Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Life After Drugs

• 13-12-2007 1:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭

Managed to kick a 10 year social drug problem I had there about 2 years ago (Coke, E's, Speed, Smoke etc etc). Just wondering has anybody done the same and what ye are all upto?.

I know this may seem like a very strange thread given the recent controversy over drugs in this country, but in some strange way all the talk has made me think about the times that I had on illegal substances, dare I say "good" times I had..

The problem being that most of my friends, good friends, guys I've grown up with and went to school with still dabble quite a bit. So everytime we go out I am on a totally different wavelength to them and find it hard to be in the same social circle now that I'm clean. I don't really drink that much now either cause when I do it usually leads to me wanting some sort of extra buzz.

Don't know what I am aiming at here, I guess coming upto Xmas when drug use is particularly rampant throughout the country I am looking for a reason to stay clean. Don't get me wrong I don't miss the paranoia, the moods etc at all but theres always something itching at me to take them just them one more time..

Is there a life after drugs?, where do we go from here?. Can we get the same euphoric feeling from life that we get from illegal substances?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Have a look in PI, there are a few current threads on people stopping drinking and drugging.
    Btw, well done!

As to life after drugs, yes I think so. Babies, love, great food. All of these can give you certain "highs".

fare play man. hope you can stay clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Wilde

A drug habits for life, not just for christmas :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭shrapnel222

get kids, after that you won't have time for anything else!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Cheers guys, doubt will be having babies too soon though can't even look after myself!!!..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I gave up all the hard stuff at the beginning of the year and don't really miss it. Whenever there's talk of the hard stuff I usually don't bother going out because I know as soon as I have a few pints in me all common sense will go out the window.

The only drug I'll do now is smoke, I know I won't move onto anything else if I'm stoned and will be quite content to sit at home or at friends have a few beers and have no intention of moving onto the hard stuff.

The drink is turning out to be the real problem, All the stupidest stuff I've ever done in my life has been on drink. But there's literally no other social outlet where I live. I'd almost go for something harder over the Christmas to avoid the cost and inevitable stupidity that will happen with drink.

The only other hard drug I'd do willingly do is shrooms but now there harder to get than coke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

Fair play!!
    And there are plenty of high's. You should take up a new "hobby" in the new year. Snowbording, Surfing, Art, Music, whatever. Doesn't matter, but you'll feel good about yourself. And maybe you should try and surround yourself with a different group of people...away from temptation. I know that personally I've always had a cr@p time if I'm out with people who were off their face cos it ain't my scene. Always have way more fun with non-drug users!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I see where you're coming from.

Most of my friends have paired off and moved out of town. Any time we all go out together these days, they tend to go nuts and do lots of coke and pills.
    I'd rather just sit back and have a few pints, but the temptation to join them is there.
    You just have to remind yourself that it's really not worth felling like crap for a couple of days just for a few hours of madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

well done bro your doing really well, keep it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Fair play Feelgood. Keep it up, you already know all the reasons you should keep it up. Eat, drink and be merry this Christmas and don't let the prospect of a few hours of insanity ruin it all for you.

Slightly OT but..

I'm anti-drugs and have been most of my life. No real reason for this, just never got interested in it, that and just over a year ago I was diagnosed with mild arrhythmia and doctors have advised me to avoid them.

It makes it hard to go to house parties as I know the majority of my friends will partake in some sort of drug-related activity. So it usually makes me feel like a third wheel as I wont/cannot take part.

Was rude of me not to congratulate you on your achievement. I can only imagine how hard it must be. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Do you have any other drinking buddies who are not into the extra curricular activities? If so stick with him/her and just get drunk. What I do now is have 3-4 pints then switch to bottles. You would be surprised how respectable you can stay drinking bottles compared to pints. If you feel yourself going over the top have a faker (e.g. soda water and lime which you can say is vodka lime). Works a treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭bubonicus

i gave up drugs 7 years ago now, hasn't changed anything, life goes on OP.

As Terri said, if I go out now, a few pints does me, but I usually drive my mates to gigs and the like so i don't actually drink that much either now.

Still though i think people need some sort of vice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 MilkyMOOO

Good stuff FeelGood, i done it myself about 2 years ago now, it is not easy, but it is definitely worth it. I stopped after about 10 or 12 years of hard abuse and finally ended up in hospital, (after a mad stag) That was a rude awakening, but i think i needed it.
    Since then bought my own gaf, totally turned my **** around and dont miss it abit.
    Good luck mate.:p

Really appreciate the comments here guys, means a lot....

I have no real regrets myself, I know it was for the best etc
    though sometimes it justs feel like I'm missing out on something,
    again its really sound that complete strangers can give you a
    backing and help you cop on to yourself...

Kudos to you all!.:)

Party has to end sometime OP. I did something similar.:)

Youll find there are certain people who will always be partying. I found the best thing for me was just get out of that scene totally.

Yes life is a little more boring at the weekends but looking back whats a weeks worth of misery in exchange for 2 or 3 days on the tear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Feelgood wrote: »
    Really appreciate the comments here guys, means a lot....

I have no real regrets myself, I know it was for the best etc
    though sometimes it justs feel like I'm missing out on something,
    again its really sound that complete strangers can give you a
    backing and help you cop on to yourself...

Kudos to you all!.:)
    Even me? I just suggested you try different drugs. :)

ScumLord wrote: »
    Even me? I just suggested you try different drugs. :)

Tried them all and ended up in exactly the same place....f**ked sick, paranoid and moody in bed for days on end :)

Led Zeppelin just hasn't been the same since I quit though...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

Feelgood wrote: »
    I don't really drink that much now either cause when I do it usually leads to me wanting some sort of extra buzz.

Well then don't bother driking over Xmas! You'll feel all the better for it, and if one drug is goig to lead you onto another, best to steert clear of them all :)

I am looking for a reason to stay clean.

you've already given a reason and it is the following:-
    I don't miss the paranoia, the moods etc

If drugs had that bad of an affect on you, keep reminding yourself of that!
    Can we get the same euphoric feeling from life that we get from illegal substances?.

People have said you'd get it from having babies, well I've done the baby thing and it has turned my upsde down and inside out in positive and negative ways - don't get me wrong, I love my daughter to the ends of the earth and am so glad she exists, she's my world and possibly my saviour (who knows...) and blah blah blah but to answer your question - no!