are you part of the Raheny "gathering" group or the viking combat guys?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

get an M9, classic looks and feel great, i love them.., maybe a glock if thats your thing, some love them some hate them.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭sabrewolfe

Part of a newish group called An Fainne Fiain. Do mainly viking and medieval. Granted getting hit with a five pound sword is a bit different from airsoft but what can I say I love combat! Like the look of glocks and the m9's im assuming the lads at MIA let you fire off a few rounds to get the feel of a gun before forking out to buy it. Does anybody know if they open at the weekend as I cant find any opening hours on their site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

p90 excellent airsoft device, ank any one who has one its a super AEG ,perfect for HRTA

can you tell Gatling just bought one?

and he is now scouring the world for 2 C-MAGS for his Glock 18c,to dual weild,

and yes im in the exclusive P90 club

WELCOME SABRE TO THE BOARDS AND THE WORLD OF AIRSOFT

well p90's are a sweet weapon. Last time I was in the states got to try a real one at a range in vegas love at first sight.

Whats the craic with this HRTA place I keep hearing about. What is it? I know its out near swords but apart from that whats up with it?

www.hrta.ie /for all your info.its the main/premier skirmish site over here ,

its where the majority ou us go to skirmish we get an average of 35 people skirmishing on a saturday,

can you tell Gatling just bought one?

Lol pains me everytime he mentions it :rolleyes:

zero19 wrote: »
    Lol pains me everytime he mentions it :rolleyes:

yeah come to think of it theres been a lot of P90 talk on here lately., think hes been gloating just coz we dont have one huh.,:rolleyes:.,lol

vtec wrote: »
    yeah come to think of it theres been a lot of P90 talk on here lately., think hes been gloating just coz we dont have one huh.,:rolleyes:.,lol
    Yeah, looking at them on UNcompany now lol :o

Only snag is I dont know the fps of my p90 i assume its fairly low as its only a aeg but having said that i will be curious as to what a chrono has to say. Irish law is a very weird thing I know for combat archery there is no possible way to licence a bow and we self regulate to a draw weight of 35 pounds max. Bloody painfull getting hit by a blunt rubber tip the size of a euro coin. Bizare aint it ? Must knock out to HRTA some weekend after first stopping of at MIA. Tell you what anyone in Finglas ballymun who wants a lift out there some weekend I will trade a lift for a few introductions and some tips

Hey if you ever wanna sell hit me up lol ;) standard FPS is 270

the law states the that an airsoft is limited to 1joule of energy =328fps(feet per second) the P9O averages about 275fps ,on a chrono so plent of room for upgrades ,have mine firing at 17bbs a second with a better battery,upgrades coming after xmas,

the 1joule law there is a stickie posted with all the details,

sabrewolf what brand is your P90

Its a Chinese wells D90S. Using cheap ammo till i can get the good stuff so it occasionally wont feed rounds properly due to burrs on cheap bbs. Dont wanna be under fire and suffer a stoppage click click the dead mans click

you'd kinda feel cheated with the p90 though huh, for the price of it and you dont even get 1J., I know KDs one has some rate of fire though, compared to the g36 and M4.,

not too sure about the wells P90 fps could be either high or low , myself and a few other use the Tokyo mauri P90 considered to be the best version,

Yeah true enough, i just love the noiseless hi cap though! I need something fairly compact for travel, was thinking G36, AKS74 or P90...Decisions decisions

The wells version is low enough FPS i think

as far as i know the TM is 270 aswell., bit silly really huh.,

EDIT: I just realized what thread this is., sorry OP.,lol

well decided to get a g17 of MIA so at least if the p90 turns out to be dodgy on a chrono i will have something to work with. Thought id pick up a Franchi 3A as well seeing as how there only 40 quid

how about the G18? it looks like the G17 but you get full auto option?

cant see it a problem skirmishing .the p90 's have great rof and decent range,
    picked up a glock 18c at mia ,dont expect to use it much if its a gbb in the cold weather,green gas dosent like cold weather

Believe me, the Well P90 will be under. Way under.

true but its the extra forty quid that has me eating beans on toast for the rest of the month. Anybody heard anything about the frenchi any reviews

ive read some reviews on line .its one fo the better affordable springers, you could use it as a primary weapon , though against aegs you will get out gunned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

ah yea, yis all love the p90 now, you just wanna be like me :)

anyway,welcome sabrewolfe

to be honest the well p90 is nothing in comparison to the TM version from what i've heard, im sure it's fun to mess around with but the quality, power and range from the TM is alot better

id like to see one in person though, anything i've heard about them has been purely online

kd we could test the Well mags v TM mags , see if there's any difference

yea, been meaning to do that for a while, was gonna add one to a larger order but kept forgetting

Right i'm ordering one today! Are ye happy now? I'll be broke now lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

Gatling wrote: »
    p90 excellent airsoft device, ank any one who has one its a super AEG ,perfect for HRTA

Sure, if you're Barbie.:rolleyes:

yeay get a real mans gun, none of this "polly Pocket" stuff.,:p

It's better than a broken G36 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Foxy-07

i was using the p90 the other day tinking about geting it because its a nice gun and great fire rate
    welcome saberwolf

ok decided on a g18 and franchi. Half a thought about dual wielding at some point. Should not be let watch equilibrium anymore

G18's are lovely, good choice... Oh and sorry for all the spam :o

kdouglas wrote: »
    It's better than a broken G36 :)

Only slightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

sabrewolfe wrote: »
    ok decided on a g18 and franchi. Half a thought about dual wielding at some point. Should not be let watch equilibrium anymore

Corinthian-turret.gif

If you like equilibrium there a loads of cool beretta m9 and m92 variants available.

Full auto M9s for the win!.,

(although i have a soft spot fot G18s aswell)

Full auto M9s for the win!.,

(although i have a soft spot fot G18s aswell)
    I have a soft spot for Glocks too.
    It's a septic tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Ah you found it Paul ;)

I have a soft spot for Glocks too.
    It's a septic tank.

thats a silly place to leave your equipment, I thought you'd of figured that out after the G36.,:D:p.,

A septic tank is the one continer where a Glock dosn't look out of place. It fits right in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

A septic tank is the one continer where a Glock dosn't look out of place. It fits right in.

Do you hate glocks that much?

they're a bit like marmite i guess; you either hate it or love it:D

alvin is suffering the male menopause,
    grumpy git

here we should send him a copy of this for xmas

g36upg1.jpg

Ok was out in MIA today spent over two hundred on stuff. Love my new g18 picked up an extended mag as well for the full auto spray and pray. Like the accuracy of the franchi 3a got one with a pistol grip as opposed to the stock. Next question who is going out to HRTA tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

sabrewolfe wrote: »
    Next question who is going out to HRTA tomorrow
    wrong thread to ask in mate

post your HRTA questions in the HRTA thread