Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV Newsreader now lives on park bench

• 16-12-2007 4:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭

From yesterdays Daily express

NEWSREADER Ed Mitchell once earned £1000,000 a year but now he is sleeping on a park bench and living on hand-outs .Ed, 54, lives on a seafront bench ,just around the corner from his old luxury home .The former financial specialist who worked for ITN's News at Ten ,the BBC. sky,channel 4 and the US network CNBC , has even being turned down as a street cleaner .He has being declared bankrupt after being unable to to pay credit card debts of more than £ 250,000 .He said his problems began when he ran up debts of £50,000 and after his redundency in 2000 he tried to pay them off by taking out more loans .Although he was able to find some freelance work ,his earnings were soon Swallowed up by the enormous intrest payments he had to meet.'' It doesn' matter how much you pay them ,you never actualy catch up ,'' he said . The Durham university gaduate split from his wife to years ago and his spiralling debts forced him to sell his £500,00 home in Hove Brighten.His problems came to a head two weeks ago when he was declared bankrupt.

'' My children love their father but maybe not in the persona of tramp .They are not in any position to help me really because they have their own lives to lead .I dont want to impose on them either .I think they treat it with a sense of humor even though their is a serious side to it, i could die of hypothermia .I've applied for al kinds of jobs .I've applied to sweep the streets but they turned me down .Were does a male tv presenter go ? '' The only fear i have now is that i will be beaten up on the bench but that hasn't happened yet.

For anybody who thinks that will never happen to me it can, and does happen to almost anybody .

Latch

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

It happens to idiots who can't manage their own finances.

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭mox54

May have been a top class newsreader but is one hell of a lousy manager of personal finances, £250,000 debt on credit cards, how in all that's good and holy do you manage to rack up debts like that and not see trouble coming...feel sorry for the chap but.....:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Former financial specialist is right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

mox54 wrote: »
    May have been a top class newsreader but is one hell of a lousy manager of personal finances, £250,000 debt on credit cards, how in all that's good and holy do you manage to rack up debts like that and not see trouble coming...feel sorry for the chap but.....:confused:
    Yeah , it does make you think ....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,108 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

That's very sad - I read that drink had a big part to play in it too. It just goes to show that it can happen to anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

latchyco wrote: »
    The only fear i have now is that i will be beaten up on the bench but that hasn't happened yet.

That made me laugh :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Anybody think of Ron Burgundy when reading that?

I can imagine him roaming the streets; "Milk was a bad choice" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

That's very sad - I read that drink had a big part to play in it too. It just goes to show that it can happen to anyone.
    Yes agreed, it can happen to anyone, so we shouldnt really make fun of him.Who here earns over 1 million a year, Well he did and not us

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    Anybody think of Ron Burgundy when reading that?

I can imagine him roaming the streets; "Milk was a bad choice" :D
    Dan Akroyd in Trading Places sprang to mind when i first read it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Whoever wrote that article has a very poor grasp of the rules of the English language.

£1000,000 ?

£500,00 ?

"loans .Although he was able to find some freelance work ,his" ?

intrest ?

gaduate ?

WTF

• Registered Users Posts: 23,982 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

No wonder the teachers don't want bench-marking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

ejmaztec wrote: »
    No wonder the teachers don't want bench-marking!

Public sector pay is bench-marked.
    I think you mean performance related pay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭bangersandmash

dublindude wrote: »
    Whoever wrote that article has a very poor grasp of the rules of the English language.

£1000,000 ?

£500,00 ?

intrest ?

gaduate ?

WTF

Perhaps Mr. Micro wrote it . :D

• Registered Users Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Proxy

Jesus. Amazing how the mighty do fall. I've been in debt before but only college debts which were quite large all the same. Managed to clear it out, over time, its when you lose yourself in the big picture of it without thinking of the (realistic) small processes of it - such as interest and automatic repayments versus income - that you become screwed.

Working part time in a retail chain now while finishing postgrad, the amount you see people spending especially at this time of the year, its unbelievable. Its not right, it puts a family in debt for the sake of showing off. I bought my dad a book that he'll really like, my mother the DVD she really wants and my brother a CD collection that he'll love - simple, no 42" TVs or anythin like you see some people buying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Proxy wrote: »
    the amount you see people spending especially at this time of the year, its unbelievable.

I think it's getting worse every year. The idea of living off credit cards is practically normal now.

It's ****ed really...

• Registered Users Posts: 23,982 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

micmclo wrote: »
    Public sector pay is bench-marked.
    I think you mean performance related pay

Poetic licence:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

why trhe hell can't he sleep on his kids couch?

those ungrateful little ****s tbh

dublindude wrote: »

£1000,000 ?

£500,00 ?

intrest ?

gaduate ?

WTF
    Typing errors due to crappy keyboard ,but your right ,one should be corrected on ones grammer however it didn't stop most if not all the posters understanding the thread topic in question and i have noticed how some people (loike yerself ) are really hung up on spelling mistakes .I'm sure you have made more than a few ....er yerself .....yawn :rolleyes:
    Mordeth wrote: »

Yeah, loike talk about being disowned.....

• Registered Users Posts: 14,715 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

There's an article in The Sunday Times today about him too. Basically he says he didn't want to burden his mother or kids with having to support him.

Apparently there are some deals in the pipeline so he could pull out of this yet but as someone else said this seems to have been drink related so he could easily blow it all again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I'm Henry Sellers

I made the BBC

I'm Henry Sellers
    Was that yer man on fr ted who every time he had drink forced on him turned nasty as in '' ya shower of bastards , ya shower of bolloxs ....tis that him ? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

mox54 wrote: »
    May have been a top class newsreader but is one hell of a lousy manager of personal finances, £250,000 debt on credit cards, how in all that's good and holy do you manage to rack up debts like that...

Get a wife?

He's broke, but I'll bet she's not!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Typing errors due to crappy keyboard ,but your right ,one should be corrected on ones grammer however it didn't stop most if not all the posters understanding the thread topic in question and i have noticed how some people (loike yerself ) are really hung up on spelling mistakes .I'm sure you have made more than a few ....er yerself .....yawn :rolleyes:
    Why didn't you just copy and paste it?

Terry wrote: »
    Why didn't you just copy and paste it?
    Good question Terry ,i couldent find it on the online daily express but yeah would have being easier .Was typing quickly to :)

Ahh. I just thought you copied it from the website.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

marcsignal wrote: »
    Homeless me bollix.
    Those clothes are better than mine.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

I only vaguely remember him, after seeing those images. That's upsetting to read. With the good job he had, he should have been set up for later in life with a generous pension as a reward for his dedication and hard work. But it's amazing how it can all go wrong through carelessness.
    If he had never worked a day in his life, he would have been provided with a council house so he wouldn't now be homeless at such a vulnerable time in his life.