Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Don't know what to do.

• 14-12-2007 3:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7

I went on a date last night with a lad I met recently, I had about three glasses of wine but I can't remember past about 9 o clock. Im not great at holding my drink but 3 glasses of wine wouldn't do that to me. I woke up this morning in his bed naked and it was obvious we had sex. I have bites and bruises all over me and there was some rubber tubing wrapped around my wrist which I have a vague memory of be tied to the bed. I can't rem what happened but Im sure I didn't consent to this. I didn't react when I woke up and he just went on as if this was normal. I got a taxi home and I have just gotten out of bed. I don't know if I should go to th police or hosp i don't know if i want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Floodzie

Wow - sounds strange. You MAY have been spiked - if so it's possible that there may be traces of a substance in your system. You would be better ringing a doctor at least and see if this is possible, if so go and give a sample (and don't use the loo in the meantime).

But yeah, only having 3 glasses of wine followed by memory loss sounds a bit suspect alright...

Good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Not quite sure what your angling at here? If you're concerned about anything medically then go get a check up of course.

Beyond that....well I don't know really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Wanttochange

I think Ive been raped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Floodzie

The rape crisis centre is 1800 778888 - they're your best bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

That sounds very strange indeed. I think you should go to the hospital and get some tests done. Maybe get the police involved. I don't want to use the 4 letter R word but do you think that's what happened?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭kf1920

Go to a doctor or hospital and explain what happened. That you are not sure etc, everything you told us, and let them help you. I'm sure this wouldnt be there first time dealing with this sort of thing, Just go straight away.

And it means involving the Gardaí, do it, otherwise someone else may fall victim to him as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭mox54

lad you met recently sounds like you don't really know the guy, I'd say that it's nearly certain you were drugged......sorry but it sounds like you were.....head for the nearest cop shop and explain to a nice understanding Garda cause they'll probably come to the same conclusion, also you need a blood test taken etc.....or......put it down to a bad experience and learn a lesson from it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

If you think you've been raped then the rape crisis center is in the best position to help and adivse you, give them a call.

Just saw your last post there. You need to go to the hospital then, tell them what happened. They should run tests and collect evidence then. Do this ASAP so it's all still fresh. Call the RCC too, for someone to talk to. They know what they're doing.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

you need to get yourself to the hospital straight away to confirm if you have been drug some of these drugs can leave your system within 24 hours. If you do not want to go alone phone the RCC, they have volunteers who will meet you and sit with you when all the test are being completed

good luck

Ive rang my ex b/f and he is coming to bring to hospital, i can't believe this has happened. Im in shock, i don't know how to feel. Theres a punture mark on arm too from a needle, think thats whta it is.

Good luck! I hope you have the courage to press charges, you can't let people get away with things like this. We're all here for you.

Its the right move, stay strong and you'll be ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

no offence but are you sure you are not playing the victim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Femmy wrote: »

Well if there's drugs in the girls system, we'll know she isn't, on this occasion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Pigletlover

Femmy wrote: »

I really hope not.

Go to the hospital and get checked out and if anything unusual shows up in the blood/urine tests contact the Gardai. If you have been raped you need to make sure this guy doesn't get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭maddog

( Stop Playing The Victim
    Hi. I am a 24 year old girl and I really think my attitude to my problems and other people is really holding me back. Like the thread title says I get out of most situations by playing the victim. I have done things which were horrible and I always use the fact that I have suffered sexual assault to explain why I have done it.

In fairness to myself I have had a situation where two other people have been bad mouthing me and doing their best to get other people to see what I am capable of. But part of what they are saying is true, I do lie to get people to feel sorry for me and I do always manage to make myself look like the victim. I can be just as manipulative as anyone else.

I know what my problem is and where is lies but what I really want to know is should I tell the people I care about the truth. Im not sure what good it will do but I do feel that I will finally be able to move on even if it means I lose alot of good friends. Is it enough to admit this to myself and maybe my therapist or should I just come clean completely?)

Sounds like you didn't discuss this with your therapist and this looks like your crying wolf, I hope your very sure of your emotions before you put alot of pepole thru a lot of grief!

If it is true I'm sorry for this post and I hope you get thru it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

At first I thought "oh my god that poor girl" then I saw your other post and I'm not sure.

if you're crying wolf, please don't drag that innocent chap down with you for attention.

If you're not, you need to get medical evidence gathered as soon as possible or you'll have no case.

Either way, please get some councelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭maddog

Also why are you getting your ex to take you and not a family member or best friend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭K_P

I don't know what to think in this situation now.

If you have been drugged and raped, you have my every sympathy. My first reaction to your post was complete horror at such an awful situation.

However, if you're simply following a pattern you've previously admitted to of getting out of tricky situations by claiming you've been raped, then your attitude makes me sick. Rape and sexual assault are horrific crimes. Falsely claiming you've been subjected to these belittles genuine rape victims and destroys the lives of innocent men.

However, I don't really know what to think. Whatever the truth is, I agree with SetantaL, you're going to need some counselling.

I don't think that's what her other post meant. I think she meant that she blamed some past sexual assault for her behaviour these days. It does make me doubt how true this is but I'm inclined to believe her until proven otherwise.

How horrible if this is true and everyone starts calling her a liar?

the dee wrote: »
    I don't think that's what her other post meant. I think she meant that she blamed some past sexual assault for her behaviour these days. It does make me doubt how true this is but I'm inclined to believe her until proven otherwise.

How horrible if this is true and everyone starts calling her a liar?

Thanks for that.

I never made anything up about been abused as a child nor am i inventing this either. I used to use my experiences to get out of taking responsilbity for things I did to people. I can understand why people may be wary of what I poste d earlier but it would have been nice if people didn't jump to conclusions.

My ex came with me because he is my best friend and I know I can trust him to keep it to himself. I got a full examination and they tooks samples and photos, when the results of my toxicolgy test comes back I will be making a statement to the guards either way.

Im proud of myself for doing this so im just going to ignore those of you who said I was lying, i will have enough of that if this evr gets to court.

If this is genuine which i kinda believe it to be, then well done, you've done the best thing, and your strong mental attitude will help you.

I gotta say this though, if its not genuine, you do still need help, to accuse anyone of such things is appalling and shows that you do have some problem, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭K_P

I'm sorry if my previous post came across as though I was accusing you of lying. I, along with some other posters here, was confused by what your previous post meant. But I don't think anyone here accused you outright of making this up.

I'm glad you went to the doctor and, if it turns out there were drugs in your system, you're absolutely doing the right thing by going to the police. Good luck with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

when the results of my toxicolgy test

I have the horrible feeling that I know you...

And you haven't died, so why are you getting a toxicology test? I'm fairly confident that these are carried out post mortem.

OP, I don't believe you. You didn't get a great reaction from your original post, and then you go ahead and throw in a few more details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭sobriquet

sunnyjim wrote: »
    And you haven't died, so why are you getting a toxicology test? I'm fairly confident that these are carried out post mortem.

I understand everyone's skepticism, but I'm pretty confident that a toxicology test is a generic name for any test that analyses blood or urine or whatever for the presence of drugs or poisons. Workplace or sports testing could be called the same. A quick google search seems to agree, and there's no mention of them being solely a post mortem test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

why would somebody alledge that a sexual assault had taken place to a whole load of strangers....seriously!!!! why wouldnt ya just take her word for it...