Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What age is "Old"?

• 13-12-2007 9:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭

Bit of discussion for a Thursday morning:

Is there an age which either you think you're truly old when you reach it, or can you remember a birthday where you specifically remember feeling old? It's a bit of a trivial question as I expect plenty of "there's no specific age.. it depends on the person" answers but i always used to say 21 sounded old, but i'm still as immature as i was when i was 16. I've barely matured to be honest.

But I'm 24 today (cards in the post I hope! ;)).. and everyone has been telling me that 24 or 25 is a really old age.

Any opinions? Doesn't have to be a specific age.. simply "in your 20's" will do. And don't bother saying 85 or 90 because that IS old. I'm just thinking of the age in which you start to feel that bit older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Happy Birthday :D

Yes your perspective of old will always change as you get older.

A young lad of 6 said the other day about a grandad picking up his friend from school 'he was so old he was nearly dead'. The man was in his 60's.

My nephew (5) told me that 24 isnt old hurrah!

I have found that once I turned 21 all my ages seem to meld together, I always forget that I'm 24 and a half :D I was so busy with me and my friends turning 21 that I didnt notice the years go by. Yes I'm old and rambling, I apologise

Edit: I feel very old when I come out with phrases that my mother uses like 'she'll get a chill in her kidneys wearing that outfit' or when I cant see the change in my purse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Hmm I'm 24 and I don't think I'm old... but I do feel older sometimes, depends on the group you're around.
    Personally I think if I hit 40 I'd think, gosh I'm gettin on (but not old - thats like 60-70)

(edit - forgot to say HAPPY BIRTHDAY)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

15 years old than your current age.

LOCK THE THREAD. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

^^^^ happy birthday

when I turned 20 i felt old, guess its cause i didnt have "teen" in my age anymore,, didnt grow up with my age so give me another few years ha! but my little brother thinks im over the hill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Once your over 12 your old ya bunch of oldies thankfully I have healthy mental age of 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Happy Birthday!

70 is the answer: FACT!

P.S. I'm 47 and this may have something to do with my answer. Even though I'm slowly going grey, blind, deaf and senile, I'm still young. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

I remeber in my teens, thinking 20 was old. Im 25 now. Idont regard myself as old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

You're old when you celebrate christmas because it's a week off work, when you stay back in work without being asked, when you start a pension, and when you start saving for your house deposit.

I miss being young :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

First off, a merry Happy Birthday...

... now as regards "old", it's all relative to your current age. There is a very simple formula:

old = the maximum age of a woman you would currently shag + 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A good friend of mine is always banging on about how old she feels, and she's 21!
    65 would be my contribution, you become OAP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

24? Ha. Everyone knows that you are old when you turn 29.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    24? Ha. Everyone knows that you are old when you turn 29.

no no no. Up until you are 65 the answer is n+10 when n is your age. 29 pffft, there is no way that when I turn 29 in april will I will be old I refuse to believe it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

humanji wrote: »
    You're old when you celebrate christmas because it's a week off work, when you stay back in work without being asked, when you start a pension, and when you start saving for your house deposit.

Oh sh*t! Right, I'm old.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

When I no longer get random erections I'm old :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

jsb wrote: »
    there is no way that when I turn 29 in april will I will be old I refuse to believe it

Denial is the first sign of senility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

21. It's all down hill from there.
    Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Denial is the first sign of senility.

No it isn't, it's a river in Egypt.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Well I hit 40 this year and I've yet to start feeling old, so the answer is I dunno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

To quote an article in the Metro this morning "...young women aged between 24 and 39", I say over 45 / 50 is old.

You're certainly not "old" at 24, ya wee whipper snapper ye! *pinches basquille cheeks* ^_^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

My dad always said that looking back on himself at previous ages, he was amazed at how young he was (if you follow me!). He is 68 now so he can look at a man of 40 and understand the vitality, ambition and general sense of "future" that is embodied in that person, even if the person themselves can't. In fairness he also has his 95 yr old mother telling him the same thing about being 68 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Seeing as there probably won't be any new forms of music for our generation to go "that's just a load of noise" I reckon I'll feel young all throughout my incontinent years.

I don't feel that old at all, sure the insurance companies only considered me a responsible adult two years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

I'd go along with Biko on this. 65 is auld. Certainly your not old in your 20's or 30's. Some people are probably old in their 50's and some people are never old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

ScumLord wrote: »
    Seeing as there probably won't be any new forms of music for our generation to go "that's just a load of noise" I reckon I'll feel young all throughout my incontinent years.

That's what we rockers said, and the next thing there was this... stuff... with people shouting out verses while behind them it sounded like the women of Derry on the dustbin lids. Frappe, I think they call it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

You may loose the feeling of being a big child when you get a mortage or wife or a child or a PROPER JOB!

/wags finger :p

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

Slow coach wrote: »
    Happy Birthday!

70 is the answer: FACT!

P.S. I'm 47 and this may have something to do with my answer. Even though I'm slowly going grey, blind, deaf and senile, I'm still young. :D

+ 1. I'm 47 too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

25 = Old.

It's unfortunate but true in today's modern world.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    25 = Old.

