Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cleaned out my room today

• 17-12-2007 8:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭

And just as I was about to throw an old wallet out, I decided to look inside. 165 euros.

Anyone else ever put something somewhere only to forget about it, and stumble across it as a nice surprise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

You're asking for a sick Maddie joke with that question...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Lands Leaving

obl wrote: »
    And just as I was about to throw an old wallet out, I decided to look inside. 165 euros.

Anyone else ever put something somewhere only to forget about it, and stumble across it as a nice surprise?

How did you forget about 165 quid. You must be bloody loaded to forget that kind of money.

All I get when I clean out my room is dust and coins that fall behind things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Yeah, no Madeleine McCann jokes. There's a time and a place.

Lands Leaving, I'm a college student who barely made it through November...

Yeah, no Madeleine McCann jokes. There's a time and a place.

Well in that case it was REALLY lucky. Pity you couldn't find it in November though!

And out of interest, when is the time and place for madeleine mccann jokes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Always, and anywhere but here. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭walt0r

Found a fifty in bedside drawer when cleaning out my college room in Galway last year. I could have done with that so many times when I was bled out by the drink sitting starving in my room dreaming of pizza with a godawful hangover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

the missus told me a few months ago that everytime she does my washing, there's always money in my pockets and she just keeps it. I never even noticed, but she'd get anywhere from €10-€50 from that every week. I should say she used to get that, no wonder i was always broke and there was me blaming the immigrants:rolleyes:

Senna wrote: »
    the missus told me a few months ago that everytime she does my washing, there's always money in my pockets and she just keeps it. I never even noticed, but she'd get anywhere from €10-€50 from that every week. I should say she used to get that, no wonder i was always broke and there was me blaming the immigrants:rolleyes:

Maybe she's an immigant. damn immigants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Regularly find Euro notes in back pockets of various jeans/trousers I own...only find them when I check all pockets before putting into the wash.

I found Amelia Earhart in my room the other day. Turned out she just took a wrong turn. Silly women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Maybe she's an immigant. damn immigants.

SHE TUK AR JERBS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

You are duty bound to get beers in for the lads so.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I was wondering why my missus was so rich!! I better start cleaning the room from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

brought a lovley tuna sambo to my room a couple of weeks ago, forgot about it cause i put a bag on top of it by accident and boy did i get a surprize when i found it:eek::eek::eek::o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Found a €100 gift voucher (the An Post ones?) last week cleaning my room that I got as a leaving present in mid 2005. I thought I lost it the night of my leaving in a drunken mess... turned out I must have hidden it away when I came home drunk... only to find it nearly 2 and a half years later... and a year and a half out of date....

f*ck!

Not exactly a nice surprise, but a surprise none the less...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Not exactly the same thing, but i'm halfway through counting the coins i have in a biscuit tin so i can bring them to the bank in a few days. I'm up to €450 so far, probably another €200 left. Ran out of money bags!! Damn money bags!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Found a €100 gift voucher (the An Post ones?) last week cleaning my room that I got as a leaving present in mid 2005. I thought I lost it the night of my leaving in a drunken mess... turned out I must have hidden it away when I came home drunk... only to find it nearly 2 and a half years later... and a year and a half out of date....

f*ck!

Not exactly a nice surprise, but a surprise none the less...
    Ring the Post Office, the may still honour it.

My mother found a voucher for somewhere that was a year out of date, some restaurant I think, they gave her full value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

A few years ago I found a cheque for over 3 grand in my glove compartment that I had completely forgot about. It was a year out of date but I had gotten it off my own job and just got them to re-issue it...Had a bit of a job explaining that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

A few years ago I found a cheque for over 3 grand in my glove compartment that I had completely forgot about. It was a year out of date but I had gotten it off my own job and just got them to re-issue it...Had a bit of a job explaining that one.

You must smoke the wacky, the only way I could forget about three grand is if: the memory part of my brain was removed or that cheer leader chick from heroes turned up and confessed her undying love for me shortly after I received it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

i usually find money in the pockets of a jacket i havent worn in a while

or behind my bed, or computer desk

its like free money!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

Can't believe no-one's said it yet ...........

Yore Ma!

:D:D:D

:::: ven0mous ::::

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I don't clean, so no

I'll ask the maid about it later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

I put £300 pounds in a safe place about 10 years ago...
    Couldn't for the life of me remember where the safe place was...

Found it there at the begining of the year when i was moving out....

Safe when i was 15 meant taped to the back of a drawer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

god that's a lot of money ye guys have all found, I'd usually be thrilled to find a fiver in my winter coat pocket when I put it back on when the winter sets in :D

A few years back I found these letters me and my best mate wrote each other when we were about 12, we used to write lil short stories and have this hot teacher that we loved in it, it got quite dirty in parts, never realised I was a dirty minded child :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭- bo -

Yeah we were at Download Festival in June and we bought a couple of disposable BBQs in Asda along with some sausages and rashers to do that evening. But we left them in the tent and forgot about them and for the next 4 days we were wondering where this really bad whiff was coming from. Looked under a pile of stuff in the tent and found the food. It was gone kinda green.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

Was throwing out a load of crap that fell behind the radiators/desk, and found a Cadburys bar wrapper. Was a 'win a holiday' one and I won ... except it was OUT OF DATE to claim it. Was ragin' - could have had a free villa for 2 weeks in Spain :(:(:(