Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SSF Game on Thursday 20th at 8pm sharp!

• 14-12-2007 11:02pm
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Guys, for various reasons I am a bit late organising this so I've simply chosen the date and am running with it.

This is designed to be a bit-of-a-laugh event and we will get drunk in Lukes and have fun.

I hope we'll get a good turn out and enjoy an evening of gamboool!!

Please tell everyone you can.

DeV.

1. Who is running the event (organisation, society etc.) CHL's on behalf of SSF.

2. The purpose of the event (charity, commercial etc.) Charity

3. Date and Location of event. Thursday 20th. 8pm. Cool Hand Lukes on Merrion Square.

5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc). Free membership of Lukes on the night.

7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.) Rebuy event. 25% of pot withheld.

8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc. 50 in, 30 rebuy.

9. Cost of registration. 5 euro

10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund. 75%.

11. Any guarenteed prize pool. There is guarunteed to be one.

12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. HAHAHAH... it depends if Mr Pillowtalk turns up.

13. Starting Chips. Some. Probably 3k.

14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts. Probably 3k as well.

15. Blind levels. Yes.

16. Blind timeframes. 20 mins. this is a fun gamble fest.

17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc). 10% of field roughly paid. (That is, people will be manhandled while being paid.)

18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill. Yes. Good.
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules. No.
    20. Is there a tournament director. Yes, Luke Ivory.
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say. Last man standing by knockout or submission.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Thank fcuk. Was beginning to think there wouldn't be one. wp DeV and Luke et al.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

I googled SSF and it said Santa Strike Force, that right? Im sure 90% of Boardsies know this but for relative newcomers like me i'll just put this link up:

http://wiki.boards.ie/wiki/Santa_Strike_Force

I'll most likely play, charity FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,314 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I played this in 2004 (my very 1st live tournament) and 2005, wasn't in the country last year and won't be in Dublin this year, but I urge all who can attend to do so as you'll be taking part in what was always a great tournament, having a laugh and supporting a worthy cause at the same time! What more can you ask for...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 GutShot@CHLs

re point 5, don't forget the photo ID, pls.

enjoy

\r

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Bubbled in this last year. Feck the charity. Revenge. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

In!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

My drunken memory of this game last time we played it is Norwich Fan Rob sitting there looking forlorn saying "I've rebought 11 times in 11 hands and I havent won one of them...."!!

Dev.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

ionapaul wrote: »
    I played this in 2004 (my very 1st live tournament) and 2005, wasn't in the country last year and won't be in Dublin this year, but I urge all who can attend to do so as you'll be taking part in what was always a great tournament, having a laugh and supporting a worthy cause at the same time! What more can you ask for...?

IIRC you nearly got beaten one year by a teddy bear....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

re point 5, don't forget the photo ID, pls.

enjoy

\r

Never been to a card club and other plans permitting I may make this. What kind of ID do you mean - age?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Macros42 wrote: »
    Never been to a card club and other plans permitting I may make this. What kind of ID do you mean - age?

Yes, passport, drivers license, garda id etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

OK. I'll be ok then - even looking younger than I am I only get away with early 30's :D

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Won't be able to make this one this year, good luck with it all though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,027 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

5starpool wrote: »
    Won't be able to make this one this year, good luck with it all though.

savin for poland?

Ace2007 wrote: »
    savin for poland?

Yes. Yes I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Bear this year? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

I will go for the beers and stick some money in for the ssf, will play the tourney if Im motivated enough.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I'll bring the bear and see how he feels about playing :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

The problem with playing the tourney is that when you get a bundle of chips together it seems a waste to just chuck them away so you can go on the session.

DeVore wrote: »
    I'll bring the bear and see how he feels about playing :)

Are you referring to Mike or the actual bear...?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Is there a wide range of players going? My only experience is some casual texas hold 'em drunken games with the lads, never been to a proper event or even a casino. I would fully expect to be out pretty quickly, but I don't want to make a complete tit of myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

eoin_s wrote: »
    Is there a wide range of players going? My only experience is some casual texas hold 'em drunken games with the lads, never been to a proper event or even a casino. I would fully expect to be out pretty quickly, but I don't want to make a complete tit of myself.

Itll be good fun and everybody will be very helpful, even if you get knocked out early have a beer and a bit of banter.

Dub13 wrote: »
    Are you referring to Mike or the actual bear...?:)
    LOL.... I think I'll bring the teddy bear, he plays better then Mike anyway :p

DeV.

yeah, this wont be a heavy serious game, it will be a lot more fun then that :)
    In fact it would be a good game to try if you ARENT a serious player as no one will be watching!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

bohsman wrote: »
    Itll be good fun and everybody will be very helpful, even if you get knocked out early have a beer and a bit of banter.

Still a little daunted by the prospect, but may give it a go - especially given the cause. Can I just turn up on my own?

eoin_s wrote: »
    Still a little daunted by the prospect, but may give it a go - especially given the cause. Can I just turn up on my own?

I don't think you should be though. Once you are there for 10 minutes you will be fine. If you can get someone you know to go then all the better, but there is no reason not to turn up on your own. I bet you would be as good as several of the 'regulars' in any dublin casino anyhow the standard can be that bad.

Edit: Also, DeV can't play anyhow. He only brings the bear along to get some hints. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

DeVore wrote: »
    LOL.... I think I'll bring the teddy bear, he plays better then Mike anyway :p

DeV.

If my memory serves me right it was Ionapaul that knocked him out with 88 vs the bears JTo. How the fcuk can I remember hands like that.

BigDragon wrote: »
    If my memory serves me right it was Ionapaul that knocked him out with 88 vs the bears JTo. How the fcuk can I remember hands like that.

LOL...I think your memory is 100% right.Maybe IonaPaul can talk us through the hand again...?

Yup that was the hand. Ionapaul raised, the teddy moved in (via a perfectly timed text from Mike) and Ionapaul made the call (after some ribbing!) and won the race. :)

See y'all tonight for a bit of craic.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

How many rebuys, or is it unlimited?