Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who can tell me how many people are participating in Martial art

• 19-12-2007 2:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭

Hi Guys , Can any one tell me how many people are participating in martial art in Ireland. approx?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

A gansi load!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭Scootay

Ah, there'd be more than that.

Scootay wrote: »
    Ah, there'd be more than that.
    Ok an Ass load or a heap of lads even!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Dawei

Well. That was helpful. Redraven, do you do bjj?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Red Raven does sumo wrestling. He came 2nd or 3rd in the nationals last night. :D

I don't think there's any way to tell how many people participate in martial arts in Ireland....even by approximation. I think you'd just be guessing.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,542 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I was at a TKD national championship event a couple years ago, and it was claimed that there were over 1-million in the USA enrolled in TKD (WTF, plus ITF, plus others). That's roughly one person out of every 300 citizens in the USA are enrolled in TKD. Also read someplace that WTF (Kukkiwon) claims registered dojangs in over 100 nations (but didn't hear an estimate of overall enrollment). The dojang I part-time instruct at has about 300 enrolled and is growing. Not sure where you could get a reliable estimate for overall world TKD enrollment, much less Irish MA or overall world MA enrollment.

Dawei wrote: »
    Well. That was helpful. Redraven, do you do bjj?
    Sorry D...Im just in a giddy humour...must be the Xmas feeling..Id say it must be in the low thousands.

Khannie wrote: »
    Red Raven does sumo wrestling. He came 2nd or 3rd in the nationals last night. :D

Well I feel the I was robbed last night..dodgy decision by the ref!!!:D

Good craic all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Hi Guys , Can any one tell me how many people are participating in martial art in Ireland. approx?

54321, IM NOT COUNTING ANYONE WHO MIGHT LEAVE OR JOIN CLUBS TONIGHT!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

ok lads. How many people will train on christmas day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

20032 i'd say!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭SorGan

i might do some pushups but thats about it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 slimer

RedRaven wrote: »
    Well I feel the I was robbed last night..dodgy decision by the ref!!!:D

Good craic all the same.

hey, leave the ref out of it
    you were just too slow for me :-)
    shame that I lost the final :-)
    but anyway, big thumbs up to Paul for great last session:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

ok lads. How many people will train on christmas day?

apparently the number is around 10,000

as for training xmas day SBG have had an xmas day roll every year for the past 4 years or so. everybody welcome 12-2pm sbgireland.com for directions

hope to see you on the day

john

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Eleventy billion. Give or take..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

There are a grand total of two people who do martial arts here.
    One is a ninja and the other is a pirate, everyone who posts here is just one of them using an alias. Fact !

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,542 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

There are a grand total of two people who do martial arts here.
    One is a ninja and the other is a pirate, everyone who posts here is just one of them using an alias. Fact !
    OK, which one are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

Y'arr that would be telling.

slimer wrote: »
    you were just too slow for me :-)

Oh I cant wait to get you in the ring in the new year!!!:D;):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Well there were 12 people at my class last night, so based upon extrapolations I've just done on the back of an old envelope, taking into account the amount of clubs, the coldness of the weather, the average age of an Irish person in the last census, I would say with 98.7% mathematical certaintly that the number of people doing martial arts in Ireland is.....

12!

Oh, wait. ..... nnnaaaghhh I forgot to carry a 1. Give me another hour or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭paul moran

According to IMAC a number of years ago, apart from GAA and Soccer, there was more people training martial arts in one form or an other than taking part in any other activity in this country!?!?!?

There's no way of knowing the figure cause it is not a properly regulated activity. Although if you consider the number of Kickboxers and TKD'ers out there, the number is pretty huge. If you were to visit every community hall, school etc in your area and took a count you could probably extrapolate a figure but what's the point, the number is between Roper's and cowzerp's figures.

Although if you phone the IABA, they could tell you how many registered boxers there are. They know how to run a NGB!

If there is only 10,000 Martial artists out there, then I teach around 2 - 3% of them. Not bad considering I'm only teaching in one catchment area.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 slimer

yeah, really looking forward to it :D
    hope you are not gonna break my neck, would really love to have at least 1 fight before retirement:D
    any idea if there will be class next week?
    well, fo' sure will see ya tonite;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

***ehem***

Sex & Sexuality forum please!. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Mairt wrote: »
    ***ehem***

Sex & Sexuality forum please!. :eek:
    SorGan wrote: »
    i might do some pushups but thats about it:)

Cock Pushups obviously

[QUOTE=

If there is only 10,000 Martial artists out there, then I teach around 2 - 3% of them. Not bad considering I'm only teaching in one catchment area.:D[/QUOTE]

That's very good, is it normally that many people in most of the clubs?