It's unfortunate but true in today's modern world.

once your 25 or once your over 25?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

luckat wrote: »
    That's what we rockers said, and the next thing there was this... stuff... with people shouting out verses while behind them it sounded like the women of Derry on the dustbin lids. Frappe, I think they call it.
    Na what happened there was you got old. But they say we're even running out of combinations of notes. That's it, arts run it's course. We'll see nothing new ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Rob_l wrote: »
    once your 25 or once your over 25?

Once you turn 25.
    Crocked.

I can't say how I came to this figure, but I can tell you it is 100% accurate.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Happy b'day basquille! It's a great time of year to have a birthday - had mine a few days ago and, the way I see it, over 25 is old. So I'm still 25. Next year, I'll be 25 again or by the birth cert, 30. That will be old - hell they terminate people in the future for reaching that age!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

50 is old..... your half a century by then..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

basquille wrote: »
    everyone has been telling me that 24 or 25 is a really old age.
    Those people are idiots. If I was an 80-year-old I'd lash them with my cane. No wonder there's ageism.
    I'm just thinking of the age in which you start to feel that bit older.
    Oh you mean oldER? Ok, well there's a big difference between "old" and "older". You can say "I feel old", "I'm getting old" all you like but that isn't actually true until you hit old age. I suppose the reality of getting older hits you when you leave your teens behind, but then you reach 25 and look back and realise how wrong you were. And at 25 that reality hits you again, but then you hit 30 and realise how wrong you were etc... It amuses me when people act as if their lives are over just because they're about to hit 30. As if nobody older than 30 has a life. There's some exceptional idiocy surrounding age, there really is.
    star-pants wrote: »
    (but not old - thats like 60-70)
    And what about 80-90? My parents are in their early 60s and they're not remotely old.

At what age is a woman considered a MILF?.

Mairt wrote: »
    At what age is a woman considered a MILF?.

Surely it's when she's had a baby, does age come into it?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

azezil wrote: »
    You're certainly not "old" at 24, ya wee whipper snapper ye! *pinches basquille cheeks* ^_^

Run, basquille, while you still can!

21 is old. It's OFFICIALLY adulthood. I turn 21 in February and I've started to think old person thoughts. I was in M&S yesterday, at the bakery, with a freshly baked bag of cookies staring at me and I thought, "But I don't NEED 5 cookies" and walked away.

It was a sad day.

You know you're old when you start telling people you're younger than you are.
    Run, basquille, while you still can!

21 is old. It's OFFICIALLY adulthood. I turn 21 in February and I've started to think old person thoughts. I was in M&S yesterday, at the bakery, with a freshly baked bag of cookies staring at me and I thought, "But I don't NEED 5 cookies" and walked away.

It was a sad day.

Nobody needs 5 cookies, but they are nice :)

Cathooo wrote: »

Oh yea, I was thinking 40+.. She's a MILF because at a certain age & after giving birth she's managed to keep her looks. Good enought that a younger lad would shag her.

So any age, once you're an adult, is "old"?

Guys, you're getting majorly mixed up between being "old" and "older than you want to be".

Cathooo wrote: »
    "MILF" only seems to be used to refer to hot middle-aged women whether they've had a baby or not - e.g. Jane Seymour, Helen Mirren (childless). A hot 19-year-old with a kid would hardly be referred to as a MILF.

Dudess wrote: »
    "MILF" only seems to be used to refer to hot middle-aged women whether they've had a baby or not - e.g. Jane Seymour, Helen Mirren (childless). A hot 19-year-old with a kid would hardly be referred to as a MILF.

Thanks for clearing it up, I hadn't really put much thought into it I have to admit. Someone has to tell Britney, I remember her wearing a MILF tshirt, sap! It's her fault I got confused :D

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Once you turn 25.
    Crocked.

I can't say how I came to this figure, but I can tell you it is 100% accurate.

Well at least I know Im old already

Get off my lawn ye damn whipper snappers

Dudess wrote: »
    A hot 19-year-old with a kid would hardly be referred to as a MILF.

Nope, we call them 'slappers' (lads talk now>) [Finglas accent] "Er ladz, at least she's not afraid of de mickey'' :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

I'm 24 and realise I am getting older fast. The years start flying once you're over 20 or 21.
    And sometimes I have to think about how old I am. I'm nearly turning 25 but still if i'm asked I sometimes have to think about what year I was born in.
    Is that me getting old or something medical I should get checked?

Where am I? Are those my feet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Happy birthday Basquille.

I remember having a wee bit of a age-related crisis around my 25th birthday. Looking back now (I'm a kick in the ªrse off 39) how silly that was. I'm still having fun & enjoying life, & don't consider myself to be 'old'. It is all in the mind & as long as you 'feel' young in yourself you will be.

* Hill Billy goes upstairs on chair-lift to find pipe & slippers, gets to top but then can't remember whether he's going up or down, smiles contentedly as he pisses himself *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Sorry I haven't replied but been mad busy at work.

Thanks for the all the Happy Birthday messages.

I would agree that 65 is old due to you officially becoming an OAP (the clue's in the name!). But I remember looking at my older siblings a few years back when i was busy making fart noises with my armpits and thinking "they're fricking old!" but I'm about that age now.

I guess it's more of a perspective thing.. you can't really pin-point but i'm gonna throw this out there: 121 is ould - there's no buts or maybes about it!